We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most helpful pre arrival service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Temple Bar Hotel to your Saves list
Temple Bar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Nong Prue, Thailand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The most helpful pre arrival service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I needed to have mail delivered prior to my arrival from abroad and this was handled by the hotel.

The concierge staff were fantastic recommending certain dinning options and securing me GAA tickets.

The location is perfect for tourist Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi TottenhamMo,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    442
    210
    82
    57
See reviews for
99
436
79
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We where 9 people going to Dublin and got 3 rooms with 3 beds. In advance I was a bit worried regarding the location in the big party-street in Dublin and weather the rooms to the price we got was anything at all - but YES it was. Great location in the middle of everything we needed, big rooms, actually quiet soine the rooms we had did not turn to the strees outside. And everything at a very low cost!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Simen S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Clean, adequate, good value for prime city centre. Moderate breakfast. Slept well but asked for a quiet room and was given one. When I mentioned a problem in the room it was dealt with immediately and professionally.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Marran25,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in The Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on our central location.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

A wonderful surprise in the heart of Temple Bar. One of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. Within walking distance to hundreds of attractions, museums , restaurants and pubs. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. Prior to booking I read many a negative revue about the noise at night. Get over it. If you plan to spend a week or more in Dublin, this place is not for you. However if you plan to spend two or three nights as we did and be in the thick of things then you'll put up with some noise. The party atmosphere can get quite loud and my only negative comment would be that the hotel should perhaps install double, triple or perhaps bullet proof glass to keep the noise outside. Overall I would stay there again at the drop of a hat.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear msgeb,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved this hotel. My first night in Dublin was spent roaming around Temple Bar and this hotel provided a great respite. It can be quite loud at night, as it is in the middle of the bar scene, but if you are involved in the scene, it is right in the middle of the action. The rooms and bathrooms were larger than I was anticipating from an urban European hotel. The price was well worth the location, amenities, and size. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear ANMP,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Cobble stone streets, live bands, and nice people. My brother, mother, and I took our first trip to Ireland this year, and knew we couldn't pass up Dublin! After reading reviews we knew Temple Bar was the place to stay. September 6th, 2012, our plane landed at 5am. Got into our rental car and were on our way, falling asleep the whole time. Parking was dirctly across the street and very inexpensive too! On arrival we were told our room wouldn't be ready for till late afternoon, I about died. Friendly staff and very helpful, they pointed the way towards the breakfast bar at 9am and didn't mind that we had made ourselves right at home on the couch! By 11am we were able to enter to our room, what gracious staff to have our room cleaned first. The room was small but tidy, with two beds and a window facing inward of the hotel. Bathroom was clean, water was warm and beds were comfy. We had no noise problems at all. Other then the time change, we all slept perfectly. Breakfast bar in the morning was plentiful and tasty. Walk out front take a left or right and you are in the mix of the busy city. Resturants, bars, shopping, churches, castles..its all there! The weather was perfect, a bit cold in the morning but turned into a nice cool sunny day by noon, and with a jacket, the cool night air was wonderful. I enjoyed my stay in Temple Bar, and would recommend The Temple Bar Hotel to anyone looking for a good time in the heart of the fun and lively city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inward over the breakfast bar area had no noise problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Kelley E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a bad experience. Stayed here just this week. Overall really poor customer service. Room was really noisy and overlooked the smoking area of the night club until 2:30am, pub barrels then started to be rolled down the street outside at 6am. When requested a room change, the attitude of the receptionist left a lot to be desired. We were called "noise sensitive"... Hardly the response we would expect with a genuine complaint. Will not be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear TheStacks,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in the Temple Bar Hotel. I was very disappointed to read your comments about the experience you encountered during your stay. In relation to the noise you experienced, unfortunately we are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant area of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Apartments offer spacious contemporary accommodation with free Wi-Fi. The banks of the River Liffey are less than 200 feet away.The apartments are decorated using neutral colours. They are equipped with a modern kitchen featuring a dishwasher and microwave. There is a spacious lounge and dining area as well a TV and a modern bathroom.O’Connell Street, a popular shopping destination, is just half a mile from the apartments and Jervis Tram stop can be reached in 5 minutes by foot. Temple Bar is famous for its lively atmosphere and the immediate area surrounding the apartments is full of restaurants, pubs and bars.Please note that Temple Bar Apartments has no reception. You can check-in at the Sky Backpackers Hostel (2-4 Litton Lane), just a 10-minute walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple Bar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.