We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient to the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge to your Saves list
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“So convenient to the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at Bewleys as it was close to the airport and they had a 24-hour shuttle bus. We arrived in Ireland at 5:30 in the morning, caught the shuttle bus and for 10 euros they let us check into one of our rooms. We had 2 rooms as our adult daughter was with us but we slept in 1 family room for a few hours. This hotel has a huge lobby with a reception, bar with tables in the lobby and an adjacent breakfast room. The family room is great for a family as it has 1 large bed, 1sleeper sofa and a single bed. We didn't need all that so we folded up the sleeper sofa. Obviously the cleaning staff doesn't ever do that because it was filthy under the sofa! Our room however was comfortable and we were rested to fly to Italy the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    489
    252
    108
    65
See reviews for
275
305
72
270
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was every comfortable
I location is excellent
The receptionist from Brazil was very helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

got a great weekend rate in the hotel.as i had heard mixed reviews i was slow to go ahead and book it.

the hotel itself is very striking. Very old school exterior, but very pleasant interior. The rooms are relatively basic, but you get what you pay for

However, for me the real winning point for this hotel is the staff. with particular reference to the bar and restaurant staff. I eat in the restaurant the first night and the bar the second, and both were excellent. As i work in the restaurant business myself, i was very surprised at the standard of food and service, considering it is a 3* hotel. Caroline (restaurant manager?) in particular stood out for me, very friendly, yet very professional in her running of the restaurant. Also, when i eat in the bar the second night, she atomically recognized me and greeted me, which is only a small point, but it made a huge difference to me

overall i was very surprised by the high standards in the hotel, I will defiantly be back, if not to sty, then to eat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

With the reasonable rates they charged for reserving th room we didn't expect such a spectacular location. In the heart of a beautiful residential neighborhood but still accessible to restaurants & public transportation. Rooms were very basic but clean & comfy. They have a full breakfast or a convenient espresso/cappuccino bar downstairs if you're in a hurry. Beautiful old school building that's lit up at night with a fountain out front----don't let the low price scare you away---this place is a steal!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

recently spent 3 days in Dublin on business but managed to get in some "pleasure" as well - impossible not to in this great city. Bewley's Hotel (one of a group) was top notch, from the moment I walked in the door until I checked out. Couldn't fault it at all; one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels I've stayed in. Big room, spotless bathroom, excellent facilities, clean and wide hallways and corridors - the whole place is kept in very good condition - and the staff are brilliant, too. The brasserie and bar are comfortable and welcoming; there's a diverse selection of beers and other drinks and the food is excellent, served quickly and with a smile! I'm definitely going back to this hotel!!

Room Tip: Higher floors get better light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The facade is wonderful with a very basic hotel hidden under that wonderful exterior. It is a typical economy hotel with cheap furnishing, paper thin walls and missing basic conveniences such as personal care items and wash clothes.

We were placed in a room near the banqueting facility so were kept awake by the bass sounds of the post wedding disco!

Food was better that their airport sister hotel as were the staff. It is a very convenient location for exploring the city with two buses just outside the door.Tthe right side of the city to stay for easy egress when headed towards the Wicklow Mountains.

Room Tip: If a weekend night ask for a room away from the banqueting facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Booked with lidl breaks. Double room for only 78 with brekkie. Perfectly fine hotel and great location. It is very busy and also busy with weddings. But the wedding venue is a separate building to hotel so we didn't hear any noise.

Ideal for concerts or a stay before holiday departure.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: Merrion Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the RDS Arena in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district and embassy belt, Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge is a beautifully restored 19th century Masonic School with presebtable gardens. With luxurious bedrooms, dining facilities in the Brasserie Restaurant and Tom's Bar the hotel is popular with guests and locals alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Moran & Bewleys Hotel Group, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bewleys Hotel Dublin
Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge
Bewleys Ballsbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.