We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Dublin

Save Saved
You added Hilton Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From €131
Ranked #48 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We went to Dublin in December 2012 for a pre-Christmas weekend get-away. This hotel was magnificent with luxurious, warm, elegant rooms. We spent more time in the hotel than in the city because it was so lovely! Staff were friendly and courteous. Food was scrumptious. Room service was reasonably priced, as was the bar downstairs. It was a pleasant 10-15 minute walk into the city centre. It was nice to stretch our legs in the morning. The LUAS stop is just outside the hotel, we took it once - but the walk is much pleasanter! Excellent hotel!!! And value for money.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking courtyard, its quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Jennifer S
Thank you for taking he time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay, the team were especially delighted with the review at this morning’s meeting.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the rooms and of course the team here. I am delighted to see you enjoyed the walk to the city. It is such a lovely walk on a dry day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    419
    144
    43
    21
See reviews for
93
355
71
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent - great selection and very tasty.

Bit too far out to walk to, especially with bags. 7 Euro to get taxi from St Stephen's Green or there is the tram which stops right at it.

Only downside is that it was very noisy - lots of noise from guests in other rooms, doors banging and traffic outside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Adele B
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you found the team friendly and that you enjoyed your stay and of course the Hilton Breakfast.
I am sorry to hear you may have been inconvenienced by noise. I have asked our Maintenance team to check the windows to ensure the seals are intact.
Thank you again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Dublin
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for the 6 days when were visiting Dublin and were delighted with its location. Though it's exterior leaves some doubt about it being a Hilton Hotel but the rooms are very comfortable with great linen. Staff was friendly and helpful. Located on Charlemont Place and Canal Road, the Dublin Area Rapid Transit (DART) is just outside the hotel. The LUAS station is just a few stations to Stephens Square. It also makes connections with the other city lines of the DART - Howth, Wicklow, etc.The hotel is walking distance to all shopping, especially Grafton Street, to Trinity College and all the other great historical venues in Dublin. Addicted to our morning espresso, we had breakfast in the Bar/Lounge. We did eat in the restaurant when our friends joined us one evening. The meal was okay, but we enjoyed our meals in Dublin much more. We booked our hotel through another website & were not disappointed. The hotel was a great start to our months holiday in Ireland. I have recommended this hotel to all my friends traveling to Dublin

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear jerseygirl4491
Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location so central.
Thank you for your kind words regarding the teams, they were delighted and send their thanks.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin in the near future.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

While the rooms are somewhat small, the hospitality of the staff more than makes up for this. First class service from the desk staff, bar keep(s), and housekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear ConstantTripper
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a great review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments on to the team, whjo send their thanks.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed a few times in November and December on short business trips to Dublin. Check-in and check-out is smooth, the rooms are maintained to good standards, internet is free and the breakfast is good. In short its a good business hotel that ticks the required boxes and has a good standard, but doesn't really offer anything special.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Snobs_Travel
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stays with us and found the hotel convenient.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel on your next trips to Dublin.
Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We found this Hotel easily, and were able to drive straight into the underground parking, and get the lift up to reception!.
We were welcomed by lovely reception staff (Deise - many thanks), booked into a beautiful room, and given a glass of mulled wine and mince pie - wonderful!.
The room we were given was lovely, clean and warm. The bathroom was really good, and especially the shower curtain (as mentioned before), and the accessories smelt devine!. The hotel was warm, well decorated and clean.
The breakfast was as expected - very good, as were the staff.
We walked into the Centre of Dublin along the canal, which was beautiful. About 15 minutes walk takes you in. There is a friendly pub across the road, and a 10 minute walk over the bridge takes you to interesting restaurants.
We really enjoyed our stay and definitely will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Littleoldwinedrinker
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and found our facilities so comfortable.
I have passed your kind comments to Deise, she sends her thanks and warm wishes. I am delighted also to see you sampled the delights Ranelagh has to offer, we frequently suggest to guest to try the many cafes and restaurants in this small village as there is a treat instore for everyone.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Hilton Dublin
Kind regards

Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonakilty
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We have just spent an overnight stay in the Hilton, Charlemont Place. My husband and I stayed along with another couple,for a mini break and some shopping.

From beginning to end the visit was without fault. The check in was courteous and fast. Our room was overlooking the central courtyard and was both bright and peaceful.There was everything in the room,from ironing board and iron, small safe, tea making facilities, programable heating to a very good radio alarm clock. There was a very well stocked mini bar but we managed to steer clear of that!

As another reveiwer noted, the design of the shower rail and curtains is fantastic. No more early morning attack of the shower curtain! A nice touch is the selection of magazines in the drawer and the two excellent guide books to Dublin.

For any female travelling on their own, I would recommend the Hilton, particularly because of the security. It has a well guarded underground car park, and you cannot access any accomodation floor in the hotel other than your own floor when using the lift with your room pass card. The reception staff at night were some lovely big burly gentlemen. Any lady would feel safe here.

The breakfast this morning was fantasitc, starting with the delightful staff. A wonderful choice of breakfast and the hot food was cooked in small batches so there were no congealing eggs and floppy rashers. Lovely to see my local Clonakilty pudding being used, it is the best!

We are well seasoned international travellers and our stay at the Hilton this weekend was one of our best experiences WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferDalton01, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Dublin, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear rosemaryjwilliams57
Thank you for kindly taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our rooms so comfortable.
Thank you for your kind review of our safety features in the hotel and for your recommendation.
I am delighted to see your enjoyed our Hilton Breakfast, our Head Chef Chad sources as many Irish products as possible.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Jennifer Dalton
Hotel Administrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Dublin

Address: Charlemont Place, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#36 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#53 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Dublin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the historic Grand Canal, the Hilton Dublin hotel is a 10-minute walk from the famous St. Stephen's Green area and Grafton Street and only 3 miles away from the Dublin Convention Center and the RDS Convention Center. Located on the green LUAS line, it only takes and a short tram ride to get to the fasionable Dundrum Town Center. Savor Irish beef beside the Grand Canal in the Uisce Restaurant or enjoy a sandwich and a Guinness in the Stil. Enjoy a workout in our state-of the-art Fitness by Precor Gym then see Dublin's attractions on a Viking Splash Tour. Visit the Guinness Storehouse or explore the city's literary history at the Dublin Writers' Museum. Choose from Hilton Guest Rooms, Family Guest Rooms or stylish Deluxe Rooms. All rooms have wireless internet access. The hotel has a business center with 4 meeting rooms can accommodate 2-400 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Dublin Hotel Dublin
Hilton International Dublin
Dublin Hilton International
Dublin Hilton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.