We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location close to city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge to your Saves list
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful location close to city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A majestic old building houses this excellent hotel
Surrounded by lovely grounds , it is a few minutes taxi from the centre of Dublin
We were glad we stayed just away from the centre as it can be constantly noisy right through the night
Bewleys is a haven from this
Great service, top breakfasts & topped off 1 night by an impromptu harp performance near the restaurant
Rooms were quiet & comfortable
Staff were very helpful & good to deal with
Plenty of taxis with a rank across the road
Good local restaurants if you want to walk a few blocks
The bar was nothing special but when in Dublin you are in a smorgasbord of great watering holes so don't waste time at the hotel pub

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It's great to read that you had so many positive comments and enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad that you liked the location as we find it a real advantage to be not too far from the center, but slightly away from the hustle and bustle in the quieter embassy district. Please do visit us again next time you are planning a trip to Dublin.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    534
    271
    114
    68
See reviews for
295
348
76
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you want to feel like you are experiencing Dublin, the Bewley is a great place to stay. The property is excellent and the entire look and feel really add to a visit to Dublin. IT is only a ten minute (with normal traffic) cab ride to city center. Just do not expect quick service, the staff is good and friendly, but nothing is done in a rush.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback. I am sorry if you felt that any service was slow whilst you were here, I don't know if it was a busy period but am pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I hope you will return to us again in the near future.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here for the first time as the usual hotel we stay in was fully booked. It is a very impressive building, formerly a Masonic school for Orphan girls, dating from the 1880's. The reception staff were friendly and efficient. The room was very clean and comfortable. We had room only so didn't actually have the breakfast which was priced a little high I believe. We did have an evening meal in the restaurant and that was particulary good value. We also ate several meals in the bar and they also were good value for money. The hotel is situated quite a way out of the city, if you walked it would probably take just about an hour and although situated on the main road into Dublin was not noisy. However, there is a bus stop directly outside of the hotel and the buses come very regularly. Otherwise, there is a DART station just a couple of minutes across the road, this is a train service direct into the city and unlike the buses you are able to get a return ticket.

Room Tip: Our room looked down at the quadrangle on the front of the hotel and although we could see the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It's a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed all your dining experiences and found them to be of good value. I hope you will return to us next time you are visiting Dublin and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I had to go to this hotel because all the others were booked. The hotel itself was completely booked so all they had left for us was a small single bed room for a family of 3. We were given our room key and went up to our room. To our utter surprise, we were given the room key of SOMEONE ELSE'S ROOM. Luckily, no one was in the room at the time. After going back down to the reception, we were given the correct room key. They had no extra beds so one of us was forced to sleep on the floor. They did not have extra blankets either. It was not very enjoyable, and I will not go back to Bewley's given the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to the hotel. I presume from your comments that the city was very busy on the night in question with many hotels fully booked and no family rooms available with ourselves when you enquired. Unfortunately we do not stock extra movable beds as we already have fixed sofa beds in our family rooms that have the space to accommodate them. In terms of being given the incorrect room number this is certainly not common place or an acceptable standard. We are not always perfect and do make mistakes from time to time and this would have been human error on the part of the receptionist. I do sincerely apologise for this and hope it did not cause you too much inconvenience.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

At the end of a long road trip and we checked in here for 2 nights, family room, lower ground floor. The reception staff were very friendly and the room was ready. I would have liked a floor higher up but it was big enough for a double, single and sofa bed. Very clean and comfortable but with no aircon, it was a bit warm. The shower was amazing and really worked after a long day. There was a wedding party in on both nights we were there and although they were using the main bar before the reception, there was no long wait for drinks or food and no noise from the party. Car parking was included in our deal so well worth checking but it would cost about 10 euros for 24 hours to hotel guests.
The bar was large and comfortable. All the staff were welcoming and the service was spot on. Prices were not too bad for food or drinks. We did not have breakfast on either day but it looked and smelt fantastic.
Not far from the city centre with bus stops right outside, it is in a great location for visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It is a pleasure to read your comments as you seem to have enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It is great to hear you talking so highly of the staff and that the service was spot on. I hope it won't be too long before you return to us for another enjoyable experience.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here a month ago for the cork and Dublin match. We booked a family
room on line. The bar was surprisingly quite for a fully booked hotel. We ate in the
bar on the saturday night. It was reasonable and the food was lovely. Our breakfast
was not included and it would have made it too expensive for the five of us to have breakfast
there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for passing on your comments and I'm glad to hear that you found your visit very enjoyable. We do consider ourselves to be a family friendly hotel so it's great to hear that we lived up to your expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities in the Brasserie Restaurant and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.