We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #50 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently stayed here for 1 night. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of the town, although you can easily take a taxi too. The staff were very friendly and helpful when arranging taxis for our large group. I was allocated a lovely room overlooking the courtyard. However, I could not get to sleep as there was an event taking place below my room and all I could hear was the constant thudding of music. I didn't have breakfast as it wasn't included in my rate, but others in the party said it was good. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    437
    155
    43
    22
See reviews for
105
374
73
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay in this hotel. I am a hilton regular, so a trip so see a show at the Grand Canal Theatre was enough to justify the stay. The staff were all very welcoming, and we enjoyed an upgrade - so we had adjoining rooms, a king size and a twin. Room very good, clean and fully equipped with everything you need, including mini bar and incredibly sky sports on the telly! Had a meal in the bar, which was grand - although I thought the menu was rather limited, and it was pricey, but justifiable. Breakfast was excellent as it tends to be in most Hiltons. The hotel was fully booked, but the staff were able to cope.

We are already planning our next theatre trip to Dublin, and this hotel is likely to be where we shall stay.

Thanks

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Hilton is in a reasonable location within walking distance to most tourist locations. We arrived at the Hilton after the flight from the U.S. at around 6:30AM. Perhaps it was due to the time of day, but check-in was relatively poorly handled. No mention of Diamond status and no mention of complimentary breakfast. However, we were very pleased to be able to check into our room by 7:30 AM … this was really good.

We had stressed our desire for a quiet room, but were surprised to be looking down on a urban train track. That said, the train was really not a major bother and was very quiet.

Breakfast was good.

Lounge/bar area is very nice and well-staffed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Nice rooms with great bedding and a superb breakfast.
The hotel is situated on the canal so take a walk along the tow path - look out for the sitting statue!
Note - Tuesday night - free drinks and nibbles in the bar from 6pm to 7pm for Hilton Honours Members

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is located just along the canal which was really nice and refreshing while walking to the office in the mornings. The service staff were helpful, and my room was nice and spacious! The breakfast was great, though I could have done with some variety after eating the same things for a week.

It is 1 tram stop away from the heart of Dublin, and the tram stop is conveniently located just outside of the hotel. So it is close to the action, but far enough to avoid the noise. Great place and will return again if I am in Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Fredpan
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the rooms and the team. I was thrilled to see that you enjoyed the short walk to work. Please feel free to ask for anything you would like at breakfast. We have a variety of eggs on offer and a choice of the a la carte menu also.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here twice in October. It's a nice hotel in a good location right next to the LUAS, But the main reason I booked this hotel was to get extra air miles which have not been added to my account. The breakfast is fantastic one of the best I have come accross and well worth the extra when booking. The rooms are clean and bar food is good. but we ordered ice cream and it took over 20 min to come out so i cancalled it, so they took my drink off the bill to say sorry, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Hattrickmadden
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to sample the Hilton Breakfast. Thank you for also mentioning our central location. Please accept my apologies for any delay in the bar, I was happy to see the staff took care of you at the time.
As I do not have your details I cannot check your air miles but please feel free to contact Hilton Honors and they should rectify this as soon as possible.
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went on "Blind Faith" when choosing this hotel and what a great choice! We arrived early and they allowed us to checkin immediately. Nice touch since we had just completed our twenty hour trip from the western US. Every employee we encountered was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was exceptional by comparison with other hotels; food in the bar was also very good. With the luas just across the street, getting to St. Stephen's Green was easy and quick. Great staff, great location, great hotel. We are planning to stay there again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Pam2011_11
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you got to check in early. We do try to have early check in especially for our US guests.
I am delighted to see you got to sample the Hilton Breakfast and thank you for mentioning our central location. The team send their thanks for your lovely review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin and to our Hotel.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.