We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced B&B” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roxford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Roxford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Deal. Book Direct
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced B&B”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

On arriving at the Roxford Lodge 'Hotel' I have to be honest and say I was extremely disappointed.

The Roxford Lodge is advertised on booking.com as a boutique hotel; it is nothing more than a B&B, a very poorly laid out B&B.

I booked this hotel based on the description and images - do not be fooled!!

It cost us £160 for one night, room only. I have no issue with paying this price for a hotel if that is what you get, but we were presented with an almost basement room, with a small window, allowing no light and a clear view from the passing public outside, not to mention the fact that the bus stopped right outside the view of our window. The room was dimly lit, the room lights themselves were very poor, there was a wooden box smack bang in the room that can only be described as a tardis, turns out this was the sauna that booking.com referred to??? a wooden boxed sauna in an already cramped bedroom?? I don't get it.

The room came with a jacuzzi bath; sounds luxurious . . . it wasn't!! the bath was nothing more than a small house tub with holes, it was like something from the 80's, the artificial lighting in the bathroom was also wooful and you couldn't swing a cat in it!

On trying to navigate our way around the area to go for dinner, drinks, we got very poor directions, in fact the receptionist told us to just stop and ask someone!! God bless Google maps eh!

On leaving the hotel, the receptionist was rude and did not even ask how our stay was, which to me just show poor customer service and bad manners.

To be fair to the Roxford, it was clean, so certainly if you are looking for an over priced B&B, the roxford is most defianetly for you . . . All in all I can safely say we wont be back and would be very reluctant to book anything further through booking.com

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killoran, General Manager at Roxford Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. If you had told us that you were not happy with your room when checking-in, we certainly would have accommodated you to a different room as we always pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service, and also for providing good value for money , which is very much reflected in our customer reviews.

Yes, there is bus stop right outside our hotel but it does not stop directly outside that room’s window as the bus stop is on the other side of the hotel. Also, it would be very difficult for people to see in to that room due to the fact that this standard room size window is slightly tinted from the outside. Also, there is a substantial front garden between the window and the passing public.

We were also sorry to learn that you found this room had poor lighting. This room does have additional lighting over the bed and highlighters on the walls to give additional lighting, but we do appreciate your feedback , and, we will certainly ensure to rectify this with additional lighting for our customers. We never mislead any of our customers. All of the images and descriptions that are on our website are very much representative of what our customers can always expect and do receive. We state that most of our rooms have Jacuzzi baths, which is descriptive of exactly what it is - a standard size bath tub with Jacuzzi jets - a Jacuzzi bath, which is a nice luxury for our guests. The sauna is an additional unique feature of our hotel. It is a scandinavian style sauna made of pine wood, which we provide to our customers as an added luxury for their own personal use. Also, we always ask our customers how their stay was upon check-out, in fact, we always make a point of it. When you were checking out, I was actually the manager on duty that morning and I did ask your partner if everything was alright for him and he informed me that everything was fine. So, we are extremely disappointed to learn that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We do appreciate your feedback, and, if you had let us know that you were not happy with your room upon check-in, we would certainly have moved you to another room as we always endeavour to ensure that our customers have a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you and kind regards, Stephanie Killoran, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    195
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
117
336
44
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived at the Roxford Lodge early after an all night flight and were immediately taken to the nice living room for coffee and tea. Our room was vacated as we sat and they cleaned and took us there directly. Breakfast was very nice and filling. We used a 3 day bus pass to tour Dublin. Restaurants were close and great.

Room Tip: We had a large room at the back. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our 2nd time staying and we really enjoyed our stay yet again, can't wait for our next visit
It's become our "home" in Dublin!! Rooms are lovely, location excellent, service brilliant and the Breakfast is to die for

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed staying 2 nights at the Roxford Lodge, in a lovely part of Dublin. We could walk 2 blocks to one of the best Dublin restaurants, The Chop House, for lunch or dinner, as well as other restaurants within easy walking distance. It's less than a mile from Trinity College and downtown Dublin, the Guinness Storehouse, etc.
The full Irish breakfast served in a small dining room was fabulous, with many choices. The staff were gracious and accommodating. We had a very small room on the second floor, but we booked late and spent little time there.
We would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at what seemed more like a b&b than a hotel, with a quirky charm and a nice personalized feeling. The staff, as everyone has said, could not have been more friendly and helpful, and the offer to serve coffee/tea any time they are requested was lovely. The living room, where we had our coffee, was charming in an old-fashioned style. While we had been concerned about not being in a more central location, in the end we were glad to be in Ballsbridge, which was such a pretty part of town and easily accessible to the center. I’d say about a 15-minute walk to Trinity and alternatively a bus right across the street, which we never took. We did feel a little squashed in the room, which would have been a fine size if the sauna had not been there--we would have rather had a closet or wardrobe in its place, as there was definitely not enough storage for our things. The bathroom and jacuzzi were nice, though. We were in a room overlooking the parking lot; there was never a noise problem, though; we were only sad that they turned off the bubbling fountain at night, when it would have been nice to hear it--just a personal quirk. We had breakfast there only once, as we didn’t want a full breakfast and one of the staff sent us to a really nice coffee shop nearby for scones and coffee. Having a computer and printer in the living room was a really nice touch to print out our boarding passes; not sure why you'd need the printer in the room in addition, though. The good restaurant advice was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask about storage space--the rooms vary considerably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Rooms well appointed,clean and tidy but could do without the sauna.
Breakfast was very good with something for everyone.
Staff absolutely wonderful, very helpful, go out of their way to make your stay a very memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We visited this hotel as we were going to a concert in the Aviva stadium, The hotel is ideally located for this with the added bonus of free, on site, secure parking which is a rarity in Dublin.

From entering the hotel until check out, the hotel staff were wonderful, very friendly and ever helpful.

We stayed in a double room for our visit and while it was very clean and quaint it was quite a tight squeeze. The bathroom could do with more venitlation but this too was squeaky clean.

The breakfast the next morning was very good. There was a good selection of fruits, cereals and juices. The full Irish breakfast was very generous and tasty. Again, staff were outstanding with their service.

Overall I would recommend this hotel as it is good value considering the free parking, inclusion of breakfast and proximity to the Aviva stadium.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.