We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Templepatrick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here after a rugby match at the Aviva

Great rooms, great service and the usual huge Hilton breakfast!

Handy for the Aviva and right beside the Luas tram - 7 euro return for 2 to St Stephens Green and it takes less than 5 mins!

We stayed with an offer from expedia but it was great value for money!

Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HD, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Colin M,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you had a great experience in our hotel and that you in enjoyed our Hilton Breakfast we very much appreciate your feedback. Thank you for mentioning our location and close proximity to the Aviva stadium and the Luas line.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    459
    164
    45
    23
See reviews for
111
390
74
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I use this hotel for business quite frequently. Ideal location on the canal beside the tram stop. Rooms are nice and comfortable with little or no noise to be heard from outside. Breakfast is good as is barfood. Service is always excellent. Wifi is extra which I don't agree with at all.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HD, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear GarethK123,

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leaving a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you stay with us at Hilton Dublin frequently and that our location is very convenient to you. I am glad to hear that you find our rooms quiet and comfortable.

We are happy that you are enjoying our Hilton Breakfast and Bar food. As you stay frequently at the hotel if there is something that you may like that is not on the menu please do not hesitate to make a member of the team aware who will be able to check with the chef and we will try our best to accommodate any meal which you may like to have.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Dublin.

Kind Regards

Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a trip to Dublin staying at the Hilton (27-29th Decemeber 2012). We arrived about 2pm and even though we arrived early, the staff at reception offered us our room early as he could see we were tierd from travelling all morning. We were shown to our room. The room was amazing. Clean, duck feathered pillows, complementry drinks and magazines. We got ready and went down to reception. We asked for directions and the receptionist wrote them down for us and wrote down a taxi number just in case.
The hotel is close to the city centre, about a 15 minute walk. After midnight the doors are locked but there is staff on reception to make sure you get in. They also ask for your name and room number when they open the doors which I was pleased about as it shows the secruity is high.
The staff are amazing, more than helpful, they always made sure we were looked after and I can't wait until we come back. A 21st birthday present I won't forget!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent weekend stay in Dublin with an excellent location.

Hotel was very clean, comfortable and well maintained, the staff were always happy to assist with any queries and indeed provide information. The breakfast as usual was to a high standard with an excellent choice. I would strong recommend the granola and berry compote it was delicious.

The hotel room was spacious with an excellent air conditioning system, well maintained and clean and comfortable.

The hotel is situation a few minutes walk from Harcourt Street where Diceys is a good pub to go, its circa of 10 minutes walk to Grafton Street and as the Leus tram system is on your doorstep this hotel is good value within an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really nice hotel in a fab location. Easy walk into Dublin city centre, but far out enough to be quiet. quality of room, staff etc all fantastic. Extra touches like fruit and wine in the room too! Also, things like Skysports as standard in the room, and a great bar with separate restaurant. Would recommend this hotel highly

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HD, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Shaun

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted that you had thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed the skysports package in the bedrooms . Thank you for mentioning our bar and restaurant we are happy to hear that you had time to experience both whilst staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

First, don't believe the negative reviews for this place. I was originally put off by them and almost didn't stay, but decided to give it a chance. This place was terrific - it was very, very clean from the rooms to the lobby and bar. its also surprisingly quite for being in a relatively busy area - I never heard cars or the train (Luas) or other people in the hall with door slamming. I spent 108 days in hotels last year and this was definitely one of the nicer places. Even though it's a Hilton, it didn't feel like a big Hilton - it was something like a boutique hotel. This was a nice experience.

They serve a very good breakfast buffet with traditional English/Irish food, but also tons of cereal, a huge selection of rolls/biscuits and cheese and smoked fish. I found the buffet to be a great way to start the day.

The location is good - it's not in central Dublin, but the city is very compact. I was able to walk to just about everything within 20 minutes.
Temple Bar - 20
Grafton Street - 15
St. Patrick's - 20
Jameson Distillery - 25

When I didn't want to walk, I was able to take the Luas - it was directly across the street from the hotel. It was 1.60 euros and two stops from the Grafton Street and Temple Bar area - saved 10 minutes of walking at least.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HD, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that it was a return visit to our hotel, we are thrilled that you had decided to come back to stay with us and that you had an even better visit this time.
Thank you for mentioning the tram line outside of the hotel I am happy to here that it was so convenient to you. I am thrilled to hear your kind comments regarding our reception team your comments have been forwarded onto the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in 2001 and quite a lot had changed since. But the hotel is wearing well and the rooms are of a good standard. When we cam before it seemed a bit of a walk to St Stephen's Green, although it's only about ten to fifteen minutes, really. But now there's a brand new tram system and a stop right outside the hotel. You can zoom your way to Stephen's Green or to the out-of-town designer mall at Dundrum, replete with Harvey Nicks, dontchaknow?

We got a great deal through British Airways, at £75 per room per night for a King-Sized room. They provided free chocolates, wine, robes and water for that price, but it was January. Perhaps it costs more during the week, or when the weather is warmer!

Service at reception was very good: charming, knowledgable and efficient. They all knew the local area and the sort of places we' were looking to eat.

A very pleasant hotel, which we'd happily recommend.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have much of a view, so probably best to focus on getting a King Size so you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations_HD, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear BSFord

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and pleasant. I was particularly delighted to hear that you had really enjoyed our Hilton Breakfast. Also thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotels location, we were delighted to see you found it so convenient to visit the local attractions. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Louise Coyne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.