We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for short break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Central Hotel to your Saves list
The Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for short break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights over late May Bank Holiday with nine friends for a senior citizens version of a stag weekend.The hotel is perfectly situated both for sightseeing and for the incredibly busy nightlife.Whilst not modern by any standards the hotel has a comfortable feeling and our room was spotlessly clean -the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom perfectly acceptable.All of the staff we encountered were very helpful and obliging ,entirely the opposite of the findings of some reviewers.We did not sample the food but the menu in the attached public bar and restaurant looked fine and was evidenced by the numerous diners and drinkers.
Overall,I would be quite happy to recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter - rear rooms do not have a very good outlook-opt for rooms on front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    213
    111
    43
    66
See reviews for
91
171
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brussels, belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Second time we stay at the central hotel. The main reason is its perfect location for a city trip in Dublin : you are in the Liberties, near Dame street, Temple Bar, Graffton street, etc. Busses from the airport or tours around Dublin stop near the hotel. When the night comes you are surronded by the magical nightlife atomsphere. If that's what you looking for, this is perfect. I wouldn't recommande for nature lovers looking for peace and calm !

Service is nice and friendly. Room are what they should be : clean, well furnished and cosy. Value for money is good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

So, it's not the Ritz, and the beds are hard. But ...

Fantastic location. The staff are great. Very clean! Quite good value, and The library bar ... VERY Irish and like a lovely club.

Best of all, it's as close as you can get to my favourite bar in Dublin - Izakaya.

Room Tip: Go high! 4th floor is quiet and you don't hear road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is old and retains some victorian charm, but needs a refurbishing. The chair in our room was so old the legs broke beneath my husband. He only weighs 170 lbs. The bathroom looked like it had a recent renovation but the workmanship was poorly done. Our room was spacious with high ceilings but bordered on seedy. The elevator was a little nerve wracking, I recommend using the stairs when possible. The young woman at check in/check out was smiling and pleasant. Location could not be better. You get what you pay for on this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recently stayed in this wonderful hotel just a short walk from Grafton St. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spotless, Hot water was very hot. I'm happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Central Hotel and I would definately recommend this hotel to anybody that wants to be in the centre of Dublin, as EVERYTHING is within walking distance. It is located just off Grafton Street, which is a pedestrian walkway for all the main shops, and a stones throw from where the bus stops and main attractions are.

We were given a QUIET room and this is absolutely essential, as being in such a good location in the city centre, it is very noisy outside. We were in room 410 on the fourth floor, it was double glazed and had absolutely no noise watsoever........bliss! Especially when so many other travellers have complained about noise in this hotel.

Room was small but clean, double bed very comfortable, infact probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on, shower was also very good.

Only small issue we had was they did not explain breakfast was not included so we were shocked on check out to be charged 40e for 2 mornings of continental breakfasts!!!!!!!! This was removed from the bill after a discussion, but be careful when staying to make sure first.

No ironing board available as there are only 3 for the entire hotel, which were in sleeping guests rooms.

All in all a nice hotel, good value, fantastic location, very clean, would stay again :)

Room Tip: 410 - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall this hotel is a gem! In an amazing location it was within walking distance to many of the attractions and night life. For the price we paid what we got was excellent an average size clean room. What more do you want. The one big problem was how hot the room was we turned the radiators off but it was still boiling. Only the bathroom window opened so this did not really help. The reception staff were very prompt at finding a fan but unfortunately it didn't make much difference. As for all these reviews complaining about noise we didn't hear a thing bar when the bathroom window was open but this really wasn't anything to complain about. All in all an excellent stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.