We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first trip to ireland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George Frederic Handel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added George Frederic Handel Hotel to your Saves list
George Frederic Handel Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Fort Lee, New Jersey
1 review
“first trip to ireland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

It was my first trip to Ireland and Dublin, I had a great time staying there, staff was great, food was very good and room was nice, very close to all the main attractions, would definitely stay again when I return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    278
    84
    33
    8
See reviews for
108
191
51
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was a great central location for exploring Dublin on foot if you want. We did some walking to nearby stuff but preferred the "hop on, hop off" bus tour of the city. The hotel has no parking. If you park out front on the street, don't leave your car past 8:00 without a ticket in the windshield. We did and the car was booted (clamped in the local vernacular). We got it refunded. Ask at hotel how. Very helpful front desk personnel. Very comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Charged me more then 250 euros for one night. No air-conditioning. Not sound proof at all! Dirty towels. And dodgy interiors. Very unpleasent stay with barely no sleep. Although it was a big event and they doubled they're prices, there was absolutely NO value for it at all! I will definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very comfortable hotel within easy walking distance to the Liffey and Temple Bar among other sites. The pub next door could not be heard after 11pm. Staff very helpful and polite. The ground floor window before the bar has a dingy looking curtain that should be replaced, gives a bad first impression.

Room Tip: I will recommend this hotel to friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This hotel is excellent for visiting Dublin.Just on the edge of Temple Bar so not too noisy and in the artistic quarter.Great breakfasts and friendly staff.Lots of good places to eat and drink close by and a short walk to the centre.

Room Tip: in summer you will need aircon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Nice Room, very comfy bed and lovely staff (all smiles even at quarter past four in the morning)!!! If you come to Dublin, the George Frédéric Handel is your place to stay. I'll definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent two nights there. The hotel is in a perfect location, near Temple Bar but in a quiet street (Trinity College is 10 mins away, the National Museum 20 minutes). We could hear the bells from Christ Church at the bottom of the street, but faintly.
The staff was very nice and helpful, and stored for free our 6 pieces of luggage after we checked out.
The room was big, with a king-size bed and a couch, quiet and bright. The bathroom was spotless and big.
My only complaints are that the instant coffee provided was disgusting -but it seems to be a staple in hotels, and that there were not a lot of TV channels. The kettle was metallic and I burned my hand on it. Also, the hotel door closes after midnight and one has to knock. There's no possibility of using the room key to open it. This is understandable since the hotel is near a very busy area.

Room Tip: Ask for 310, it's the biggest on the 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Frederic Handel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Frederic Handel Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Fishamble Street | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — George Frederic Handel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Frederic Handel Hotel is located on Fishamble street in Temple bar. Although the hotel was built in 1996, it is located on one of the most historically important streets in Dublin. The site on which the hotel now stands once housed the music hall where Handel's "Messiah" was first preformed. To this day, Handel's famous work is still recited once a year right outside our front door. Our beautifully appointed 3 star hotel boasts individually appointed and upgraded rooms. All of our bedrooms are en-suite with bath and shower, flat screen 32" satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hot beverage facilities and crisp white linen. We can offer Double, Twin and Triple rooms or if you need a little more space, we can facilitate you in one of our executive doubles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your George Frederic Handel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Frederic Handel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.