We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ripley Court Hotel to your Saves list
Ripley Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff were very efficient and helpful. Especially the gentleman who sorted out our tv. Would highly recommend this hotel. As we we up to a concert we needed somewhere close to the O2 that was great value and Ripley Court was both.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    301
    184
    52
    41
See reviews for
91
236
47
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is in a great location near to O'Connell Street and Temple Bar. The reception/lobby area was very nice as were the corridors. We thought we had made a good choice of hotel until we saw the room. The carpet was very badly stained as was the valance sheet. Went to open the window as the room smelt strongly of paint to find the net curtain covered in blood and cigarette burns and the view was a yard filled with rubbish. We kept the curtains closed for our stay and tried to ignore it. We didn't sleep well as other guests rolling in drunk kept us awake at all hours. There were no toiletries provided (save for a handwash dispenser) despite it being stipulated in the booking confirmation that toiletries were included. Breakfast was good and the staff were really nice but I'm afraid the state of the room let the hotel down. Not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went away with a few others for a boozy trip to Ireland, never been so we wanted somewhere cheap and a good distance from the bars. This hotel did just that, although the rooms were a bit old, they did everything we could have asked for and had a comfortable sleep. £50 for 2 nights I would happily pay again.. My only warning is Dublin's drinks prices. Paid £20 for half a lager and double vodka and coke. But the people made up for the bad drink prices.. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Ripley is a Hotel trading on the past. My Party checked in after a long trip from Hamburg hoping to rest comfortably & enjoy god old Irish hospitality. After all The photographs on the web suggested that. Alas The bar was shut when we arrived and this is 7pm in Dublin!! It looked as if it wasn't about to open soon either so we sort a drink & food elsewhere, no choice really. The rooms were dowdy and the bathrooms and more tiles missing than were on it. I would be surprised if this hotel stays in business, it looks to be on its last legs. Beware!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We used this hotel for a lads weekend, for the money we paid it was great. nice location easy walk to temple bar. Breakfast was fair enough got you over the guinness the night before. what more do you want for a boozy weekend with the lads.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel room was very comfortable and in good location it was only 5mins from o'connell street and 15mins walk to Temple Bar.. Had a lovely stay and good nights sleep no noise we stayed in room 213. The wifi only worked in main reception area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night to go see ed sheeran in Dublin. The hotel has a small front and was a bit tricky to find as I have never driven in Dublin city before but once we got there all was good. We had to pay an extra 10 euro for parking which I think is a bit unfair but we got over it because it was so central. Right in the middle of town and easy to get around was the best bit about this hotel. Room was big and clean only a little old fashioned. Bed was comfy and we got a great nights sleep and even checked out an hour later with no trouble. The other downside was there was no food in the hotel or in the bar when we arrived at half five so we chose to eat out a lovely Italien the receptionist recommended down the road. Overall happy with the hotel, nothing luxurious just a handy place to rest the head for the night!

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.