We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly expensive, but good quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #48 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Slightly expensive, but good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip. 190 euros B&B - which I think is slightly pricey. It's not in the centre of town if you're a tourist, but is reasonable walking distance from the business/financial area - and is right by a tram stop for convenience.

Breakfast was good value, I thought - although I've had problems on a previous stay when it took 10mins to get a seat at a table. Not on this occasion, however - seated immediately.

I used the bar in the evening for a few drinks, some supper, and to work. Have to say I like the ambience in there - it wasn't loud or buzzy, but it was comfortable and relaxed, with sofas to curl up on. My chicken tikka masala wasn't up to much - more of a spicy tomato sauce with some chicken in it.

When I checked in I booked a 7am taxi to take me to the airport; they forgot to book it. I was not impressed by that. Fortunately, there was a free taxi outside - but it could have been very awkward...

All that said, I feel comfortable here and will stay again when in Dublin on business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Sam N

Thank you kindly for taking the opportunity to write a review regarding your recent visit to Hilton Dublin.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    457
    164
    45
    23
See reviews for
110
390
74
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Reasonably well located on the canal and next to Charlemont tram stop. About ten minutes walk from the city centre. Rooms are perfectly adequate Breakfast is pretty good - the usual full Irish. hotel service is good. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear stallion20000,

Thank you kindly for taking the opportunity to write a review regarding your recent visit to Hilton Dublin.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel on business and pleasure on numerous occasions,and the hotel maintains its very high standards.
The breakfast in this hotel is absolutely amazing,have stayed in other Hiltons and other group hotels,and this is the best ever.
Back again for pleasure over the new year,and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear DVD1302,

Thank you kindly for taking the opportunity to write a review regarding your recent visit to Hilton Dublin.

We are delighted to hear that you had a great visit to our hotel and Dublin.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this Hilton a number of times this summer and indeed over the years. As Hilton Honor Diamonds members we stay in Hiltons all over the world. I always thought the Hilton Dublin to be pretty much what you expect from a Hilton in terms of standard. I stayed 2 weeks ago for a night and was treated well. The next time was such a contrast. It likely was to do with the way I was checked in - very poor. Maybe because of the Diamond status the receptionist felt I didn't need any information but every hotel is different in terms of breakfast times etc. I asked as always for a quiet room opposite side to Luas and was told I had been accommodated but hadn't thus woken at 5am. A problem with the room was dealt with reasonably quickly. Amenities for Diamonds were promised and were slow to come - later I found the staff member like me couldn't get into the room as the lock appeared jammed. The welcome letter said we are providing you a list of items as a valued guest then didn't provide all that the list had stated.

Breakfast is quite good here.

Some nights the rates in this hotel are much more than the 5 star Conrad other nights the Hilton is a very low rate. I wouldn't pay high for this hotel.

It was just one small issue after another which combined really tarnished the stay. There is now such a choice of Hilton brand hotels in Dublin. I will likely go elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Elizabeth7,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Hilton Dublin. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback I can assure you that your comments have been shared with our management team for review.

Yours sincerely,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Charlemont Place is on the Little Canal with a lovely promenade walkway. Short walk to St. Stephen's park in downtown Dublin. Great place to relax and take in nature with gazebo on the lake. Forgot my extension cord for my tablet, cam back from tour one week later and they had waiting for me on my return trip. Amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Nats_Comments,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

We thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us .

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for about 2 weeks. Very centrally located, Luas green line is just in front of hotel and 2 stops from here will take you to St stephens green which is Center of Dublin.
Also, you have Rathmines and Ranelagh village in walking distance where you have lot of restaurants and shopping places.
Staff is nice and helpful

Room Tip: best room can be high floor facing canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise C, Hotel Administrator at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear NirmalAgarwal

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

Many thanks for your feedback we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Dublin again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great business or leisure hotel with excellent city location on the canal. Great food and easy walking distance to many city centre attractions. Very Friendly and professional staff. I stay here every week for a night, sometimes 2 x nights over the past 3 years and I can safely say the standards are maintained to the highest level.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.