We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, not quite luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Roxford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Roxford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, not quite luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a lovely B&B, kept to a very good standard. I was so looking forward to our stay since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary;however there were some small details that didn't quite do it for me.

The room was well presented with much more than you could expect (individual sauna and jacuzzi in room) but the hot water was not working in the morning to take a shower! This made us loose about an hour, but luckily by the next day it was fixed. When showering the water was leaking onto floor, also not so good. Bed was comfy but might need a change of mattress soon. Breakfast was fantastic, loads of choice big and small so well worth it, the full Irish was tasty!!

Location is good, about 20 min walk from city centre, in a lovely neighbourhood. Also transport to and from airport dead easy with air coach.

I asked for some wine to be ready for us and manager Lynssie was so helpful and friendly.

Don't get me wrong, I would definitely stay again, and it's great value for money; unfortunately there were a couple of things I wish didn't have to deal with whilst on holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnsie O, Manager at Roxford Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Ms. Mariana DV,
Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly striving to improve ourselves and your feedback is an invaluable part of the process! I am very sorry that your Anniversary stay was hindered by the problem with the water. I can understand what an inconvenience that must have been and am truly sorry.
I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband again sometime in the future and to provide you with the luxurious experience that you should have had during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments.

Kind Personal Regards,

Lynnsie O'Donoghue
RoxfordLodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    213
    45
    16
    5
See reviews for
125
370
57
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here 6/12/13. The overall experience in the hotel was good, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the hotel is only a 10/15 minute walk from the RDS, lots of bars and restaurants nearby and secure parking. If I am to say anything negative it is that the hotel has slightly quirky features that could do with being looked at by the owners. Our room had a mini sauna in it which was really not fitting with the room, it was a wooden box thing plonked in the corner next to the tv. Not a huge problem but just seemed very random in such a small room. Although our bed was very clean and comfortable, and the toilet and bath were clean, the bathroom had alot of mould on the ceiling.
Breakfast was ok, although I don't eat pork and tailoring the cooked breakfast options was limited.
This hotel has lots of character, and any of the small 'misses' are easily overlooked because the staff were so nice.

Room Tip: The room we had faced the road but the windows were really well glazed and we didn't have any pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel has extremely helpful staffing, personal service and a friendly atmosphere - from we arrived until we left. The room was clean and had that "touch" that made the stay very nice. The hotel is situated only a short 20 min walk from the city centre. Our room was very quiet and airconditioned. All in all - a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This hotel is somewhat modestly labelled a three start but from the moment we arrived and were offered tea or coffee and ensconced in a beautiful Georgian lounge with coal fire, we were hooked.

Bedroom quality was punching well above its weight and the hotel scores well for location -just 15 mins walk into the centre- no hardship. Very friendly and helpful staff throughout.

We were here to watch the rugby just 5 mins walk round the corner, and I'm writing this awaiting transport to the airport, after the game, again with tea/coffee, long after we checked out today.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed in Roxford Lodge Hotel two days ago. Staff was very friendly and very helpful. We stayed in a suite, there was a bottle of wine and chocolates included in the room, we did not know that at time of booking so it was a great surprise! Room was clean and we absolutely loved it!
The room was large the jacuzzi tub and in room sauna were great touch. Plus there was a extra room with computer and printer.
Balcony was bonus!
There was small kitchen, with amazing coffee machine.
Breakfast was great! Loads of choose of!

FREE parking at the back of hotel!
I stayed the following night in a 5 star hotel in Dublin, it was over twice the price and the room was less the half the size. If I had to chose between the Roxford and that 5 star hotel, I would pick the Roxford.

I'm looking forward to saying there on next trip to Dublin.

Room Tip: I would recommend the hotel to anyone! Suit is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Staff friendly. Breakfast very expensive. Room clean but not as expected from website. TV poor picture quality. Shower leaked. View was awful looked over a builders yard. Too far from city centre. This was supposed to be our wedding anniversary treat and we were very disappointed. Not as described on website and certainly not a boutique hotel. Stayed in nicer bed and breakfast accomodation for half the price.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnsie O, Manager at Roxford Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Rachel E,

Thank you for leaving your honest feedback about your stay with us. I cannot tell you how disappointed I am that you did not have a fantastic experience while here at our Hotel. I wish that you would've alerted us to the fact that you were unhappy with your room and we would have happily changed you straight away.
We try to offer a vast selection of breakfast choices. All of our hot breakfasts cooked fresh to order, at a competitive price and I am sorry to learn that you were not pleased with the value for money.
I really hope that you will give us the opportunity in the future to change your opinion of the Roxford Lodge Hotel.
I hope that you still passed an enjoyable anniversary weekend.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your stay not being all it should have been.

Kind Personal Regards,

Lynnsie O'Donoghue
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is off the between path, but an easy jaunt into the city center. It's only about a 20 to 30 min. walk or 5 to 10 min. by the num. 4 or 7 bus. The staff is friendly and helpful. They recommended a day trip that was very nice and answered all my questions. Stayed here a week, Thursday to Thursday. Would stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#22 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.