We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous B&B that met all our needs...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ariel House to your Saves list
Ariel House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Here!
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Paris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gorgeous B&B that met all our needs...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Travelling for a week through Ireland with six other members of my family, it was initially quite tricky to find some accommodation that would not be overly expensive for us. We came across Ariel House and right from the start, we were impressed with our accommodation. Beautiful structure and layout and a tea room as soon as you walk in the door where you could sit in comfy armchairs, have access to complimentary tea and cake, as well as read a book by Oscar Wilde. Further, they provided us with the rooms on the bottom floor so we could all be together, assisted us with all our transport needs and the breakfast every day was delicious and well presented!

Room Tip: As we were a group of seven people, we were able to acquire the whole bottom floor which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Flaneuse1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are so pleased that Ariel House lived up to your expectations and that you were happy with your choice of accommodation. It’s also nice to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon teas and got a taste of Oscar Wilde! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family and we hope to welcome you back someday.
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    238
    38
    15
    13
See reviews for
233
435
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I travel to Dublin regularily and am always disappointed with the hotels I have stayed in, until now.
Ariel House is charming, clean, with superb friendly service and the best breakfast I have ever had in Ireland. I am gluten free and also like low fat milk (very hard to find in Irish hotels) and I feasted on Ariel's home baked gluten free banana bread, gluten free muesli and fresh fruit, eggs and smoked salmon, with other choices available. A large jug of low fat milk was brought to my table and replenished when needed.

What I also like is that it is located in a quiet suburb, away from the hustle and noise of the likes of Temple Bar, so for those sad people like me who don't stay up all night clubbing, it is ideal.

The room, in the basement, was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom was also huge and featured a large bathtub as well as a shower.

A late check out was no problem and I was able to relax in the drawing room drinking coffee and reading the newspaper until the taxi arrived.

Other pluses include free wi-fi and free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Orlyk
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and the comfort of your bedroom. It’s also nice to get feedback on our gluten free produce as we make most of it in-house, so nice to hear it is going down well!
Thank you for rating us so highly and we hope to see you on your next visit to Dublin
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved our stay at the Ariel House in Dublin. We were upgraded for free to an awesome room when the staff found out we were on our honeymoon. Food was great and the location was close to public transportation which made it easy to get around the city. We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Josh R
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are delighted to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room upgrade! We are so pleased that you will be returning on you next visit to Dublin and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in early June, and that was enough! We chose to stay here based upon reviews on this website. I can honestly say that people must be very easily pleased to rate this place so highly.

First, the positives: The breakfast was decent, with good choice. However, it’s poor form when there are more guest rooms than tables at a place this size, resulting in customers standing and waiting for tables to become free before they can eat. The availability of coffee and cake/biscuits in the guest’s lounge during the afternoon and evening was a nice touch, and the place is kept clean.

Now for the (many) negatives: We booked a “superior double” room, and ended up what can only be described as a cramped twin, with the beds jammed up against walls. The hotel’s website describes superior double rooms as, “tastefully appointed and elegant.” Trust me, they aren’t, and the room we stayed in looks nothing like the images portrayed on the website! Next there’s the en-suite bathroom, which is small and poorly ventilated, and next to useless because the water pressure is so low that the taps run slow and the shower dribbles water … it’s more like being in a light rain shower than a refreshing power shower. We requested a quiet room when we booked, but we were placed next to the main staircase and above the breakfast room, neither of which were quiet. The location of the Lansdowne Road DART Station about 100 metres away from the bedroom window didn’t help either, with regular trains and customer tannoy announcements making sleep impossible during busy commuter periods. Worst of all though was the heat in the room … the weather was very humid and sticky while we were in Dublin, but we couldn’t get any through draught into the room because the window is limited to open by no more than about two inches. Safety is one thing, but this is ridiculous …

Overall, this was a VERY disappointing experience, and I strongly advise people to consider spending a few Euros more to stay in a more modern hotel, where the rooms are well ventilated and the facilities in the en-suite bathroom fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear The Innocent Man
Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at Ariel House. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and the complimentary home baking available in the Drawing Room throughout the day. I regret however that you have rated your overall stay with us as a disappointment. The staff and I genuinely do go out of our way to ensure that guests are enjoying the experience of staying with us at Ariel House. Had I been aware during your stay that you were experiencing such disappointment I would certainly have addressed the situation. I apologies that our facilities were not up to standard in your estimation, it’s ironic that guests regularly request rooms at the rear of the property because they are peaceful, quiet and overlook the garden. The nearby DART station operates a digital display system and public announcements on the platform are rare, so I can assure you that this was not the source of the audible disturbance you have described. In your review.
We would value the opportunity to welcome you back to Ariel House and show you the true side of what we have to offer
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here at the end of our Ireland trip. It is a beautiful small hotel in Dublin. The room was very comfortable, nice bathroom, plenty of room. Breakfast was good. Service was very friendly. It seemed more "Americanized" than other places we stayed in which is good and bad, a little less charm than some but very comfortable. It's a pretty good walk into town is the only real drawback. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear DreadPirateMo
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation confirmable. It’s also nice that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff friendly and helpful.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

On arrival we were offered breakfast while our rooms were being prepared which was a lovely bonus as it was 10.30. The breakfast was a nice surprise. A selection of cereals, breads and cakes, along with a selection of hot food. all fresh and nicely presented, the only down is that there is not enough tables for all guest and a couple of times during our stay we had to wait which isn't always suitable if you are booked on a set time tour.

The rooms were spacious and clean the beds were comfy and I had a lovely nights sleep. Some of the furniture looked a little tired. Bathrooms were modern and always hot water when needed.

The sitting room was wonderul and the complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon was most welcome after a long walk around Dublin.

the Hotel is about 25 minute walk from Dublin Centre but the Dart railway is a 2 minute walk.

All in all we had a lovely break and would certainly return to Ariel House if visiting Dublin again.

Room Tip: They have a selection of rooms, my sons were in a twin room and their bathroom was a lot bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here recently . We arrived in Dublin early in am and were allowed to go to our room to catch a nap before going out on town. Our room was very clean and the staff so friendly and helpful. The next day, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with anything one could ask for. On our departure, we were helped with our bags and even given some scones for our trip on train. If I were to return to Dublin, this is where I would go straight away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariel House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.