We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added Roxford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 177 hotels in Dublin
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Agnes who was in the dining room was wonderful and the breakfast delicious. Ummmh! The scones...nothing more said. Great place to begin our 40 day trip. The rooms are comfortable, clean and European small. Great bathrooms and there is a lift. Would recommend...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    163
    35
    11
    5
See reviews for
101
298
37
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The hotel is not in the city centre, but a short walk will take you to the city centre. We drove there and did not see a place to park our car. We left the car on the road and walked to the reception to learn the car park is at the back of the hotel. The car park is small, but we had a parking space. Later we got a security code to open the door any time we wanted to go out. The receptionist Janina came round and met us at the back entrance and took us to the reception. She is a pleasant girl always with a smile on her face. The hotel has a maze of corridors and doors. There was a staircase and an elevator to go to the reception. The girl put us in the small elevator with our bags and said she will meet us on the first floor. She took the staircase and met us on the first floor where they had the reception.

We took sometime to master the layout of the hotel. Our room was average size, not big, The advantage was there was a door to the outside paved area with a table and chairs. Free WiFi was quite fast. Breakfast was good and we could order what we wanted. One important point was, that we were able to order tea or coffee any time. It was free. We could buy tickets for the Hopon- Hopoff bus from the hotel reception. The receptionist had a good knowledge of the area. The best feature of this hotel is the great service and the effort the staff put into to make you comfortable. When we left the hotel, by mistake, I have left behind, my USB cable which I use to connect the camera to the laptop. The housekeeping has found it and I received an email saying they will post it free to my home address. This is a very good hotel with excellent staff and good service. I certainly prefer this hotel to the bigger city hotels and would come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel! We stayed at 7 hotels within 2 weeks and this was one of our absolute favorites. Comfy beds, perfect hosts, cute old building with small yet cozy rooms. We especially loved the afternoon tea that was included. Our room had a jacuzzi tub which was fantastic after walking around all day. The rooms were very nice and included little special touches like a good assortment of DVDs as well as nice toiletries. The location is in a very nice neighborhood in Dublin. Not too far of a walk from the city center, about 15 mins. We hung out at the pub behind the parking lot and made some friends. All in all a wonderful stay. I would highly recommend the Roxford lodge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Host was super super nice and helpful. Great recommendations for local food just down the street that was delicious.
Room was tiny, but not surprising for Dublin.
Lounge area was very sunny and clean with complimentary tea, cookies, and candies served if you like.
Free parking around back is extremely helpful in this city!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Once you park a car here (parking is included, which is great!) or get here from the airport, you really don't need a car for Dublin at all. You just need to be willing to walk quite a bit. The hotel is close to the city center, but still on the outside of town, so it takes some walking to get to/from. As long as you're prepared for that, it is a great place to stay! The room was very nice, complete with a jacuzzi bathtub and sauna in the room! The people were all very nice and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Convenient, short walk to the center of town. Delicious breakfast too! Another nice touch is the "lounge." They'll fix you a cup of tea with biscuits while you sit in front of the fire. We spent a good amount of time in this room. Would stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a concert at the rds.
Location; excellent 15 minute stroll to the city center, and 5 mins from the rds, plenty of pubs and eateries nearby.
Room; was quite large, the bed was very comfortable, we had a sauna in our room which I used and it was excellent. Only criticism would be the shower, the head of which was almost touching the top of my head (I'm only just over 5' 8") and the water pressure wasn't great.
Breakfast; is the star here, it was absolutely delicious and there was plenty of it.
Staff; were friendly and helpful.
I would happily stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting Dublin.

Room Tip: The car park is a little difficult to locate when you arrive, her'es how to get to it without ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#38 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.