We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Service, But Don't Expect to Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Bar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Service, But Don't Expect to Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the Temple Bar district. Also, when I was doing my comparison shopping, this was the best value. All of the major attractions, bars and restaurants are near by. The Airport bus drops you off a few yards away. The staff is also very friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast is an all you can eat buffet for 8 euros, which is the only food deal you will find in Ireland.

The one piece of warning I would have is that it is extremely noisy, so if sleep is important to you, this might not be the place for you. On the first night we stayed in the northwest corner. I think we were right above a night club. Our whole room was shaking and after closing time (3am) people screamed outside for another hour or so (and that was a Wednesday night). The second night we asked to be moved, and the staff was very accommodating and moved us to the east side, which was a lot less noisy.

On a side note there is a large bar called, Farrington's, which is right down the street from the hotel. There are very few tourists there, mostly locals. They also have live music every night (acoustic guitar, not trad irish music), and a great beer selection. Good people watching too.

Room Tip: -Ask for a room on the east side (right side of the hotel), which is much less noisy. -Take advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear APChi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. In relation to the noise you experienced, we are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and breakfast deal. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to relevant teams.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    441
    209
    82
    57
See reviews for
99
435
79
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Myself & two other colleagues stayed here on business, although not close to the office it was convenient to sample Dublin. Reception staff were lovely, very helpful. Room OK, not my choice butt clan and somewhere to lay our heads. The showers are not very good and generally cold.
The hotel is on the main street where all the pubs and restaurants are so it was very noisy. At times it felt like the entertainer next door was playing the banjo in my bedroom. Finally when the music dies down people start kicking the shutter doors for fun... then the street cleaners start - don't go for a rest! I would highly recommend requesting a high room at the back if possible.
We didn't eat in the hotel, we found a really nice restaurant called Boxty, 3 courses for 25 Euros, the food was absolutely lovely (you must book as it gets very busy).
Would recommend the hotel for it's location...

Room Tip: 224 spacious room with a massive bed but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear LibbyMay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
I am delighted to read your positive comments about our reception staff. I will make sure to pass them on to our front office team.
Please accept our apologies regarding noise you experienced. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.
We will investigate shower & water temperature in your room to make sure this issue will be resolved immediately.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Temple Bar hotel for one night with a friend - staff were helpful on check in and the room was comfortable and very clean. The location of this hotel is so convenient, I cannot emphasise this enough. There are numerous bars and restaurants within walking distance. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on their food. There was a lot of street noise heard from the room - which, as we stayed on a Monday night was not so much people partying but of very early morning deliveries to the adjacent bars. We were woken at around 8am by the very loud clinking of crates of glass bottles which seemed never ending! But then again, if you expect a peaceful nights sleep you should not stay anywhere in Temple Bar as it's so busy! If I were to stay here again I would bring my own hair dryer as the one provided is useless. There is also a distinct lack of sockets in the room, and none convenient to the one mirror. However I would stay here again for the low price and convenient location - as long as a restful nights sleep is not your priority the Temple Bar hotel should suffice.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Slickvic 1928,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some noise disruption. Please accept our sincere apologies. Due to being so centrally located we do have some levels of noise coming from the streets and businesses around us. Unfortunately it is not always possible to keep the noise away.
We will investigate the hairdryer in your room to make sure it is fully functional. We have not encountered this being a problem before so we will definitely look into this.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and cleanliness of rooms. I will pass on your compliments to relevant departments.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location and price. The hotel is within walking distance to lots of great attractions. Front desk staff was very helpful.I had read some earlier reviews that complained about the noise, but we asked for and received a quiet room. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear aileeno,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of our team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton WA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our stay in Ireland, and the reception staff were more than adequate with our check-in process. The location is very central, and very hand for exploring the inner city areas. Our room was spacious enough, and clean and comfortable. The heating was difficult to regulate, and we needed to open the windows on occasions to cool things down a bit. Breakfast was more than adequate and the wait staff very helpful.
We we located on the first floor, and our windows were directly over a lane way. The noise was quite annoying, and did interrupt our sleep, particularly the second night.
The issue of street noise could easily solved with double glazing - we had a similarly located hotel in Barcelona and the double glazing kept all the street noise out - something for Management to consider given the consistent reference to street noise by reviewers.
I am not sure I would stay here again as, whilst the service and amenities of the hotel are very very good, the noise from the streets is a significant problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear SallyGeraldtonWA,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great location, Rooms clean and airy. Very comfortable large bed. We asked for a quiet room when booking and were not disturbed by street noise, although there is a hum from the air conditioning unit at the back. Lovey breakfast - huge selection.
This was our 4th stay at this hotel, over 3 years, we visit Dublin about 4 times a year, The prices fluctuate by a considerable amount, so we tend to only stay here when there is an offer.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms on higher floors overlooking courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear catmcmanus,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here toward the end of October, 2013. Room, staff, breakfast, location all super. We asked for a quiet room when we made our reservation, were on an upper floor facing the courtyard and never heard street noise. I blew out our power trying to piggyback too many electronic devices on one adapter and it was fixed immediately. Many other helpful encounters with the staff as well.
The Temple Bar area may not be for everyone, but this American AARP couple enjoyed it a great deal. Just around the corner from Trinity College, shopping, tours, history and the Liffey.
Sonas ort, Temple Bar Hotel !

Room Tip: Go upstairs, off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear JDR0,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit

Go raibh míle maith agat!
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant area of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Apartments offer spacious contemporary accommodation with free Wi-Fi. The banks of the River Liffey are less than 200 feet away.The apartments are decorated using neutral colours. They are equipped with a modern kitchen featuring a dishwasher and microwave. There is a spacious lounge and dining area as well a TV and a modern bathroom.O’Connell Street, a popular shopping destination, is just half a mile from the apartments and Jervis Tram stop can be reached in 5 minutes by foot. Temple Bar is famous for its lively atmosphere and the immediate area surrounding the apartments is full of restaurants, pubs and bars.Please note that Temple Bar Apartments has no reception. You can check-in at the Sky Backpackers Hostel (2-4 Litton Lane), just a 10-minute walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.