We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Court Hotel to your Saves list
Drury Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28-30 Stephen Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Ballaghaderreen, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good location, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is very good with complimentary parking. The reception staff and hotel staff are very polite and accommodating. However the rooms leave a lot to be desired. They are small, very old and run down. They could really do with a refurbishment, especially for the price we paid. We spent very little time in our room which was just as well as it was very dull and dreary. It is beyond me why in this day and age some hotels still have shower curtains. Overall the hotels location and staff make up for the shortcoming's in the rooms decor.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel. We really welcome all customer feedback, both positive and negative, as we are constantly looking to update the service we provide.
We have taken your comments regarding the decor of the hotel on board, and shall certainly address these in the near future.
We were, however, delighted to hear that you considered the location to be so convenient and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, as customer service is a real priority.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future; if you would like to make a return booking, please contact reception directly to avail of the return guest discount.
Best,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    359
    83
    26
    19
See reviews for
146
262
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walt Disney World, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed 2 separate times at the Drury Court during our trip to Ireland. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Both rooms were clean, comfortable, quiet for sleeping and affordable. (The only thing I would have missed is a hairdryer had I not brought one myself.) The hotel is convenient to popular tourist sites, local transportation and the Dublin Tourist Center, which is the pickup point for most day tours. Also convenient to many restaurants, bars and shopping. A big plus - we needed a laundry that would wash our clothes while we toured and were referred to a convenient laundrette right around the corner - same day service. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a convenient good value accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel.
We really value all customer feedback as we aim to constantly update the service we provide.

We are delighted to learn that you found our central location so handy for visiting the many tourist sites, shops and restaurants that Dublin has to offer. We shall also pass on your kind comments about our friendly staff to the team here.

It was a real pleasure to welcome you to our hotel on this occasion; if you do make a return visit to Dublin in the future, please contact reception directly to receive a discount off your next booking.
Best,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We found the Drury Court Hotel to be very good with very friendly staff. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and clean. When we arrived we were met by very friendly and professional reception staff. They offered us free car park space, which is very unusual for Dublin hotel. We had a few drinks in the bar before exploring the streets around hotel, which had large number bars and restaurants, offering excellent value. While our room was at the front of hotel there was absolutely no noise coming from the street. Our breakfast the following Morning was excellent. Thanks to David (General Manager) and his professional Team. We will definitely be back again. Garvan and Mairead

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we are very glad to hear that you found our location so central and our staff helpful and friendly. We shall certainly pass this on to all of our team here.

We would be delighted to welcome you back when you are next in Dublin; please contact us directly at reception to avail of your return guest discount and complimentary onsite parking again.

Kindest regards,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Drury Court Hotel is in a great central location, you can walk to most of the tourist sites and close to the fantastic restaurants in William and George St and across the road from the Hairy Lemon pub.
We were in a double room (409) on the 4th floor which was very close to the lifts, the room had double glazing but it was still noisy and it was very hot in our room as there was no AC so we had to open the window which made the noise factor worse.
The room was a good size, clean with a comfortable double bed. The free wifi had a good reception in the room.
The bathroom was small but clean the shower in the bath had a very poor flow due to the very small shower head. Toiletries and a hairdryer were supplied.
We did not have breakfast as had to leave hotel by 7.30am and breakfast was not yet available.
We did not eat in the restaurant.
All in all a satisfactory stay mainly due to the central location and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on an upper floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel. We really appreciate all customer feedback, as we are constantly looking to update the service we provide.

We are delighted to hear that you found our central location so convenient and that you were able to make the most of the many pubs and restaurants in the neighbouring area. We are sorry to hear that you were slightly inconvenienced by the noise factor- should you make a return visit to the hotel we would be very glad to provide you with a fan in the room, as our triple glazing should prevent most outside noise.
Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our friendly staff, we shall be sure to pass these on to the team here.

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Drury Court Hotel on this occasion; please be in contact directly with reception to avail of your return guest discount off any future bookings.

Best,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've used this a couple of times in the last month and rate it an excellent find.

It's convenient to the city centre, has (limited) complimentary car parking and is reasonably priced.

The rooms are a good size, too. I've read some reviews suggesting you need a room high up or at the back to avoid street noise, but each time I've been at the front and had no noise at all through their triple-glazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding the Drury Court.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us over the past month, and that you consider the hotel to be conveniently located and good value.

We would love to welcome you back for future stays and would of course offer you the return guest discount off any bookings.

Best,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here with the car recently and made use of the hotel's own car park which we were able to book in advance at no extra charge. The room was large, clean and comfortable and we were able to check in early which was a bonus for us. We managed to get a deal on line which included continental breakfast which was more than adequate for our needs. It was wonderful to have everything we wanted to see within easy walking distance. A lucky find for us!!

Room Tip: Obviously a central hotel will have some street noise. We were in room 303, which was on the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel.
It was a pleasure to be able to assist you with the early check in and car parking during your stay, and we are delighted to hear that you found your room large and comfortable.
We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Dublin and were able to visit lots of sites from our central location.
If you return to Dublin in the future, please contact us directly at reception so that we can offer you the return guest discount.

Kindest regards,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is a couple of blocks from Grafton St. and St. Stephen's Green so it worked out very well for a couple of days sightseeing in Dublin. It is not a modern hotel but our room was large and clean although somewhat noisy facing a very busy side street. More than adequate breakfast in a "temporary" basement location and helpful front desk staff. Very good value and no major complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, General Manager at Drury Court Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Drury Court Hotel.
We are delighted to learn that you found our central location so convenient, and that you were able to visit the many tourist attractions in the local area.
We do hope that you were not overly inconvenienced by the outside noise- if you make a return visit, we would be glad to give you a room on a high floor to alleviate this.
If you are in Dublin in the future, we would love to welcome you back; please contact our reception team for any future bookings to avail of your return guest discount.

Kindest regards,
David Cahill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Court Hotel

Address: 28-30 Stephen Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located city centre hotel within walking distance of all of Dublin's main attractions and eateries, including Trinity College, Temple Bar & St. Patrick's Cathedral. Triple glazing in all of our rooms along with our recently upgraded complimentary WiFi access ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Drury Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Court Dublin
Hotel Drury Court
Drury Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.