We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cost, and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grafton Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grafton Guesthouse to your Saves list
Grafton Guesthouse
26-27 S. Great George's St., Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location, cost, and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had a late flight into Dublin and checked in very late. The actual guest house doesn't have reception area - check in is done at Kelly's Hotel next door. That said, this was very clearly noted in the reservation notes so it was no surprise. It did take a while to find the hotel, but I was new to Dublin. The location is *excellent*, right near the very trendy Grafton street. My room had a street view and during the Monday and Tuesday night I stayed, noise was not a problem. It likely would have been if I stayed Thursday-Monday. The staff here is exceptionally friendly, even at 2am, so ask for a rear room if your stay extend over a weekend. Note that noise will be a problem with any hotel in the area if the room faces the street. Check in was easy, the room was on par with European standards (i.e., very small), the bathroom was very modern, and the staff even went outside to help me find parking in the dead of the night. Great staff and experience...even at 2am. Location can not be beat, especially for what you pay.

Some notes. Parking is expensive in Dublin. In back of the hotel you can find the cheapest lost in town, but it's still 7 euro night or 14 euro a day.

Room Tip: if staying over the weekend ask for a room facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    52
    35
    17
    12
See reviews for
11
59
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserlautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was excited to be going to Dublin for St. Patrick's Day weekend and booked the Grafton Guesthouse on a recommendation from a friend. While the staff were exceptionally nice, as most are in Ireland, the room itself left much to be desired. I would like to preface this by saying that they did say they had renovations going on but as far as I could see they were simply repainting the interior and I am unaware as to whether or not they were going to renovate the rooms themselves. The room itself was horribly outdated with paint chipping throughout the room. The beds were decent but a little soft for my taste, that is just personal preference though. My biggest complaint was the bathroom. I was horribly disappointed to see that there was mold growing on the ceiling, that again the pain was chipping, and there was rust in a lot of places. I expected more but I hope they are going to renovate the rooms as they are just outdated.

Overall though the room was clean and fully functional. The shower had horrible water pressure so that is something that truly disappointed me but again when you are on vacation you expect not everything is going to be as you want it to be. I would recommend this place though on location alone. It was in the center of everything and just made it so easy to get everywhere. There are a ton of cafes, bars, and restaurants within a very short walking distance as well as the famed Grafton Street is just two streets over.

While the room left much to be desired it was clean and a great price even over a big holiday weekend. The staff and location made it worth it to us and anyway, when you are on vacation you shouldn't be spending so much time inside the room anyway. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend. I'd read the website and also previous reviews here so no surprise at having to check in at Kellys, rather than at the guest house itself.
The room was small and basic.

Good points:
- friendly staff
- breakfast was nice
- very convenient, central location

However, the hotel is VERY noisy due to the neighbouring bars (and poor internal soundproofing) I found it very hot & stuffy.
There were several frustrating little things about the room I was in -

- the blind on the window was old and poorly fitted - it wasn't possible to open the window (which had one broken fastening) without pulling the blind up, having pulled it up it took 4-5 attempts to get it to come all the way down again - and it was only *just* big enough for the window so the room was never quite dark.

- the basin was in the main part of the room, not in the bathroom, and there was no towel rail or even hook to place the hand towel near the basin. The basin was extremely small and there was no shelf or anything next it to put even a toothbrush. I can understand why the sink was not in the bathroom (there was not space) but a hook/ring for the towel, and a small shelf to hold a tooth glass would have made a huge difference

- similarly, in the bathroom there was no towel rail. There was a hook on the back of the door but this was too 'shallow' to hold the bath towel - a better hook, or a rail or ring on the wall would have been an easy fix, and a massive improvement.

-only one pillow. thin duvet and no sign of any extra blankets (I was far to hot to want them, but was surprised to find only one pillow, esp. as there was no chair in the room so the only place to sit was on the bed.

- the information about the hotel included 2-3 pages of Irish phrases,but lacked basic information about the hotel itself (e.g. channels available on the TV, whether / when housekeeping was available etc)

- the place generally could do with redecoration - there is a lot of peeling paper, chipped paintwork, worn carpets, and a general impression that the place is run-down. I notice that there are photos on here from a review written in 2007 showing the room which I had: nothing at all has been changed since those pictures were taken!

The hotel is not expensive compared with other local hotel, the breakfast was nice (although there is no variety) and the staff whom I dealt with, both before and during my stay, were all very pleasant and helpful. The room seemed clean, although common areas were less so.

I would not stay here again, mainly because of the noise, which |I found kept me awake even with earplugs, but if you can put up with the noise (and my room did not overlook the street!) and are looking for somewhere very basic, central and not too expensive, you'll be OK here.

Just be clear on what you're getting!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I liked it, it met my needs completely. Room was small, but clean and comfortable. Wifi access good, breakfast buffet was filling and of good quality. No elevator, but staff gave me room with just up one flight of stairs on request. Excellent central location, could walk to almost everywhere I was interested in. I would book there again. No outgoing phone service but could receive calls and call desk.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor room (which is still up one flight of stairs) if you don't want to deal with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Briefly, the mattresses were thin and unevenly supported (I tried a second room with the same mattress issue). The bathroom was as in the picture another traveler had posted--needing caulking and paint. The bedroom looked run down as well. Everything looked old and not maintained. The only saving grace was the wallpaper on one wall and the cute lamp, but all they really did was make for a nice picture for the website.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in late june, having read the website I knew about having to go to Kelly's for the reception and about the breakfast being in the restaurant across the road. Having also read previous reviews a wasn't expecting much but my room was clean, it was small but all I needed, the bathroom was nice, a bit small thou, great location! 3 blocks to anywhere, of course it would be noisy being in town but I didn't need my earplugs.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a B& B in central location. Access from street is a stairway!!! Firstly, picking up the keys from the other hotel up 2 flights of stairs is a bit of a pain, as no lift means you have to carry luggage up an extra flight of stairs and back down - wasn't expecting that - then up another 4 flights of narrow stairs when we were allocated our room!! Noise not a problem as we had a "Pokey" room at back . Unexpected highlight was breakfast in nearby cafe, good coffee and even had gluten free toast - very helpful girl in charge

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grafton Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grafton Guesthouse

Address: 26-27 S. Great George's St., Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grafton Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grafton Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grafton Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.