We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk from the center, but perfect Dublin getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice walk from the center, but perfect Dublin getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Elegant, nice, comfy hotel that is a nice walk away from the center of Dublin. The room we got was Hampton style, it was huge and really well done. Very clean and comfortable. We had a fireplace and couch in our place, really cool. Their bar downstairs was the perfect place for a night cap.

The staff were extremely helpful and happy, it was delightful.

There is a bus stop for bus 145, 46A and 39A that go right into the center, the area that you'd want to go. The buses stop running at midnight, but don't worry.. a good 20 walk to walk off the Guinness/Whiskey :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    163
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
41
242
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thorpeness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I'm so glad i chose to stay in this hotel, it really is an amazing place to stay. It is decorated to a very high level with attention to detail high on the list. The room was just as it looked on the website, they are big and airy with huge flat screen TV and electric fire. Plenty of storage, and space to sit. The bath room was to a high spec too with high class toiletries. The bar/restaurant is comfortable if a little dark in places due to the lighting. The food is very good, home made and tasty. The girls on reception were very helpful and pleasant. Free WiFi throughout too. Avery good place to stay. It's a good 20 -30 minute walk to city center but there is a bus stop right outside which costs less than 2 euros.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

The Hampton Hotel is located with in walking distance to city center. This beautiful hotel is located in one of the nicer areas of Dublin, along with Embassy Road. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, with a large flat screen television & electric fireplace. The bar located in the lobby had live music, drinks & delicious chocolate brownies. The only downfall to this hotel was the night club located in the basement--the music was extremely loud and did radiate up to the 4th floor where we stayed. As the club is open Friday/Saturday, this makes Hampton Hotel ideal for Sunday-Thursday travelers who are looking for quiet, clean & boutique!
Overall, wonderful stay--would send friends & would return myself!

Room Tip: 4th floor for less noise if there on weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed with my partner for one night on Valentine's day. In all honesty, I wasn't too mad about the decor (too garish in my opinion), but seeing all the raving reviews, I must be one of the only ones who doesn't appreciate it. Our bathroom, however, more than made up for it! Double sink vanity, floor heating, plenty of hot water, nice amenities. They even had an in-ceiling speaker in the bathroom, which was pretty impressive.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Feb and from the moment I arrived the staff were excellent . Christine took care of the reservation and nothing was too much trouble . Joseph at Reception was warm & welcoming . Food Staff Service & Athmosphere was amazing . Loved the Nite Club Vanilla ... Will be back soon

Well worth a visit when you are next in town

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delvin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Spent Saturday 4th Feb in The Hampton for my sisters hen night ~ She had requested we use The Hampton as had stayed many times before and always came home raving about her stay. I have to say it didn't dissapoint ~ all 18 of our group had absolutely NO complaints. Stunning setting ~ service that was second to none and a scrummy breakfast where we all discuss our intentions to return again with our partners. The Staff were amazing ~ Joesph on the front desk was extremely friend and very helpful during our stay the bartenders were efficient & great fun and the Security at Vanilla nightclub were gentlemen. The only negative and its not really a negative was none of us could find any comment cards you leave comments about how great our stay was!!!! Thank you again and we are looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in December, paying extra for an upgraded room "204", which was above the door. Unfortunately this hotel seems to get most of its business from functions, with the noise that accompanies these well into the small hours. I expected robes and slippers in the room, these were missing.Together with the fact that the bottled water in the room wasn't replaced, which seemed a bit mean.
The hotel is described as refurbished, but the ornamental fire was unplugged and not working and the decor was a little shabby. The breakfast was acceptable, but we were glad we only had one meal at the hotel, which was poor quality
On the plus points it is on airport bus route and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. It was a long walk into the city centre (about twenty minutes), but there is a bus for those who don't like the hike!

Room Tip: Do not stay here, there are better more central hotels in Dublin. Shop around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Hotel

Address: 19-29 Morehampton Rd, Donnybrook, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Sachs Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s Hampton Hotel is located in the popular suburb of Donnybrook. This 4-star boutique hotel offers luxury accommodation and is in close proximity to the RDS, the National Concert Hall and a selection of Dublin’s finest restaurants. With 24 beautifully styled guest bedrooms, this stunning period building has retained all its Georgian charm while providing a unique stylish touch and modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hampton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Dublin
Sachs Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.