We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at St George” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. George to your Saves list
Hotel St. George
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay at St George”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned home from our stay at St George Hotel. The staff were all really helpful and we received great service from the minute we arrived until we left. We had a room overlooking the car park at the back of the hotel which we found to be quiet enough. The room was very comfortable and was definitely worth the money we paid. The room was cleaned each day and towels etc replaced with clean ones. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurts as well as a hot breakfast menu. This hotel was in a great location within close walking distance to the centre. We will definitely be returning to this hotel the next time we visit Dublin. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for somewhere quiet in the centre of Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    114
    70
    23
    13
See reviews for
44
108
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The whole experience with this hotel from start to finish was horrific. The staff were unfriendly and the room I booked was not the same room that was offered to us on arrival. no other options were offered. In addition there was no parking offered even though I had rang up and was told there was 'ample' parking which there wasn't. The room was unsatisfactory having to take a lift and then carry our heavy luggage up two flights of stairs after the lift. There wasn't one member of staff on hand to help us with our heavy luggage. The room wasn't particularly clean and the décor was very dated. NOTHING that was offered online was the same. I would not mind but we paid a considerable price for this room for a one night stay.The atmosphere was morbid and I will never be returning to this hotel again. I'm a totally dissatisfied customer.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Brilliant value for money and an excellent location for exploring the city. Close to the centre, shops, restaurants and bus stops to all the attractions and city tours. Clean, basic rooms with a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: We were lucky and had a room at the back, but I would imagine that rooms at the front may be noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, RI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We especially loved the location of this hotel. It included parking and breakfast. It was an easy walk to any location in Dublin. It wasn't the fanciest hotel but just perfect for someone who wants a room in an excellent location.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We traveled for almost thirty hours from Australia but even in our desperately tired state, we could not sleep in the room we were given, right next to the main drag. The next morning, haggard and jet-lagged, we begged for another room and this was done, but not graciously. Both rooms were small and shabby, with tiny bathrooms and few facilities. The location at the top of O'Connell St is the only thing to recommend. We hired a car as we were leaving Dublin, but just the ten minutes it took to retrieve our cases and load them into the car showed us that the parking facilities are a nightmare, This hotel is to be avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid any room starting with a "3" because they are right at the front of the building, fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We arrived before breakfast had finished and were able to go to the Breakfast Room which was messy and busy and tired( like us after our early flight from the U.K.) We had an acceptable breakfast although only white toast and soda bread were provided to go with it.
The bar is small with a limited range of drinks however the seating is comfy .There was not always anyone on reception and not a lot of 'fuss' Having said all that-the bedroom we had was lovely with an enormous bed with lovely linen, a new bathroom with really hot water and basic toiletries but no shower cap.Bath towels on the small side but changed daily.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of the heart of the city and has a bus from the airport stopping a few yards away-just an ordinary double decker.2.80 euros each way-a bargain.Location great but a bit pricey in comparison with a package deal including flight.Would recommend if cost not paramount,

Room Tip: We had 501a good size with two armchairsand a small table plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. We had a slight problem with car parking as the car park was full, but they made sure that we had a space the next morning. Staff were very friendly and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel St. George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. George

Address: 7 Parnell Square, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. George 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. George is a three star property, within walking distance of the Abbey & Gate theatres, the Municipal Art Gallery, Dublin's Writers museum, the James Joyce Cultural Centre. For those who would like to experience Dublins night life we are only a short walk fron Temple Bar. Close enough to walk but without the noise. Hotel St George is the ideal location for tourists and corporate clients with world class Restaurants, Pubs and Clubs right on the doorstep. The Hotel St George is renowned for its friendly service so if you do stay please don't be afraid to ask for help with anything if we can help we will and excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel St. George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.