We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was worried as some reviews were not that good!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ripley Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ripley Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ripley Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Was worried as some reviews were not that good!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel room was very comfortable and in good location it was only 5mins from o'connell street and 15mins walk to Temple Bar.. Had a lovely stay and good nights sleep no noise we stayed in room 213. The wifi only worked in main reception area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    258
    134
    41
    34
See reviews for
73
187
43
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night to go see ed sheeran in Dublin. The hotel has a small front and was a bit tricky to find as I have never driven in Dublin city before but once we got there all was good. We had to pay an extra 10 euro for parking which I think is a bit unfair but we got over it because it was so central. Right in the middle of town and easy to get around was the best bit about this hotel. Room was big and clean only a little old fashioned. Bed was comfy and we got a great nights sleep and even checked out an hour later with no trouble. The other downside was there was no food in the hotel or in the bar when we arrived at half five so we chose to eat out a lovely Italien the receptionist recommended down the road. Overall happy with the hotel, nothing luxurious just a handy place to rest the head for the night!

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

There are a number of benefits to the Ripley Court's location on Talbot Street. It is right beside Conolly Station and 5 mins walk from the Spire, O'Connell Street. Talbot Street is a bit grotty but the price of the hotel is one of the most competitive in the city and though it is fairly basic, the hotel has everything you need. It is quieter than Temple Bar and fewer tourists.

The average double room is clean and pleasant with a Queen bed, TV, plenty of sockets (important!), wardrobe with safe, bedside units, table, luggage rack, tea&coffee facilities and hairdryer. Bathroom is small but has a shower with good water pressure and heat. There is an all-purpose soap dispenser in the shower but if you have a particular regime, bring your own toiletries.

I find this hotel adequate for my business stays and it is nice and quiet midweek. Staff are always friendly and there is security on door which always makes me feel secure in staying there. The breakfast is alright but I tend to go to the top of Talbot Street to the Kylemore which does an Irish breakfast for 5.95 with coffee and toast.

If you are on a holiday with a budget and want somewhere inexpensive to get the most out of an East Coast Irish trip, I would recommend this hotel. It's a 10 min walk from Temple Bar, 5 mins from O'Connell Street where the airport bus picks up and drops off. It is literally 2 mins walk from Connolly Station so if you're planning to take in Belfast during your trip, hop on the Enterprise and you'll be in the Northern Athens within 2 hours.

There is WiFi but staff tell you that it is only reliable in reception.

Room Tip: I generally stay in a room at the end of a corridor if I can. This is quieter. The walls between roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

stayed at the riley from the 18th to the 20th of january 2013 and only just recovered from this amazing city!!

hotel didnt look fantastic from outside when we arrived but dont let that put you off, the hotel is only 20 euros in a taxi so not much if there's a few of you. The receptionists are lovely and will do anything to meet your requirements about a 10 minute walk from temple bar or 7 euros in a taxi (well worth it if its raining)
there was 10 of us in this hotel spread out through 3 rooms and all rooms were clean and comfortable.
the bar was only open in the evening but being honest theres hundreds of shops pubs bars resturants within a stones throw.

overall amazing quality and value get it booked!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location right on Talbot St. The bus from the airport drops you off across the street from the hotel. To get back to the airport it is a short walk to Busarus, the main bus station. The Luas or tram line is close by, as are several buses.
Talbot St. is a shopping street with many grocery stores and pubs within a short walk. You can find anything you need right outside your door. I had a big bag of laundry done across the street for 8 Euros.
The staff are friendly and helpful. There is excellent wifi in the lobby and comfy couches and a power bar are provided.
We had an early flight so our rooms were not ready when we arrived. We put our luggage in the storage room which is right beside the check in.
If this hotel falls down on anything, it is maintenance. There were several lights burned out in the hallway which were never fixed in our 6 night stay. A safe in one of the rooms never worked. We had to change rooms at one point and the safe in our new room was missing its battery. Luckily we were able to go back to our old room and get the battery from that safe. The toilet in our first room was not properly bolted to the floor so we changed to another room just down the hall. It was larger so that was fine. The staff worked hard to keep our two rooms side by side.
The housekeeping was very good. We only tried the restaurant once but my husband got a cup of coffee which he said was the worst that he has ever had. Other guests that I spoke to said that the breakfast was very good.
There are two excellent pubs just down the street to have wonderful meals in the 10 Euro range. They are the Celt and O'Shea's.
Even with a few minor problems I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel. The view was awful but it was probably quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

handy location ,stayed in the honeymoon suite and had a after registry office wedding meal here with sme family and friends . they knew were coming for food and the were to have a menu just for guests to browse what the wanted . they gave menus out with the prices on having they guest think they had to pay for there own food . the bar wasnt open even thoughing they were expecting us .. turned out all right in the end .. my advice ..just use it as a base .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The bright red facade made this hotel easy to spot. We appreciated the friendly reception staff, free wi-fi in the lounge, and baggage storage area, as well as the comfortable rooms. Front-door security staff doubled as "tourism information officer" with a smile when we asked him for directions. The hotel is a 10-minute walk across the river from Temple Bar and the shopping areas, and airport shuttle and hop on/hop off bus stops are just around the corner, so we couldn't have been more pleased with the location; it was much quieter than hotels over in Temple Bar itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ripley Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ripley Court Hotel

Address: 37 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ripley Court Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ripley Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ripley Court Dublin
Hotel Ripley Court
Ripley Court Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ripley Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.