We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Central Hotel to your Saves list
The Central Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

You can't ask for a better location. This hotel is right in the heart of everything and within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. We stayed for a week in May and it was great. Our hotel room was clean and everything was working properly. It took us a little while to figure out how to turn on the TV but it was resolved with a call to downstairs for advice. They had a weird system where you had to turn on a switch (upon entering the room) to allow flow of electricity. It's some sort of energy-saver thing.

The staff was nice and helpful. I felt relaxed and comfortable at this hotel. It may only have 3 stars but this is a great place to stay. Though, just be advised that it can get noisy late at nights because there is an open bar right below in the same building. If you are weary of noise, you can ask for a quiet room. But as for us, hey-we actually didn't mind the noise. Some drunk people were singing at like 2 am in the morning....and much to my surprise, the singing wasn't half bad! And they were singing songs that I knew. Well, it added to the ambiance, I guess.

Also, there is a really great supermarket right across the street where you can get snacks, a small lunch, or anything that you may need.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Florance C. Thanks for your nice comments about the Central and we are glad you enjoyed your time Dublin with us.

Yes we have some rooms that have slight noise issues but beyond our control but once a quite rooms is requested this is always accommodated.

Hope you come back to see us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    213
    111
    43
    66
See reviews for
91
171
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

well now, this is an odd one... it's probably the best located hotel in dublin, but is that enough?? well, probably not. There is noise everywhere, in every room, except maybe way up in the smaller rooms on the higher floor.... the hotel is somewhat worn around the edges, and bizarrely the residents bar shuts way before the local bars, so, people coming back for a night cap, had to leave again, and there was no provision for a mini bar or the usual courtesy of a night porter organising drinks... they just closed the bar and said no to anyone wanting to have a final relaxing drink... which seemed rather poor form... also the hotel was especially warm at night, making it stuffy (cant open the windows for the noise.. a combination of traffic, loud bars, and arguing homeless people up the side lane)... the staff were, in general helpful, though i did hear another guest complaining about the lack of skill/training of the bar staff... I would like to stay here again, it's so handy... but I wish they'd face up to their problem areas and sort them out... we do after all, pay their rates and deservedly expect a level of service in return....

Room Tip: go for the top floor... the rooms are smaller, but it's your only chance of getting any sleep wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

OMG...What can I say....We so love this hotel in the Centre part of Dublin, right off Grafton Street.....I have stayed there 3 times and have sent family and friends to this so great Europeon hotel. We all loved it......The rooms are very clean, staff is amazing and so kind and helpful....I have travelled to many Europeon cities and this city hotel is one of our favs....Many thanks to Isobel and all the hotel people making our amazing trips to Dublin so great!!! Also a fantastic bar in the hotel with two cozy fireplaces ...couches, chairs, tables....a great place to end your day......judy xoxoxo

Room Tip: Not sure....we liked all our rooms....we enjoyed being on the strip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Always a pleasure to have you stay here with us Judy, come back to us again soon. Compliments of the seaon to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights in September and would happily stay there again. The hotel is a nice looking old hotel in the centre of Dublin making it very easy for access to restaurants, shops, bars and for just strolling around which is exactly what we planned to do with our mini-getaway. The staff were friendly and helpful and while the room was on the small side it was no different to any other hotel we stayed in, in that regard, during our holiday. We were 5 weeks travelling the UK and took 3 days in Dublin to have a break from driving and had no schedule to keep to. Being from a warm climate we were surprised at how few hotels had airconditioning in the rooms - the Central doesn't either and it was pretty warm in the room. We didn't eat at the hotel but did make good use of the Library Bar which was a real treat. I highly recommend you spend some time in there just soaking up the atmosphere (and having a drink or two!) We had no issue with noise, but I had requested a quiet room and that's what we got!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Glad you had a good stay with us here in the Central. Regarding airconditioning, unfortunately it is not something that is required in Ireland too often, if the situation should change we would be more than happy to install it!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

27/10/12 to 30/10/12

Excellent.

An early check in for no added cost. Very friendly staff, initially given a room on the 4th floor, but this does not have wifi, they upgraded me to a better room on the 2nd floor with wifi (which is free!!!) and I was warned it was loud, which it wasn't by my reckoning!

Comfy beds, warm rooms, slight issue with pillows, weren't puffy enough but that made no real impact on my stay!

The hotel's Library Bar, is very swish, quite Downton Abbey esque!

Just excellent and when I am back in Dubs I am staying there!!

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor has free wifi, 3rd and 4th floor doesn't have wifi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for your kind review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us last month. Regarding wi-fi, we had a problem with it in certain areas but thankfully all has now been resolved. I will pass on your comment about pillows to our housekeeping manager.

when you wish to return to us please email us direct and we will ensure you of our best attention. email address: info@centralhotel.ie. - please mention your review.

again, many thanks and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

A charming downtown hotel. Light on amenities and small rooms, but in a different location it would be a nice place to stay. However, they do not warn you that some rooms are directly over a late bar. You may as well try to sleep in the bar. The noise makes it impossible to sleep. I suppose it would be a fine place if you planned to stay out until 330 am. Otherwise say far, far away.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

125 year old hotel in Central Dublin, close to lots of famous landmarks. We had 4th floor rooms which whilst small were adequate and at 69€ for B&B was ok. Wifi was very poor but everyone was very helpful. The library bar was lovely, comfy seats and we spent hours during the day recovering from a weekend on the west coast!

Room Tip: Use the library bar for teas and coffee. Avoid 4th floor rooms- wifi poor in some parts of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.