We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend in the Dublin Hilton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #49 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Dalkeith
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long Weekend in the Dublin Hilton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

The Aircoach which costs 7 euros drops you off at Leeson Street Bridge and there's a fair walk with luggage along the canal towpath to the hotel.
Reception and conscierge staff were very pleasant but a word of warning - If you are offered a room in the refurbished wing beware- it probably overlooks the tram lines at the side and rear of the hotel. Without the anaesthetic influence of the Guiness you won't get a lot of sleep.
We never ate in the hotel, preferring to eat out, so can't comment on the meals,
The rooms do not have a safe, a fridge or a mini-bar.
Casual walk into St Stephen's Green takes approx 20 minutes.
We took a taxi back to the Airport . This cost 30 euros and took about 45 minutes.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    459
    164
    45
    23
See reviews for
111
390
74
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

Stayed at the Hilton Dublin and what a pleasurable experience it was. Very helpful and pleasant staff. My sister has a gluten intolerance and the staff went out of their way to accommodate her. Room was very comfortable and clean. Hotel situated in a nice, quiet cul de sac overlooking the Grand Canal. Only around 10 minutes walk from centre. Would recommend this hotel very much.

  • Liked — Very friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2008

The stay at this Hilton was somewhat underwhelming in all honesty.

So I'll start with the good bits first. The room was in good repair and was a good size so the actual standard of accommodation was certainly passable. They also don't mind serving you drinks in the lobby late at night which is very accommodating of them. That said, there's a pub up the road which is open all hours if you don't fancy their prices.

Unfortunately that's about the sum total of the pros. Breakfast is pretty uninspired (such that on the second day I skipped it altogether) and Hilton HHonors gold members don't seem to be very well catered for either. The room overlooked the LUAS tracks so there was a continual disturbance from that. Furthermore, the hotel seemed to lack any form of ambience - it all felt a bit clinical.

The location is not as central as their website would like you to think so be prepared for a bit of a walk across town to get there. You can of course take the LUAS (tram) from St Stephens Green two stops to Charlemont which is right beside the hotel so that solves the problem there. The Aircoach from the airport stops nearby but you'll have to walk from the main road along a canal toepath to get to hotel which is a bit daft.

It wasn't a horrendous stay but certainly the other Dublin Hilton over in Kilmainham (as well as being newer) is certainly more like the standard one would expect from a Hilton.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

The Hilton Dublin is a bit far from the city centre but it is in a very good location if you need certain businesses in the area or if you want to be close to Lansdowne Road where the national football (soccer) pitch is. I actually walked from the city centre to the hotel just so that I could see how far it is and I would say that walking that distance twice a day was probably the most I could do there. The hotel is right next to the Luas tramline yet it doesn't make much noise and I didn't hear the tram at night. The hotel is very small and doesn't have a spa or anything to that nature. I found that the rooms on their website were actually better and nicer than what they show you, but are very small. I was not a big fan of their restaurant as it did not have a large selection for those who are vegetarians or have religious restrictions about what they can eat. Though the bread and butter was delicious!

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

I stayed at the Dublin Hilton for a night recently. I went to the Hotel early and was able to drop off my luggage with the concierge while I did some shopping in Dublin. I returned later just after 3 to check in, the staff at the reception were really nice and helpful i have read some reviews to the contrary but i found the staff to be helpful and very polite. The room itself was fabulous the bed was very comfortable and there were complimentary bottles of water & wine in the room & also some chocolates which was a nice touch also!! The television was a flat screen and also a HD TV which was fantastic and sky sports was also avail which I was delighted with also. The hotel may not that conveniently located if it were not for the luas which takes you all the way to St. Stephens Green (or in my case to Dundrum) it would be a bit of a walk otherwise. The breakfast the next morning was delicious & it filled me up for ages afterwards, the banner outside the door said the best breakfast in town & it would be hard to disagree with that All in all I had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Had a fabulous stay in this hotel. Although a bit further out, it is a very pleasant walk into the Grafton Street along streets lined with Georgian buildings, approx a 10-15 min walk although you can get a tram if you want. Hotel reception staff very helpful to us when we arrived after having lost our hotel confirmation, nothing was any trouble. We had also lost our flight confirmation and hotel delivered this to our room when it was faxed through. Lovely restaurant again with excellent staff. Room great, very spacious with sofa. Some super Irish people with wonderful personalities work in this hotel and this made our stay even better . Nothing was any trouble for them. Although we only just slept in the room it makes a big difference to your stay if it is comfortable. Would highly recommend this hotel

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

My review will take the form of a tip which I would strongly advise you to heed if your planning on staying here. When you book make sure that you tell the person in reservations that you will not under any circumsances accept a room which is beside the Luas Track. I stayed for one night and as I was on a work night out I didn't get to bed until 4am, only to be woken around 2.5 hrs later by the early morning Luas which passed within 2 feet of my room window. I would stay here again but never in this room or any room close to it. I think its a disgrace that they offer these rooms to the public - the 3 rooms at the front right of the hotel (I think they are probably rooms 118 , 218 and 318) should be used as store rooms or something similar as no guest could possibly enjoy a nights sleep in any of them.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Practically on the Luas track
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#44 Business Hotel in Dublin
#48 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.