We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Bar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Temple Bar was a surprisingly nice hotel for the price. The beds were extremely comfortable and the room and bathroom larger than most European hotels I've stayed in. Our room was facing Fleet Street and was a little noisy on Friday or Saturday night - but drunken serenade at 3:00 am added to the charm. If you are looking for a great night's sleep ask for a room in the back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Lynette R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    439
    208
    82
    57
See reviews for
99
434
79
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night on May 30th. Initial impression upon seeing and entering the hotel, very nice, modern, clean. Didn't receive a very warm welcome at reception. Requested a quiet room, and was allocated Room 304 which overlooked the "courtyard", which was under construction and when the noise of that wasn't there, the air conditioning system noise on the roof could be heard humming away all the time, even through the night.

The room was big upon entry, great sized bathroom (although there were tiles coming away from the wall and one corner of the bath was very grotty), and massive wardrobe, however the bedroom left A LOT to be desired.

Bed could just about be classed as a double bed, more like a large single bed. Since there were two of us, this was less than great. The bed was really comfortable but squeaked with every movement so our sleep was broken at best. At the end of the bed was a desk with a tv (with the worst reception on some channels I've seen since I used an aerial as a kid), two chairs and an absolutely pointless table which was just squashed into the room and got in the way rather than added to it in any real or useful way.

Review cards were left on the table to comment but there were no pens provided (so I ended up using eyeliner!)

What was even more disappointing is that when we arrived we were starving and were looking forward to trying out the food in the restaurant... only to discover it was closed. As well as this, room service was only available until 9pm, but we were at the Olympia until 11pm. So had to source both meals from outside the hotel. Not convenient in the slightest.

Furthermore, as part of our booking, we were supposed to receive two welcome cocktails... which we never got!

The only positive thing about this place was the location.

Very disappointing. Will not be staying here again and won't recommend to family or friends.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear NicoleL1988,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We will investigate the issues you raised immediately. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Temple Bar Hotel, and I got a good rate when I was booking. The first thing checking was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is good value for the money and its perfect for the location, the room is on the fourth floor and i thought it was quiet but in the mornings the house keeping staff makes alot of noise with thier trolly bagging and loud speaking, so i had to wake up earlier than i planned.There is a bar adjacent to the hotel called Buskers Bar, the service is not very good and the food please dont order barbacue wings,that was what i ordered and it was not good at all was very
dissapointed. Overall the hotel is worth staying if you want to explore Dublin, HardRock Cafe only two doors down and is great with service and good food and cocktails wonderful. I might stay here again but it all depends on what i plan to do in dublin.
LjO

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear matlock08,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by noise from our housekeeping team, we will address this immediately.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Brilliantly located hotel if you are up for drinking and general carousing. Set right on fleet st / temple bar the hotel is generally good. There is a bar / club on ground floot but we asked for rooms on other side of building and weren't disturbed. The rooms are fine, maybe slightly on small side and a little it dated (chipped paintwork etc) but clean and pleasant. Breakfasts were excellent and the rooms were good value: check out some of the deals they do eg room and guiness tour combined as they work out cheaper. Overall a good hotel in an amazing location.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear 8Ace,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed last weekend (24-26 May 2013). Booked a single room and was pleasantly surprised when opened the room door to find a full double. Hotel is clean and tidy throughout, rooms have tea/coffee facilities, and staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast is very good for a hotel of this rating, and was included, though if not included in your price can be purchased for 6.95 euros. Take it from me, compared to what you get in the local pubs / cafes this is good value. It is also help yourself so you can eat as much as you like from cereals, juices, fruits, cold meats, cheeses, bread, toast, pastries, a full fried (sausages, bacon, fried egg, scrambled egg, hash browns, tomatoes, black pudding, baked beans), and tea / coffee. The only down side of this hotel is noise, but to be honest, if you book a hotel in the area of Dublin famous for it's pubs, music and stag / hen parties, and think it will be quiet you are deluded. If you are intending to be part of the cause of the noise, and thus out and about until the 'wee small hours' this hotel is perfectly situated. I would definitely stay here again, but would invest in some earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Brian H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Centrally located hotel, close to a number of entertainment spots. The noise coming from outside can be unberable, especially when it's hot and the window needs to be kept open. Was kept awake till about 2.00am by what sounded like arab disco music. Single rooms are quite small. Breakfast is average, but not much choice is available. Clean rooms, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Justme00052002,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

In general the irish people is amazing, the hosts in this hotel are not the exception. The beds are very comfortable, the bathroom is really clean and large, the price is good for this, even the breakfast is not included if i have to return to Dublin, i don't have to look for another place.

The location could be a problem if you are looking for a place to rest if you have a room with a window in the street side. Just ask for a one inside. If you want to party, hehe should i say anymore?

I didn't ask if they have a fitness center and don't think they have a swimming pool.

Room Tip: If you want a silent room choose the higher ones and not the ones facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear JuweTakeheshi,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant area of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Apartments offer spacious contemporary accommodation with free Wi-Fi. The banks of the River Liffey are less than 200 feet away.The apartments are decorated using neutral colours. They are equipped with a modern kitchen featuring a dishwasher and microwave. There is a spacious lounge and dining area as well a TV and a modern bathroom.O’Connell Street, a popular shopping destination, is just half a mile from the apartments and Jervis Tram stop can be reached in 5 minutes by foot. Temple Bar is famous for its lively atmosphere and the immediate area surrounding the apartments is full of restaurants, pubs and bars.Please note that Temple Bar Apartments has no reception. You can check-in at the Sky Backpackers Hostel (2-4 Litton Lane), just a 10-minute walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.