We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet cosy little boutique hotel in leafy Ballsbridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Roxford Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Roxford Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Deal. Book Direct
Ranked #17 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice quiet cosy little boutique hotel in leafy Ballsbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed two nights with husband and given quiet downstairs room as requested with french doors out onto patio. Room was adequate with very comfy bed, sauna ( with speakers to enjoy music while you relaxed) jacuzzi bath, tea/coffee making facilities,dvd library and player, tv, fax machine, ipod dock and alarm. Parking was secure though private electric gates at back of hotel and we drove the short trip into Dublin. Staff were very friendly, and it was no problem when we requested some ice and we had all else we needed. We booked room only as we preferred to have a lie in and early lunch - so did not sample breakfast but from reviews it was very good. Whole hotel high standards of cleanliness and if you looking for a quirky little place to stay, especially near to Aviva Stadium or you wanted one or two nights stay for business trip - would recommend Roxford Lodge and especially nice if you travelling alone and can avail of the free tea/coffee in reception and maybe a chat or change of scenery. Nice relaxing stay and enjoyed our Dublin trip.

Room Tip: Room 104 was quiet on ground floor. Not huge room but had separate sauna and ensuite with jacuzzi an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    195
    40
    12
    5
See reviews for
117
336
44
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door, we were treated like rock stars. We were a bit early for our stay, as our flight arrived at 7 AM, so they gladly took our bags to hold until our room was ready. Desmond offered us water and any help we needed.

When the room was ready, we were more than pleased. Large room, very spacious, excellent bathroom, clean, along with a TV, and a sauna!?! Who needs a sauna? I was still impressed that it was in the room, though we didn't opt to use it.

Excellent breakfast the following morning, though not included, it was still delicious.

More than happy with the stay and we'd stay again. Only small issue was walking distance to city center. Probably about 15 minutes walk, but at least you avoided the crowd.

There is a bus stop a block away which is very handy, and the pick up and drop off tourist busses stop about 3 blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were upgraded to The Executive Suite due to a 'blip' in the booking system. A very nice surprise with four poster bed and jacuzzi! Staff were all very helpful and lovely cooked breakfast served with fresh orange juice set us up for the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernal,utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The gal at the front was wonderful. The room was very nice and the parking was behind a locked gate so I didn't have to worry about my car. The food was great and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Roxford Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We highly recommend the Roxford Lodge Hotel. We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our first trip to Ireland and really enjoyed our stay. From the moment we checked in and were offered tea and coffee in the lovely lounge to when we checked out we really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean and the beds comfortable. A short bus ride into the city with the bus stop at the door made it easy to get into town, and the car park at the back very handy for the rental car.The staff were very friendly and helpful and were always ready to provide a cup of tea. 5 stars

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent the last two nights of our two week trip at the Roxford Lodge. While it is a bit of a walk to the center of Dublin, it's not that far. We managed just fine with two adults and two kids (13 and 9). The Roxford far exceeded my expectations and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was beautiful, very clean and we marveled at the inventive use of space. From the cedar closet, the room's foyer and the in-room sauna, very impressive! Lots of little interesting and eye catching details throughout. The staff was very helpful. Parking was a big plus too. We tucked our car safely in the Roxford's lot and didn't touch it again till it was time to leave. I feel like we didn't spend enough time in Dublin so our next trip will include more time in Dublin and will most definitely call for a return trip to the Roxford Lodge Hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here and thought it was great! We had never been to Dublin before and weren't sure of the best area to stay, but based on our time here we thoroughly recommend the Roxford. It is in a lovely tree lined street in a very nice area of the city, with buses right at the door. Having said that, we didn't need the bus as it was an easy flat 15 minute walk past some beautiful Georgian buildings into the heart of the city.

As soon as we arrived we were offered tea and biscuits in the lounge which was very welcome after a long drive. Our room had so many extras, sauna, en-suite, extremely well arranged, spotless and very comfortable. We were on the ground floor and we had a sliding door into the secure car park area at the back which made it very easy to get heavy luggage in and out.

In the room the bed was very comfortable, there was a DVD player with a great selection of DVDs, and the lighting in particular was strong and well placed for reading and working; a lot of hotels seem to be very keen on oddly placed mood lighting which can be frustrating. The bathroom was excellent though the shower screen wasn't quite long enough over the bath and the floor kept getting wet. Great shower with good pressure and lots of hot water.

Breakfast was great with a wide range of hot and cold food, newspapers to read, and very helpful and attentive staff.
Staff at reception were also very helpful; we were able to give them a bag of washing which they sent off with the daily laundry, and they gave us lots of information about buses and restaurants.

Excellent Internet (both wired and wireless) plus a small printer and fax in your room - superb !!

Overall, excellent to stay at and good value for money.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxford Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.