We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herbert Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Herbert Park Hotel to your Saves list
Herbert Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've stayed in the Herbert Park hotel many times and never took the time to write a reveiw until now.
What prompted me this time was that the check-in staff had my name before I opened my mouth!!

It's a very good value hotel with fine rooms and very convenient to sports venues, pubs and restuarant. It i also a 20 minute walk to the centre of Dublin.
It is beside Herbert Park, which in fine weather, is a lovely space to spend an hour.

This hotel is friendly, spacious, but low key. You won't find stag or hen parties here. All rooms have tv's with Sky Sports which is a real bonus for the sports enthusiast.

They do charge €10 a day for parking, but look out for inclusive deals.

One down side is that if you're on a room only basis, breakfast is expensive.

I always return to the Herbert Park Hotel

Room Tip: A view of Herbert Park is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your positive comments about the hotel and our location. Great to see that you are a regular guest sharing your experience on previous stays with us.
Kind regards,
Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    227
    95
    41
    46
See reviews for
102
171
28
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The management did not show any flexibilty or understanding regarding a last minute cancellation due to a personal misunderstanding. The result is that we paid for a room that we did not occupy.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

From check in.... a €405 deposit was taken out of my credit without my consent ....to check out which left me stuck at hotel barrier due to the must unhelpful receptionist....rooms ok….food ok…..better hotels and locations in Dublin…would not recommend or stay again …………

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us. On check-in we take a pre-authorisation on your credit card for the accommodation charge and security on the room which is a normal standard practice in hotels. The actual charge to the card is made on check-out when the bill is final. I apologise if this was not explained clearly to you at the time. The Receptionist mis-understood your parking arrangements on your departure which is when we validate parking tickets to allow guests to exit the car park. I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.
Kind regards,
Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This has to be one of the most disappointing hotels we have stayed at. Every encounter with the staff took the hotel down one more notch. We arrived in Dublin to go househunting and this hotel was chosen for us by my husbands's assistant as she thought it would be a good, family friendly place, close to where we were looking at houses.

On arrival, no one is at the doors- staff inside will watch you quite complacently while you drag your luggage in piece by piece. We called ahead to request early check in as we were travelling with our 22 month old daughter. We were assured we could have it but on arriving after an early flight with a cranky child, we had to wait in the lobby for close to 2 hours. They said that this was because they were trying to give us a larger room. When we finally got to our room it looked very much a standard hotel room size (what was the earlier room, a matchbox?)

The ryanair bit- everything in this hotel has a charge- if you order a meal you pay a tray charge of 6.50 euros per person. With two people staying in a room, if you order breakfast and pay a 13 euro tray charge it very nearly costs as much as a full breakfast. I'm not particularly penny pinching and I believe in paying for good service or value but this provded neither. Internet is charged (but then to be fair it is at most Dublin hotels) at either 15 or 20 euros a day per device. With my laptop, my husband's and both our iphones needing to be connected- well.. On my next visit to Dublin we stayed at the Four Seasons which I found to be better value- a flat tray charge of 5 euros, cheaper food which was much tastier, package internet of 24 euros for 4 devices and they upgraded us to a junior suite at no extra cost- no comparison really!

The food was indifferent too, served by grumpy staff who were annoyed at having to wait a minute or two outside my door (with a trolley) after showing up 10 minutes before the time I requested my breakfast. Staff in the restaurants were rude and off-putting. I asked for a high chair and received one about 15 minutes into the meal (which we had a 45 min wait for) after the staff had served everyone else who came in much after us. The high chair was dirty and broken too.

Each interaction with concierge or reception took the hotel down a few more points. I rang concierge to ask if there was anything I could do on a wet day with my little girl only to be told that apart from taking her to the mall, there was nothing really! The RDS is next door and had a lovely exhibit on I later found. A complete lack of imagination on their part and a waste of a good afternoon. The front desk staff seemed to be nice to some guests and I had the impression that they had to take a liking to you for you to get good service.

The only thing that is really nice about this hotel is its proximity to Herbert park where children can have a nice run about and feed the ducks. Otherwise, Avoid, Avoid, Avoid! I wouldn't stay there again if it were the last hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to hear the details of your stay with us. It would have been useful to have been alerted to your experience prior to your departure from the hotel so that I or a member of the Management Team could have met you in person to discuss your stay. If you would like to contact me directly regarding your stay please email me on info@herbertparkhotel.ie . I look forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards,
Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Gorman
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great location in ballsbridge. Food and rooms were good but we had one issue which started out small but was dealt with in such a poor manner by staff and management that it ruined the family night out for us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay with us. I was not made aware of your issues around the time of your stay so I would appreciate it if you would contact me directly on info@herbertparkhotel.ie to establish the details and to see if we can put things right for you.
Kind regards,
Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Reception staff were pleasant. The room, while clean, was basic with bath/shower combo. The bed was basically 2 beds loosely shoved together. The a/c was noisy & smelled badly. The room was interconnecting even though we didnt request this & we had to talk in whispers to avoid disturbing the neighbours. (We could hear their comversations plainly) The hotel decor was lovely, however, we paid e230 for a room only & this was very poor value for money as the room was so basic.

Room Tip: Specifically request a
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not feel the hotel offered you value for money. I know that the Bon Jovi concert was on in the adjacent RDS which meant that the rooms were sold at a premium, as was the case with all hotels local to the venue. You booked an Executive Room which is more expensive than our Standard Rooms. We take on board your comments and we have checked out the air-conditioning and noise in the room you stayed in, so thanks for letting us know.
Kind regards,
Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I was here as part of a business trip. The hotel is well situated and a lovely park just out the back. Room was nice and contained everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and included in the price which was not overly expensive. Good bar. All in all this hotel is great, serves its purpose and I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbarry, Sales & Marketing Manager at Herbert Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Herbert Park Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel and indeed the location. We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paula Barry
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Herbert Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herbert Park Hotel

Address: Ballsbridge 4, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#52 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#54 Business Hotel in Dublin
#69 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Herbert Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern 4 star hotel located in the heart of Ballsbridge. Overlooking 48 acres of leafy Herbert Park, Herbert Park Hotel offers a unique setting in the centre of Dublin. Minutes on foot to the Aviva Stadium and RDS and minutes by car, bus or train to The CCD and the city centre, the location is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Herbert Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herbert Park Dublin
Hotel Herbert Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbert Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.