We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice return visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roxford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Roxford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Deal. Book Direct
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very nice return visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent one night with friends at this small boutique hotel. The walk to Dublin Center is about 15-20 minutes, for those inclined, there is a bus stop across the street. Our rooms were comfortable (refurbished since our last visit 5 years ago), and the bathroom was spacious by European standards. The reception was small, but adequate. Car park behind the lodge. Breakfast was excellent, and promptly served. All in all, this was a very nice stay, and I would recommend this small hotel highly.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs, and on the back of the facility, away from the busy street. It was therefore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    194
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
117
335
44
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night following a 3 night stay in Galway for a friends wedding. We just wanted a launch pad to spend a afternoon early evening in Dublin have a few pints of Guinness and listen to some folk music. We arrived to a warm welcome, be warned the parking is round the back of hotel and you will need to get code as it is gated - which is excellent. The room (budget double) was tiny but packed with everything you want, and it had a comfortable double bed, high standard of furnishing, lots of sockets, iPod dock, quality wifi (not the rubbish stuff you get in most hotels) and was clean as a whistle. All in all a great small hotel at a great price and we took in most sights by walking (we are both fairly fit in our early 30's and after 3 nights of indulgence wanted to walk off some excess). Book it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in the Roxford family room for three fabulous nights. When we arrived tired and jet lagged, Lynnsie at the front desk, immediately welcomed us into the lovely parlor room and brought us tea, water and snacks. For the remainder of the three days she helped us organize some wonderful day tours and gave us great site seeing tips. The hotel is in a nice residential area, close enough to walk to all the main attractions but out of the direct center for a quiet night sleep. Our room package came with a complimentary breakfast which was impressive and delicious: a full "cooked to order" menu plus a large continental spread of juices, yogurt, cheese, fruit and cereal which kept us full of energy for hours. I would highly recommend the Roxford Hotel for your stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a 3 night break at the start of August 2013, took my mother with me & we had 2 double bed rooms, my room had the sauna which I did not use (the handle was broken on the sauna room door) & the Jacuzzi bath, which worked fine.

My mother’s room had a show only wet room (at our request) as she is disabled, however, she said she had nearly slipped on the floor of the shower room & there was no none slip floor or mat down.

On our arrival the very helpful lady on the front deck, showed us to our rooms but the lift door would try & close even if you were part way in the lift & would not re-open automatically, which the lady commented on that they need to fix the lift door (for me it was not a problem but for my mother or a young child it could have been a different story).

We asked if there were any small shops as we needed something to eat, the lady said about the restaurant or could make us a sandwich, however, the following day about 5 mins walk was the Spa shop that had I known I would have used. There is a bus stop outside or you could walk but it’s a far walk into the city centre.

We picked B&B when we stayed & the breakfast was a good spread & you could have a cooked breakfast at a small extra charge but we did not have this.

The rooms had LCD flat screen TV, a DVD player & some DVDs to play, however some of the TV channels did not work.

Overall it’s a nice B&B (more than a hotel), however, the cost is far too high for what is on offer (albeit this is in part due to the exchange rate) & I would not look to stay there again if I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This small hotel was comfortable and charming, more like a B&B with perks. Staff was incredibly friendly, and offered us coffee and bisquits on our arrival. We stayed 4 nights and had continental breakfast every day, which was only 6 euros but with a lot to eat (the full Irish breakfast for 12 € would have been too big for us). The location is a bit off the city centre, but within walking distance (about 2 km) -- if you like walking I think it was better option than taking a taxi: driving in the city centre is really slow and the traffic is cramped. Extra luxury was that there was a small infrared-sauna in the room, which we used every day! The bathtub could also be used as a jacuzzi. The room was very clean and it was really quiet during the nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Roxford Lodge is a quaint hotel/B&B which is a short cab ride from the airport and close to the sites in Dublin in a quiet residential type of neighborhood. We were greeted by Lynnsie who was so welcoming and helpful and made our first day in Ireland a positive one. The rooms have a certain charm to them as does the whole hotel. Our kids stayed in a triple room which was spacious and comfortable. Our double room met all of our needs and the beds were above average in comfort. The breakfast was delicious and their porridge (oatmeal) was the BEST I had in Ireland. Give yourself a bit of extra time with breakfast as the ladies in the kitchen really like to take care of you and it may take a bit longer than expected!
Roxford is a quick 10 minute walk to Trinity College and the Book of Kells and Dublin Castle is just about 10 minutes further. An enjoyable walk past a few places to grab a bit to eat and some pretty homes.
I would stay at Roxford Lodge again and recommend it as nice place to stay outside of the City Centre yet close enough to everything you would like to see/do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This has been the most charming, most welcoming, and friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at so far. They went way beyond all of my expectations. Every body was easy to approach and talk to. The hotel met all of my needs while going the extra mile in ways I didn't expect. The entire hotel was clean, the room was very clean, comfortable, the bed was perfect, with the window open you could barely hear anything from outside, and the restaurant was great. It was my first Irish breakfast which is pretty similar to an American breakfast but with the addition of black and white pudding. I'm not talking about custard here but give it a try. It's 15 minutes away from the airport and a 5 minute walk from the Chop house. I highly recommend this hotel because from here on out this will be the only hotel I will be using when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.