We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful building and a good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge to your Saves list
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful building and a good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel looks gorgeous from the outside, especially now, decorated with Christmas lights. Interior design isn'it that impressive though but rooms are decent size, clean, very comfortable bed. Majority of the employees are nice with some exceptions. Overall a good experience when you stay here for your business trip. They didn't have blackberry charger that I needed. The heater in my room was very noise unless I put the highest temperature on and that was the only advice from he reception to I get rid of the noise. I don't recommend Guinness in the hotel restaurant (at least mine wasn't very cold).

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    534
    271
    114
    68
See reviews for
295
348
76
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

just back from a two night stay, and i must say my friend and i were very impressed. The rooms were very clean and fresh. We dined in the restaurant on the first night, and had the 3 courses, for 25 euro, and i must say it was possibly the nicest meal i have had. The salmon was to die for, and my friend had the noodle dish, the starters and dessert were heaven also. Breakfast each morning was fab too. The staff are very friendly, and always catered to our needs when needed. It is i may add about 40 mins walk to the city centre, but the bus stop is outside the hotel, or 10 euro by taxi. This was my second time staying in this hotel, and i shall be returning again in the future. Overall we were very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birr, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Alarm went off 5 times between 5 am and 7 am . no hot water, no apologies. never book with a third party as hotel will not want to know about any changes you may want. Non of the staff i met were irish and no such thing as trying to accomate you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Looks OK, but a real Fawlty Towers job. I was here for the better part of a week at a conference of an international organisation. On the first night we were all woken at 05:00 by a loud shrieking of a fire alarm; this was repeated no fewer than four more times before 07:00. The manager was not around and wouldn't be, I was told, until midday! The hotel said it was a fault in the system and had never occurred before. Get up - and no hot water. This was put right in the course of the morning, but by that time it was of course too late; moreover, exactly the same thing occurred the next morning! All this happened not just to me, but all the guests. We were offered a free drink by the invisible manager. I checked out before time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Myself my mam and sister stayed for one night for Lady Gaga. Ordered a triple room which had single bed double bed and a fold up bed on the ground. My sister said she would sleep on the fold up bed that night she didn't last 10 mins on it was so uncomfortable. There was wooden lats missing going across and a metal bar sticking up from it. She complained the next morning about it and we would never complain but the room was deer and paying that amount for a fold up bed. Rooms are not sound proofed could hear doors banging and people talking loudly on corridor.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It is worth a stay at this hotel despite it being several miles from downtown Dublin. The hotel is a quick DART ride away from central Dublin but be mindful that the train schedule is not as frequent as one might expect. We never waited more than 15 minutes for a train. The hotel itself is beautiful with old charm and is quite large. Underground parking at the hotel is spacious and very accommodating to large vans (we drove a Ford Galaxy). Staff was very nice to us and room service was great. We purchased the breakfast for every morning of our trip and we thought it was delicious and well worth the money (flat rates). Rooms were nice with eco-lighting and was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. Despite being a trek from downtown it did not diminish from our stay. There are some nice pubs (Madigans at the Horse Show House) within walking distance and a Tesco a short drive away (10-15 min walk). A downside is that they only have one computer for Internet access and sometimes it does not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Room on ground floor was dated and tired. No decent shampoo or soap in bathrooms, just dispensers which seem to have the same soap for hand washing and for the shower. Some of the food is quite expensive (chicken wings in the bar are very expensive for what you get) but the crowning glory has to be the €3.20 that is charged in the bar for a 330 ml bottle of still water. I have no problem with businesses taking a margin but this seems to me to be price gouging plain and simple. On this basis alone I couldnt recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities in the Brasserie Restaurant and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.