We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #59 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Located approximately 15-20 minutes drive from Dublin International airport, close to the city centre.

Friendly/Helpful/polite staff are at hand at all times to assist guests. Rooms are clean and somewhat small in size. In-room amenities provided are plenty and of good quality. property is maintained very clean everywhere.

I only had breakfast in the hotel and was average in terms of choice. Hotel bar is located right in front of the lobby and was not busy at all. Loved the courtyard seating area in the middle of the hotel, which I felt was a nice touch.

Very limited number of smoking rooms are available in the hotel and this may be a challenge, if you are a smoker! (Clear warning is attached to the key card that stated a 75 euro fine for the offenders!!).

A short walk from the hotel would take you to some nice pubs around the area. Euro 10-12 taxi ride from hotel would take you to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AviatorDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear AviatorDXB

Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and found the hotel to your liking.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here, they sent their best wishes.

We have 4 smoking rooms within the hotel when are available on request at the time of booking if demand allows. I do hope this did not inconvenience you too much.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin in the very near future.

Many thanks
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is the second time I stayed there. This time it was for several nights while attending a conference. The place is clean and the staff although borderline incompetent is friendly. Many of them can barely speak English especially in the restaurant at breakfast. It is the kind of place that nickels and dimes you to death. Everything you want is additional cost. I cannot recall a specific incident or complaint, but when I left I felt that something is missing and it just was not a truly pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor if staying over the weekend. Saturday night is weddings night and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valiant10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Valiant10000
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I was delighted to see you choose the Hilton Dublin for a second time.
I apologise for any issues during this stay with us, I would be delighted to follow up with any feedback you have if you would like to contact me at the hotel.
We hope you choose to stay at the Hilton Dublin again
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Room was great

SkySports was very welcome (although it was very fuzzy!)

Breakfast good

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HantsJonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear HantsJonny
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed the room and of course the breakfast. I have passed your comments regarding the Sky Sports to our service providers.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
162 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

For better or worse, when I walked in, I was clearly in the Hilton world. The welcome and room were equivalent to most of the Hiltons I have been in while traveling in the US. Average size room, comfortable bed, clean room, reliable wireless. To me, those are the essentials. Some odd misses are absolutely no draws for storing clothes, just a small tight closet. One plus is a US-plug ready adapter on the desk. Small niceties like that go a long way. And as a Hilton Diamond, I found a plate of pear and orange in the room. Nice bar/restaurant on first floor.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear roadtravelled09
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and found visiting local attractions so easy.
I apologise for any inconvenience with your bed, I have asked our maintenance team to have a look as we wish all our guests a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel should you return to Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We had a one night stay in this hotel, it is a modern hotel. The room was a pretty standard double room with everything we needed including a decent hairdryer. The only problem we found with this room was the bed as we found it quite uncomfortable, it just seemed like it was quite worn out. Besides the bad nights sleep we did enjoy our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin as the tram stops outside which makes seeing the city very easy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtravelled09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear roadtravelled09
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed our central location and found visiting local attractions so easy.
I apologise for any inconvenience with your bed, I have asked our maintenance team to have a look as we wish all our guests a peaceful and comfortable nights sleep.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel should you be in Dublin
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Thought this hotel was nice although attention to detail in a few spots could improve a lot. Good nights sleep with friendly staff, could be more helpful at front desk.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thuntdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear thuntdub
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your feedback to the relevant manager regarding the front desk. We are always grateful to receive feedback from our guests.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night. Customer service is excellent and included a change in the night of our stay, at very short notice, without any hassle or additional charge.
Rooms are ultra modern, clean and bright and include a large widescreen tv, iron and ironing board and the usual facilities for a standard double.
Location is reasonably good with a short walk to the Harcourt Street/Camden Street area, a short 15 minute walk to the shopping areas and the Luas right at the door. An underground car park is also available.
We had a few niggles with the stay. Our room was right beside the Luas line and was on the top floor, obviously close to some plant on the roof. There was a constant hum of a fan/motor and the occasional rumble from the Luas (despite the triple glazing) which led to a patchy night's sleep for my wife who is a light sleeper.
Breakfast provided a reasonable choice in the plush Uisce restaurant but the food could have been warmer and the fried bread was like concrete.
Parking is also E10 for overnight parking. Reasonable in terms of parking in Dublin but at a room rate of E110 (approx) I think this ought to be included in the overall price.
On another day, in another room I may have rated this 5 stars, but I certainly would return and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCCo.Derry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear GCCo.Derry

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found rooms comfortable and convenient and that the location suited you so well.

I apologise for any inconvenience caused to your wife, please be assured I have had our maintenance team check on our equipment on the roof. Thank you aldo for your feedback regarding breakfast and the car park charges I have passed both to the relevant manager for review.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the futures, when we will aim to earn your five stars. I thank you for your recommendation.
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Hilton Dublin Kilmainham
Conrad Dublin
#19 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#50 Business Hotel in Dublin
#51 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#57 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street areas perfect for shopping or to enjoy a bite to eat. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Centre. Only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center, and close to the RDS and Aviva Stadium this hotel is the perfect location for business and leisure travellers alike. Enjoy a full Irish breakfast with views of the Grand Canal or indulge in a Charlemont Sandwich made from the freshest ingredients; enjoy a Fillet Steak from our Grill in our Charlemont Bar & Bistro. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour or on the Hop on hop off tour bus. Visit the Guinness Storehouse, the Jameson Distillery or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has 8 meeting rooms that can accommodate up to 2-450 people. •City Centre Location •Close proximity to Convention Centre Dublin, RDS & Aviva Stadium •Fitness Centre •Accessibility to key shopping areas such as Grafton Street and Dundrum Town Centre •Situated in the business district •8 flexible meeting rooms for up to 450 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing