We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely with wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Here!
Ranked #5 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
albuquerque, NM
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We just left after a 3 day stay at Ariel House. Our room was comfortable, clean, and cozy. The bathroom was large and very modern. The staff was very hospitable and kind. Finally, the breakfast was divine. We loved our stay and definitely would return.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    218
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
208
386
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Situated a couple of hundred meters from the Aviva Stadium on Lansdowne Road in the Ballsbridge district, Ariel House is easy to find by car. There is limited free parking in the grounds, and parking onstreet is restricted from 8.30am to early evening to residents and those with blue mobility badges. The DART station is beside the stadium and offers frequent connections into the city centre.

The welcome is warm, the premises are old but clean, nicely decorated in the public areas and comfortable. Ariel House is certainly not a hotel, but more a high end B&B, and it's a shame they don't offer lunches or evening meals. Complimentary fresh cakes and fancies are available in the lounge.

The decor in the room we used was slightly dated, with 'old' and 'period' furniture being the style. Having said that, the bed was very comfortable and the room itself (239) on the ground floor was large and overlooking the back garden. It was, however, poorly lit by badly positioned ceiling lights. Bedside lights were fine though. The TV was so far away from the bed it was barely watchable, but that may be relevant only to this particular room. A larger screen size would have sorted this out simply and easily. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in the room.

The bathroom was large, with a corner bath and separate shower cubicle, but had no external ventilation and was unbearably hot inside on our arrival. We turned off the heated towel rail/radiator and waited a few hours for things to cool down. Complimentary toiletries are a welcome addition. Towels were clean and soft.

As has been mentioned in many previous reviews the food at breakfast was excellent and more than that offered by many other establishments we've stayed in.

I would say this accommodation would suit just about any genre of traveller except perhaps families with small children. We would intend to return when next staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having worked for an airline in my youth, it's safe to say I have stayed at many hotels, Inns and BB's through out the years. This was my first trip to Ireland with my daughters and our friends and I was hoping that the Ariel house would be a good experience as nothing can kill a vacation like a bad accomodation. Well to our delight we fell in love with this place. We were a party of six and reserved two rooms. Both rooms were quite spacious and had nice views. The old world charm of the house was comfortable and relaxing. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. There was always someone at the desk and all you needed to do was ask and they would help you with whatever you needed. The Irish breakfast was scrumptious and served by a lovely young lady. Also free Wifi
For those who are looking for modern bathrooms and fancy furniture, you maybe disappointed. But if your looking for warm, kind people and a comfortable lovely old world charm stay, you found your place. Also the location is lovely

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Firstly let me say that we enjoyed our time at Ariel House, and we would definitely return, but we were disappointed with the suite we stayed in. On its own we would have rated the room as a '3' because the furniture was very tired - not sure about it being antique unless antique just means old. The dark wood wardrobe had an unfinished bit of ply as a handle, the drawer was falling apart, the settee and chair were grubby and had seen better days and there was woefully inadequate storage for clothes. One drawer! Liveable for a couple of days but no longer. Also the tiling around the bath was very tacky, and don't get me started on the water pressure. More of a trickle than a shower. Bed was very comfortable though.
That's the negative bit. Everything else was great. It's an attractive house with high-ceilinged elegant rooms. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. And the breakfast! Well, all I can say is that it was the best breakfast we'd had, anywhere. The poached eggs and salmon are to die for. There's home-made bread and pastries available, and the home-made soda bread was lovely. The dining room is perhaps a little cosy and does get very busy, meaning we had to wait one morning, but all is forgiven when you see the food!
It's a fair walk into the city centre but a pleasant one. If you're visiting the Aviva stadium it's a perfect location. Just a few minutes walk from the Dart station too.
So overall we'd return, which kind of sums it up really, but would book a Superior Room (which we had a peek at), not a suite. Then I would expect to be able to give it a '5' overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and two of my children have been anticipating our stay in Dublin at the Ariel House since booking our reservation. We were treated like family from the minute we walked in the door.We traveled overnight and were quite exhausted when we arrived. Deidre offered us a seat in the front sitting room while she checked on our room. When it was not going to be available she offered us another room to nap in until ours was ready. Wow! When we awakened from our nap our room was ready. It was spacious , Immaculate, and the two large windows looked out on the lovely neighborhood outside. A plus we could open those windows if we wanted fresh air. The room was immaculately clean. The bath room quite large. (Room 223 if you are interested in that) The beds were comfortable. As with others comments the water pressure was low but I have encountered this in much of my international travel and consider this conservation. There was a towel warmer that seemed to be on a timer and towels were warmed at the time of my am shower.
Back toy our first day. Once we were fully rested , we offered a variety of beautiful and Delicious cakes and a glass of champagne. These tasty treats were available daily and I felt like the we anticipated relative of someone who had been looking forward to seeing us with anticipation. We ate breakfast everyday except one when our daily plans had us up very early. The dining room was lovely with a beautiful glass seating area as well. The full Irish breakfast, pancakes, and Herby scrambled eggs were wonderful ways to start our days. This is coming from a person who has had many compliments on her "American" breakfast. Its my families favorite meal of the day and the food and the hospitality of the Ariel staff made us feel so welcomed.
We felt very safe the entire time we were here. We stayed 5 nights. We both walked and used public transportation to visit about Dublin. Both were pleasant and easy to use. Cabs were easy to catch. The walk was safe and pleasant and the bus stops were easy to find.
I would highly recommend staying here and will look no further in the future when in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed in Ariel house for 2 nights and it was a lovely hotel. The owner and staff were the best part always helpful and when we had a few difficulties they were quick to resolve.

The hotel is further than we thought from centre however the train station was 2 mins away and the return journey into city was around 3-4 euros! It was a great for a little sight seeing as well and only took 10mins. Walking takes 30mins but is a intetesting walk with lots of sights to see on the way.

Rooms were nice and had what you needed for a couple of nights.

Breakfast was fab, lots of variety and great cooked breakfast.

On our checkout the staff offered to fill flasks for long journey home and added some lovely homemade scones. A extra special touch!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

perfect...very clean, friendly staff, great breakfast and fantastic room, would recomend the oscar wilde room its huge with a really nice bathroom...afternoon tea/coffee and cakes were delicious, the DART is only 2 min walk away.....would def recommend to anyone who is going to dublin, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: the oscar wilde...massive room...great bathroom with big walk in shower and corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#7 Family Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.