We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Hotel Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Regency Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
The Regency Hotel Dublin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for the weekend and when we got to our room it had clearly been neglected, dodgy paint jobs, old sheets, and even a painting that had been screwed on upside down. We decided to have a carvery from the bar, the roasties were uncooked and the rest generally poor. The noise on the night was a pain we got in at 4 but there were obviously kids up all night till about 8 so we were pretty sick by this point. We decided to go to the leisure centre which was the only plus side of the hotel tbh.. Little bit of a let down that the rubbish that was in the sauna and on pool side was still there when we retuned the next day so it had clearly not been cleaned. The second night the noise continued, staff finally intervened around 5 o clock . Could do with alot of maintenance and some decent duvets instead of hospital blankets. Would not return or recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    233
    223
    162
    197
See reviews for
180
301
50
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here because it was cheap and convenient.
Rooms were awful. We changed from a really really bad room to a really bad room. Outdated and small. Broken tiles, old beds, shoddy furniture. It looks like a hotel that has been bombed and they are still letting people stay in it. Breakfast was not included.
I would never stay here again. THe rooms were just horrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in Jan 2013 and we are still laughing about the place. It was just terrible. When we checked in first there was a person complaining to the lady at the reception desk but I thought nothing of it. Walking to our room, it was like the corridors were getting smaller and smaller and it was freezing! We went down to the bar which was quiet dirty. I was afraid to sit on the seats..... no joke! I had booked my husband in for a treatment and he sat waiting for almost as hour in the spa, there was a women in front of him who had been waiting double that for her treatment, no one came out to them. My husband ended up leaving without the treatment and when I complained to the receptionist she didn't really car. I have to say it was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. The only good thing I have to say about the place is the rooms were a good size.... that’s it.

Room Tip: just dont stay here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for O2 package, asked and got a free room upgrade, rooms good standard, 3 course meal included, enjoyable, leisure centre lovely, free transfers to and from O2 priceless, staff mostly lovely, breakfast good, overall for the money a fantastic deal, not 5 star luxury but then I paid so little I couldn't complain at all. Great night away

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Have to agree with previous poster. As a returning visitor I was terribly disappointed by the fall in standards. A hotel that once had a lovely tradition and warm welcome has become cold and tired. The reception area is bright and modern but the corridors are shabby and worn. The breakfast tables were not set and the guests had to get their own cutlery, napkins, glasses and cups etc. The quality of the cooked breakfast was fine. Tea and coffee were self-served from big pots. The room was clean and the more expensive executive room was nicely decorated. The hotel is excellently located, on the bus route to airport and city centre. Parking is charged and according to the signs is 10 euro for 24 hrs payable at a machine in the hotel lobby. Such a pity is seems to have lost what we enjoyed about staying there in the past.

Room Tip: Executive room - more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the regency overnight on 16th Feb as part of their one night spa deal. The deal was very reasonable and 8 of us booked. Another decided to join our party and rang to change the booking. She was told that her spa treatment could be booked on arrival even though the others had already booked. When we arrived they had no record of her booking and she was told there was no chance of booking a treatment that day. Some of our party had to wait a few hours for their rooms. The spa was understaffed and working on a first come first served basis, regardless of bookings. The dinner that evening was a disaster. Three of our party are vegetarian and were handed an enormous bowl of overcooked pasta which consisted of the leftover vegetables from the kitchen that are not usually part of a pasta dish e.g. Chickpeas and olives. The bedrooms were clean and quite nice and the entertainment in the bar was enjoyable. Breakfast next morning was another disaster. They were extremely short staffed and guests even had to collect their own cutlery. The queue for cooked breakfast, including toast, was extremely long. The full Irish breakfast included cocktail sausages and all food was cold. The continental breakfast was a limited choice of cereal, tinned fruit and wheaten bread. Tea and coffee were again self service but came in large flasks. On the whole, as returning guests, we were very disappointed with how the standard in the hotel has fallen and I would be reluctant to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEIXLIP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sat. 23rd Feb., 2013 was a fantastic, memorable night at the Regency. It was the occasion of the Donegal Person of the Year Annual Ball. This year the honour of being the Donegal person of the year was awarded to the Manager of the Donegal Gaelic Football team - Jim Mc Guinness. In Sept., 2012 Jim's team won the All Ireland Football Final bringing the coveted Sam Maguire Cup back to Donegal, bringing honour, pride and hope to beautiful Donegal! A lovely dinner was served to all the 800 guests. There was a very good choice courses and was finished off with mints and petit fours - a meal enjoyed by all. Mary B and her band from Donegal entertained us superbly and everyone danced the night away! The Mc Gettigan family who own the hotel looked after everyone so well. We spent the night in the hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable, lovely and clean with plenty of soft, white fluffy towels supplied.
Our breakfast the next morning didn't disappoint either. A great selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts and the full Irish breakfast etc. was second to none. Afterwards there was a group playing music in the lounge which was enjoyed by all of us, who were a bit bleary eyed after the very late night before!! As usual Martin Mc Gettigan was making sure everyone was having a good time and was looking after us extremely well. What a hospitable and welcoming experience! All the staff are so helpful and friendly. If you need a place to stay in Dublin ( it's within easy reach of Dublin airport too) look no further - their room rates are very competitive. We will be making a return visit there soon - a home from home. Check it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new O2 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.