We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Regency Hotel Dublin

Save Saved
You added The Regency Hotel Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regency Hotel Dublin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I`ve been two times to Dublin, first time in a B&B close to Regency Hotel and second time in the hotel. The hotel was a pleasent experience, I was travelling with my mother and my daughter and we all liked the hotel alot. The staff was nice and helpful, the room was spacious (big, we had 5 beds, 2 rooms, 1 bathroom and one toilet for the 3 of us!), and with great view overlooking Dublin, breakfast area was good. Also my little girl loved the possibility to go swimming. Finding the hotel was easy and also going to the center by bus was easy.
(I went there 3 years ago so things might have changed...)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    231
    211
    154
    181
See reviews for
149
274
45
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

the room was ok,it served its purpose,reception staff were friendly and gave us directions to city centre and shopping centre which is close by. we would stay here again as its great value and easy access to city centre

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got a great deal online so was generally happy. The room was adequate with an excellent city view. Sadly the TV only worked intermittently and when brought to the attention of Reception, they weren't too bothered. Handy location between City and Airport. Food was ok but could be a lot better. I feel the Hotel lacks serious Management. The Leisure Centre was dirty. I Swam on Saturday morning and noticed empty bottles by the Jacuzzi and the dressing room had rubbish on the floor. I was disgusted to see the same stuff in the same place the following day so no cleaning done on a daily basis. Eek! Could do with a visit from the Health Inspectors!!

Room Tip: The city view rooms, while a bit tired, were cheered up by the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel was nice, bar area was lovely and food was lovely, however staff found to be rude. Reception staff whilst friendly were unable to assist with directions to a few major landmarks in the city centre.Leisure centre was great with great ammenties and beautifully presented however unaccessable from inside the hotel, meaning one would need to go out the main entrance and walk about 20 metres to access the centre.
Room was average, bathroom was newly renovated and warm. no phone in room and window was barely usable. Biggest downfall was the housekeeping staff starting their rounds at appx 730am, making quite a fair bit of noise. On sunday morning we were awoken at 9am by a cleaner knocking on the door, unacceptable before check out time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not situated at at corridors end as this is where the housekeeping store rooms are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this hotel to stay in after a flight into Dublin airport. It was cheaper than everywhere else so we went for it expecting nothing much. I had seen this hotel from the road before and the big red old-fashioned sign is very off-putting...but when I drove around the side to the main enterence it was a whole different story. It looked elegant and certainly worth more than the 49euro for the night! It is conveniently located beside a convenience store. The receptionist had us checked in very fast and the whole place was well furnished and lovely. The room was warm, spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and well equipped. We were informed that we had full use if the leisure facilities but we did not avail because we were tired from traveling. We had such a relaxing time. There were plenty of channels on the TV and tea/coffee making facilities and we were able to unwind and relax without disturbance. Although the parking was not free, we only paid about 6euro for the night, I had expected it to be more. All-in-all, I would recommended this place highly over all the other "budget" hotels in the Dublin Airport vicinity. We just wanted somewhere to rest our heads but it became an extra night onto our holidays :)

Room Tip: Lifts are tiny, beware if you are claustrophobic at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great value for money for short stay; 2 nights for €49 + 4 breakfasts @ €10 each total €89. Breakfast poor value for €10 each. Room warm and very comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful except for barman who had a cock and bull story about the bottle opener when I asked him to open a bottle of wine. Excellent Italian restaurant Il Corvo within walking distance in Drumcondra.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed in hotel with my daughter last Friday as we ere having renovations in the house and wanted her to have a good nights sleep. We chaecked in and I was delighted to hear that we were being offered a complimentary upgrade! Delighted we headed to the room, firstly, if this was an upgraded room I would hate to see the standard rooms! The room was freezing also! After a nice dinner in the restaurant we headed up to bed. While watching television in bed the pplace was echoed with loud music and I realised they had placed us diectly over the function room!!!!!My daughter jumped out of her sleep and I rang down to reception and was told that there was a function on(like I hadnt already guessed)!! The girl was so unhelpful I just hung up. This went on unti all hours and I again called down and the unhelpful man recpetionist who could barely speak proper english just apologised! Not even offered a room move! I work in hotels and could not believe it! On check-out the gentleman sis not even look at me just said"room number" and when he saw the account was settled the said that was fine. I then said as he hadnt asked I may tell him about my stay. He took my details and told me a letter would come in the post- obviously never recieved a thing. When I asked about the parking he then charged me even after knowing about my sleepless night! People working in this hotel have no cop on firstly to put a woman and a 3 year old over a function room in the first place and absolutely no customer service! Will never return to this hotel- better off its demolished!!!!

Room Tip: Just do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Regency Hotel Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Hotel Dublin

Address: Swords Road | Whitehall, Dublin D9, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Hotel Dublin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Hotel is a Superior 3 * leisure & business hotel located on the north side of Dublin City. The Flagship Hotel of the McGettigan Family Group, it enjoys a prime location midway between Dublin City Centre and Dublin Airport offering easy access to all that the bustling city of Dublin has to offer. Located just a short walk from Croke Park, home of the GAA and venue for major sporting and music events, The Regency is also just a quick taxi journey from the new O2 Arena or Aviva Stadium for Rugby & Soccer fans, leaving you in the perfect location for all major Dublin events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Regency Hotel Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Dublin
Regency Dublin
Regency Airport Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Hotel Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.