We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by room quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Let down by room quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Firstly let me say that we enjoyed our time at Ariel House, and we would definitely return, but we were disappointed with the suite we stayed in. On its own we would have rated the room as a '3' because the furniture was very tired - not sure about it being antique unless antique just means old. The dark wood wardrobe had an unfinished bit of ply as a handle, the drawer was falling apart, the settee and chair were grubby and had seen better days and there was woefully inadequate storage for clothes. One drawer! Liveable for a couple of days but no longer. Also the tiling around the bath was very tacky, and don't get me started on the water pressure. More of a trickle than a shower. Bed was very comfortable though.
That's the negative bit. Everything else was great. It's an attractive house with high-ceilinged elegant rooms. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. And the breakfast! Well, all I can say is that it was the best breakfast we'd had, anywhere. The poached eggs and salmon are to die for. There's home-made bread and pastries available, and the home-made soda bread was lovely. The dining room is perhaps a little cosy and does get very busy, meaning we had to wait one morning, but all is forgiven when you see the food!
It's a fair walk into the city centre but a pleasant one. If you're visiting the Aviva stadium it's a perfect location. Just a few minutes walk from the Dart station too.
So overall we'd return, which kind of sums it up really, but would book a Superior Room (which we had a peek at), not a suite. Then I would expect to be able to give it a '5' overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    263
    39
    15
    15
See reviews for
260
487
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Myself and two of my children have been anticipating our stay in Dublin at the Ariel House since booking our reservation. We were treated like family from the minute we walked in the door.We traveled overnight and were quite exhausted when we arrived. Deidre offered us a seat in the front sitting room while she checked on our room. When it was not going to be available she offered us another room to nap in until ours was ready. Wow! When we awakened from our nap our room was ready. It was spacious , Immaculate, and the two large windows looked out on the lovely neighborhood outside. A plus we could open those windows if we wanted fresh air. The room was immaculately clean. The bath room quite large. (Room 223 if you are interested in that) The beds were comfortable. As with others comments the water pressure was low but I have encountered this in much of my international travel and consider this conservation. There was a towel warmer that seemed to be on a timer and towels were warmed at the time of my am shower.
Back toy our first day. Once we were fully rested , we offered a variety of beautiful and Delicious cakes and a glass of champagne. These tasty treats were available daily and I felt like the we anticipated relative of someone who had been looking forward to seeing us with anticipation. We ate breakfast everyday except one when our daily plans had us up very early. The dining room was lovely with a beautiful glass seating area as well. The full Irish breakfast, pancakes, and Herby scrambled eggs were wonderful ways to start our days. This is coming from a person who has had many compliments on her "American" breakfast. Its my families favorite meal of the day and the food and the hospitality of the Ariel staff made us feel so welcomed.
We felt very safe the entire time we were here. We stayed 5 nights. We both walked and used public transportation to visit about Dublin. Both were pleasant and easy to use. Cabs were easy to catch. The walk was safe and pleasant and the bus stops were easy to find.
I would highly recommend staying here and will look no further in the future when in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

4 of us stayed in Ariel house for 2 nights and it was a lovely hotel. The owner and staff were the best part always helpful and when we had a few difficulties they were quick to resolve.

The hotel is further than we thought from centre however the train station was 2 mins away and the return journey into city was around 3-4 euros! It was a great for a little sight seeing as well and only took 10mins. Walking takes 30mins but is a intetesting walk with lots of sights to see on the way.

Rooms were nice and had what you needed for a couple of nights.

Breakfast was fab, lots of variety and great cooked breakfast.

On our checkout the staff offered to fill flasks for long journey home and added some lovely homemade scones. A extra special touch!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

perfect...very clean, friendly staff, great breakfast and fantastic room, would recomend the oscar wilde room its huge with a really nice bathroom...afternoon tea/coffee and cakes were delicious, the DART is only 2 min walk away.....would def recommend to anyone who is going to dublin, you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: the oscar wilde...massive room...great bathroom with big walk in shower and corner bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife, two daughters and I recently returned from a three night stay at Ariel House. It's a nice Victorian boutique hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. We chose this as a good place to explore Dublin and we weren't disappointed. The family room was equipped with two beds and was quite spacious. It contained an iron/ironing board, hair dryer, hot pot with tea/coffee, and plenty of pillows. The only downside was the low water pressure in the shower, but we adjusted.

The hotel is a pleasant 20 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green. There is a convenience store, Starbucks, and Subway just down the block if you want something quick and easy. The breakfast in the hotel was among the best that I've ever had. My wife particularly enjoyed the pancakes with creme freche and fresh berries.

We will definately stay here again on our next trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front of the main building facing the street and were not bothered by any traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We just returned from three nights in this lovely guest house.

Our room and bathroom were clean, though much of the furniture was falling apart. There was very limited storage space, and the crown of the armoire was not secured so it kept sliding from side to side.

A note about Irish toilets - flush with a firm and quick push on the lever, otherwise the toilet will not empty. Also, the toilets take quite a while to refill, so be prepared to not flush too many times in a row (for example, if you have multiple people staying in one hotel room). The staff was fairly responsive to this problem and even brought out a plumber to investigate why our toilet only flushed once every twenty minutes or so. . . but in the end we were told that the toilet was just fine. (!)

This hotel is located further from the city center than we had thought it might be, and we found the bus system difficult to navigate due to a lack of bus maps. We wound up making the 30 minute walk each way to and from town most days because of this trouble with the buses, which really cut into our touring time.

The breakfast, however, is excellent. Fresh fruit, hot homemade scones, pancakes made to order, and the best porridge I have ever eaten. If you find the room disappointing, the breakfast will make up for it!

The staff was generally friendly and helpful. We found the "double" bed quite small compared to "double" beds throughout the rest of Europe.

If we visit Dublin again, I think we will try to stay closer to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a perfect hotel for a stay in Dublin. We had one night here selected on TA reviews and they were spot on. Access from the DART was 2 minutes walk and there were also buses for the city & airport that also stopped nearby. Our room wasn't quite ready when we checked in at lunchtime. This was no problem though as our bags were looked after and subsequently delivered to our room and there was hot drinks and cake available in the residents lounge in the afternoon which was a very nice touch.
Our room was very large, warm and extremely comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful both before our stay and throughout and the breakfast was superb and lined us up nicely for our flight and journey home to Norwich. Would definately recommend Ariel House to anyone staying in Dublin and not just for events at AVIVA stadium and the RDS.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,089 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westbury Hotel
The Westbury Hotel
#2 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#5 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#20 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,828 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gibson Hotel
The Gibson Hotel
#9 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#15 Business Hotel in Dublin
#16 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.