We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trade show stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge to your Saves list
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Trade show stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were kindly invited to the local exhibition hall (RDS) by Enterprise Ireland. This is the second time staying here. Busy hotel, helpful Staff, spacious clean comfortable enough room, good choice at breakfast if not the best ingredients used. Overall pleasant trip in a nice part of time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    488
    251
    108
    65
See reviews for
274
305
72
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband myself and our 9yr old daughter stayed overnight on 9/01/2013 we were attending the bt young scientists in rds our son and his two friends also had a room they had a project in the bt young scientists we stayed here 2yrs ago and we were looking forward to coming back we weren't disappointed it was the same lovely staff spotless clean and child friendly would highly recommend this hotel and we are looking forward to coming back in August for the horse show.tristan in the bar the was serving our food was a lovely chap cheerful and chatty .

Room Tip: The higher up u are the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to give your feebback on Tripadvisor. We are always busy with The Young Scientist and have a lot of guests staying year on year like yourself. It is always great to hear from our regular customers and I will pass on your kind comments to Tristan. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Staff were helpful and the room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Lots of buses stop just outside and go straight into town and is a 5 minute walk from the Dart. Found the breakfast to be brilliant. A bit of a queue for the hot food but well worth it. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the breakfast. We are very proud of our breakfast buffet as with our 'Kitchen' policy we actively try to source seasonal and local produce on all our menus. Our breakfast is '100% Irish' with all items coming from Bord Bia certified Irish farms. Many thanks and we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge from 23/112012-26/11/2012,we found this be an excellent hotel very near the city centre.The Airport bus stops outside the hotel so very handy. Just a few mins walk down the road and you can get the number 4 bus to the city centre.There is just one thing the staff in reception need more training ,a smile perhaps or maybe good morning Sir/Madam would not go amiss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on Tripadvisor and I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge. I will certainly address your comments with the reception team and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our third time at Bewleys, Ballsbridge and we stay there for the great location and one of the best breakfasts in Dublin bar none. We normally stay during winter or spring when we get a bit of time off from running our own business. The value is superb and the food is very good quality. However, this time the weather was very mild, and our room was so uncomfortably hot, we hardly got any sleep the last 2 nights. Our radiator was turned off & the windows are safety catched, so only open a few inches. The room was stifling, and by 4 o'clock this morning, I gave up. I went down to Reception at 7am to find out if our room was over the boiler house, or there was any reason for the unbearable heat, but the receptionists couldn't provide us with any reason, except that the rooms had no air conditioning. Really????? I have now returned home more tired than when I went. Come on Bewleys, you've got AC in all the public areas, how about sorting out the rooms?

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor. Try to get on a higher floor, you might get more of a breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am sorry that the room was too hot for you and hope this did not detract too much from your overall experience, since you did find many positives. This is very unusual as the rooms should not be affected by any boilers or other heat source, apart from the radiators inside. Let us know next time you plan to stay and we can certainly try to allocate you a higher room as you suggested, or maybe a room on the 6th floor with large balcony doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I'm giving it 5 rating because For €79 double room & breakfast, it is great value. Also Room/bathroom spotless except outside our window on 6th floor on little balcony covered in cigarette butts. Tea/coffee facilities in room, safe, iron/ironing board,tv. Comfortable bed with white linen. Toiletries minimum. Large radiator which you can control yourself. Breakfast self service usual Irish fare. Juices, cereals, fry, toast, tea/coffee. Parking €10 for 24 hours. Ideal hotel for overnight stay. Taxi to Grafton Street/st. Stephen's Green €11 which you can book from reception. Can't fault it for what we paid especially in this part of Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your kind review and rating, it is always nice to hear from a satisfied customer. We hope you will come back to us soon and have another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good location for the Aviva Stadium & RDS but the hotel itself feels like a people factory. No staff friendliness at all. No luggage storage or conceirge service. Reception staff are there to check in/out & nothing else. The room was basic but quiet. Good selection for breakfast, cooked breakfast was good but there was no fresh fruit, only tinned. No staff friendliness there either. I forgot something in the room & when I contacted the hotel to get it returned I heard nothing from them. I wasn't even surprised & didn't bother trying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesCreasey, General Manager at Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Whilst we are not always perfect we do pride ourselves on our customer service and I apologise if you felt we did not live up to these. I will certainly take your comments on board and if there is anything I can help you with please do contact me personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities in the Brasserie Restaurant and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Moran & Bewleys Hotel Group, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.