We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Schoolhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Schoolhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banner Elk, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed the night we spent at the Schoolhouse Hotel in Dublin. We were only there one night, but it was great. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The restaurant had great breakfast and the location was very convenient. The beds were so comfy and when we go back, we would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    241
    71
    21
    13
See reviews for
94
387
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel, cozy & comfortable & clean. We ate several meals in the bar & restaurant, food was very good. All of the staff were exceptionally helpful & friendly. It's within easy walking distance to all the great things to see in Dublin. We will stay here again on our next trip to Dublin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The schoolhouse hotel is located near Dublin's museums, but is a mile or so from the other tourist attractions in Dublin. We enjoy walking and felt safe walking to and from the hotel both early in the morning or late in the evenings. The hotel is charming and makes the most of its history and unique architecture. Each room is named for a person important in Irish history and has a portrait and information in the room. Rooms were comfortable, but a bit cramped for two. The sitting area is great, but space between beds and furniture made bathroom access a bit hard. It was fun to get a bit of education along with the lodging, though. Care taken is decorating was appreciated. The lobby is extremely small, but welcoming and has a public computer ( fee for printing) WiFi is available throughout the hotel and was speedy. The restaurant had a more than adequate hot breakfast. I believe inclusion of breakfast is dependent on what type of booking made. We did eat dinner here one night and the meal was not memorable. Both entrees were overcooked and on the dry side. But, after a long day of sightseeing we were just happy to have food on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalgety Bay
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely small hotel within easy walking distance of town centre. Great bar, comfortable rooms, and really friendly helpful staff. Breakfast choice was good and service excellent. We booked this the night before arrival, due to reservations at another hotel being cancelled, and had no idea what to expect, we were delighted, and would go back, and we are fussy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife says its amazing and it is certainly fantastic value for money. An easy 15 min walk to the middle of Dublin. Good sized rooms, great shower pressure, clean and tidy. Breakfast was also very good, we dined there one night as well and were very very happy with the traditional Irish fare. We will definitely stay there again and thoroughly recommend you do as well. Also try The Chophouse restaurant at teh bottom of Haddington Road.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

On our recent trip to Dublin we stayed at Schoolhouse Hotel thanks to a TripAdvisor recommendation. This was one of the best boutique hotels that I have stayed in - absolutely charming with great facilities (Bar & Restaurant), lovely staff, historical character, wonderful location, etc. I would return to Schoolhouse Hotel anytime.

Room Tip: First floor was probably more convenient but then there are no real "higher" floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked this hotel for the location and free car parking. The building is historic and I guess this creates a problem. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable, however the shower was terrible. I had to get my husband to turn it on because I was not strong enough, and could not turn it off. It was over the bath with a shower curtain that stuck to you if you turned around. Receptionist on arrival was helpful as the carpark was full, however the restaurant staff were not at all friendly. Despite not being busy, seemed to expect that we should have had a booking (which we did not).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Business Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#48 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.