We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night when going to see Lady Gaga. Checkin was very easy, and the staff at checkin were very friendly and helpful.

The room was lovely. Very spacious and modern. Their was a mini fridge (although the items were very expensive), a sofa, a TV, alarm clock and a safe. Their were also tea and coffee making facilities and an iron and ironing board. The bathroom was nice; shower gel etc was provided. The rooms were absolutely gorgeous and very clean.

I have to say thank you to the member of staff in the bar who gave us directions to the Aviva stadium and suggested were was nice to eat and drink; the food and drink was a little overpriced in the hotel but this was to be expected as its southern Ireland. 2 pints in the hotel bar cost €10.90 - but this was average compered to other placed around the area.

Breakfast was lovely. Plenty of food and drink to choose from. One negative aspect was the staff - they were a little clueless and didn't seem to have much personality or customer service skills; but nothing major.

This hotel is also around a 20 minute walk to the city centre.

All in all, I would give this hotel 9/10. Good staff, good location, great rooms. I would recommend staying here - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear rcampbell2010

Thank you kindly for leaving such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you choose the Hilton Dublin for its proximity to the Aviva stadium and hope you enjoyed the concert.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the rooms and facilities. The team send their thanks also for your lovely review of the bar staff.
I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin the next time you are in Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    458
    164
    45
    23
See reviews for
110
390
74
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

A great hotel, excellent clean room and a great Hilton breakfast as always - really delicious.

The room overlooked the tram line but there was no noise at all thanks to tripple glazing...

The hotel is in a not so nice area - not great after dark and quite a walk from central Dublin if you like walking everywhere like we do - there is a tram stop nearby though going into town.

All in all a lovely hotel - can't fault the room or the amazing hilton breakfast - but location was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear culture_vulture_15

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely response on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room peaceful, we are delighted with the difference the triple glazing in the rooms has made.

I am sorry that the location did not suit on this occasion. We do have another route from the hotel that brings you to Stephens Green in less than 10 minutes and as mentioned we have the tram outside the door.

I do hope you choose to stay at the Hilton Dublin in the future.

Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Visit Dublin quite often on business and pleasure. First time at Hilton on pleasure trip and its was great! Great welcome at reception,room large and spotless. Great breakfast,friendly staff. all in all can't fault the hotel, and have booked for new year!!
Will definitely use in future on business trips.
Would recommend a visit to all.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking canal on third floor,really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear DVD1302
Thank you kindly for leaving such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with and thank you for your lovely feedback and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you in the New Year.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were at the Dublin Hilton from September 3 through September 10. I thought it was a really nice hotel. We were treated fabulously by the entire staff. Our rate included breakfast every day. Though we were not big breakfast eaters, they seem to have everything starting with coffee, tea and juice to eggs smoked meats, some great cereal and lots of pastry. I found the bed and their pillows very comfortable.

Localation is not pefect as it is around a 15 minute pleasant work into the heart of Dublin or you can take the tram (1.6 euro) which stops right in front of the hotel.

Special thanks to Lisa who suggested walking across the canel about 5 minutes into the village of Ranelagh where there are a bunch of restaurants. We ate there 5 nights. I loved the French restaurant the best.

Special thanks to Judy for getting our boarding passes printed.

Both my wife and I were more than satisfied as the Dublin Hilton exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle of the hotel so we were away from where the Tram passes
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear BruceM
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to you see your wife and yourself enjoyed your stay with us. The team were thrilled with your feedback. Thank you both also for your lovely feedback of both Lisa and Judy, the girls both send their thanks.
I am glad to see you got to experience some of the delights that Ranelagh has to offer.
We would be delighted to welcome you both back to the Hilton Dublin
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times when unable to book my preferred Fitzwilliam Hotel.
Rooms are good with nice Peter Roth products.Room service and bar menu are more extensive and cheaper than the main restaurant; also restaurant portions are small especially when ordering steak.
Location is by the canal, but a good 10 minute walk to St Stephens Green.
Room was expensive at 255 Euro per night, but the breakfast buffet is good.
Beds are quite hard. As a Hilton Honours member I received complimentary internet and fruit.
Staff are friendly and normally efficient, but overall there are better places to stay in Dublin for the price.

Room Tip: Club floor 3 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Hotelaholic63
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to see you choose the Hilton Dublin to stay. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the rooms and amenities.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the restaurant. We have recently launched a new restaurant menu and room service menu to enhance the customers experience and provide value for money. I do hope you return to the Hotel to try it.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback, we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We landed at 730 AM and were amazed our room was available that early! Staff was wonderful, and sent amazing homemade granola bars to our room! They also gave us great advice on places to eat in Trinity Bar... We stayed a total of 3 nights, had great breakfasts every day and would stay there again!

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from train if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Annette P
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to you enjoyed your stay with us. I was especially delighted to see you got an early check in, we do try to have as many rooms ready for our overseas guests as we know how long the flights can be. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the team. They send their thanks.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton on your return to Ireland.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is in a prime location for accessing everything Dublin has to offer. It's right on the canal, has easy access to the Luas Green Line as well as Dublin buses, and you can walk most places in a reasonable amount of time.

The rooms are good sized and have all the standard amenities. We arrived too early to check in but they stored our bags while we explored the city. Upon return we found a bottle of wine and a snack tray in our room with best wishes for our birthdays. My friend and I had forgotten we'd mentioned we were celebrating our birthdays to the woman who checked in our luggage, and were impressed that she had gone that extra mile to provide us with such a nice surprise.

The breakfast buffet is generous in size and variety; though they did open a bit late. We sort of snuck in one morning shortly after 7 am as we were taking a day tour that left around 8 am. Although most of the breakfast items were already out, they claimed they didn't open until 7:30 am. Since no one was around when we arrived, we helped ourselves to breakfast, probably to the consternation of staff, though they did not show it. The staff at the hotel were always friendly and helpful.

The bathrooms have nice large towels and face cloths, the latter of which can be optional in some hotels. My only complaint would be the lack of top sheets on the bed. I called to housekeeping twice to ask for extra sheets but they didn't appear until the last day (of a 3 night stay), and likely only because my friend had started filling out the comment card and had left it (face down) in the room while we were out for the day.

They also do not have free internet in the rooms, but I believe you can get free WI-FI in the common areas. Fortunately, I had my own mobile broadband USB stick.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Celtic Wandering
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location suitable to your needs. Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthdays the team were delighted you enjoyed it. Our breakfast buffet is open from 7 am and I have highlighted your feedback to the Food and Beverage Manager for review.
My apologies for any delay in service to your room, we do not expect any guest to wait for any needs they may have.
I hope you will consider us on your next trip to Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.