We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place you want to stay in Dublin!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Here!
Ranked #5 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is the place you want to stay in Dublin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We decided to stay in Ariel house for the first night of our 3-day visit to Dublin & surroundings. We had a family room in Ariel house for a very reasonable price; we selected Ariel House based on the reviews from other travellers and on the fact we needed a place to park our car.
We planned to find some B&B's for the other 2 nights, which we didn't book ahead.

After staying one night, we liked our stay so much that we decided to stay in Ariel House all three nights of our stay. What stood out (and made us stay longer) was the service, the breakfast and the lounge (with super comfy sofa/chairs and nibbles+tea galore).

We felt very welcome and comfortable; staff was very attentive but never pushy. Ariel House has won some awards (evident by the plaques and certificates near the entrance) but during our stay they really did live up to expectations!

Our room was a spacious family room, with two king beds and a bathroom, along with a seating area and small desk. The finishing of the room (and bathroom) is really fine, nothing exceptional but it's got everything you need and is clean.
The location is such that it is a 20-min walk into town (which was a great walk as we had fine weather - in the rain it would not be so great). Getting back we normally used a taxi, which were very easy to find in Dublin city centre but also around Ariel House.

We stayed as a family of four with young teenagers. We did not see any other kids during our stay but Ariel House is welcoming for older kids. Set in a historical building, you have to go up&down some stairs to get to the rooms so if you are traveling with either elderly people or prams this may be something you want to check with the staff in advance.

We would certainly recommend staying here and we will certainly book again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    227
    38
    15
    13
See reviews for
215
403
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hardenberg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just returned from a five night stay at Ariel House. Lovely hotel, clean room, coffee and cakes avaible in the drawing room, a breakfast to die for and a staff that's the nicest I've seen in a hotel so far. Really close to the Dart, which is very useful!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and i traveled to Dublin, along with my sister and brother in law, and all stayed at the Ariel House. We spent a total of 5 nights there. Service was awesome from the time we checked in until check out. The receptionist(s) were always very helpful and insightful when it came to recommending places to go, how to get there, etc. Rooms were very cozy and nicely organized. Our room seemed to get a little warmer than I'd have liked, but cracking a window solved that. The breakfast was amazing. Every morning there's a "breakfast bar" with juices, yogurt, pastries, breads, etc. On top of that, you can order from a full menu with a wide variety of starter dishes to full breakfast dishes. The porridge and herby scrambled eggs were my favorite. My wife enjoyed the salmon and poached egg very much. Everything was great. They offered cake and tea every afternoon in the drawing room, and that was definitely something that the ladies looked forward to every day. We loved "juniors" which was only a five minute walk from the hotel. Slattery's was a great place for a pint. The Chophouse had great food, but the service was only so-so, especially for their prices. There's also a Spar (mini grocery store) for any additional snacks right in that area.

Room Tip: We were in room 220 and it was on the second floor. Nice view, but a tad noisy (construction outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at Ariel house for 3 Nights during September 2012.

The bedroom was lovely, we stayed in a Jr Suite. The room was huge. A seating area for two, flat screen tv, and a four poster bed.
The bathroom was huge too, with shower and bath.
Room and bathroom were very clean and neat

Breakfast was delicious. Cold selection buffet. Cereal, fruit juices and the most devine breads and cheeses. The hot to order selection was excellent. I had the poached eggs with salmon and pancakes.

They serve cake and tea/coffee every afternoon, which is a nice touch.
I also ordered the afternoon tea, and had it served in my bedroom. Excellent

Staff are friendly and very helpful
The DART is 100m from the front door
We also walked about 25min leisurely walk to get the hop on hop off bus.

Overall this place is well worth staying at. It is neat and in a quiet peaceful location.
There are also good restuarants and take aways just 5minutes walk from here and there is also a Spar also about 5 minutes walk

Highly recommended establishment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Dublin, and we would stay here again anytime. A charming place with very comfortable rooms. The breakfasts are excellent and they have coffee, tea, and cakes laid out in the parlour all afternoon--a nice touch. The entire staff, from the front-desk people to all the young women in the breakfast room were extremely pleasant and helpful. Location was great. The airport coach lets you off less than 5 minutes' walk away; you can walk to Trinity College and the Grafton St. shops in around 20 minutes, and if you don't feel like walking, the train to take you into the city is just down the street. Good restaurants nearby such as the Chophouse and Roley's Bistro. We tried the Cuban place, Bella Cuba, and had a delicious and very reasonable meal. A starter, main course and cocktail were only 20 euro! There are also some little delis, markets, and a post office nearby, which was convenient. Lastly, Ariel House is situated on a very quiet, tree-lined street, away from the city crowds and going to sleep at night was easy and comfortable. Highly recommend this to anyone visiting Dublin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. Spacious rooms, perfect for repacking prior to flying out. The reception workers were very helpful. Only about 30 minutes from airport. Away from the noise of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Ariel House is a very cozy place to stay. They probabaly have the best breakfast in town. The quality of everything served is superb. We had 3 rooms during our stay, all were clean but varied in space. Many people talk about taking the dart into the city but we walked. It is a pleasureable and relatively quick half hour into the heart of Dublin. There are several dining options three to four blocks away. Walking in the neighborhood is safe and worth it. My only concern is if you travel with very large luggage, I did not see any elevators and we had a hard time lugging the suitcases around. Parking can be tight if you are driving a large veihicle, but it is located in the front of the hotel. I highly recommend Ariel House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#6 Family Hotel in Dublin
#13 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.