We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Schoolhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly hotel... Excellent staff, food. The hotel is well worth a visit :) the bedroom has everything you need.. The bar has live music, a solo singer with his guitar, wow he was excellent .we will make sure the next time we visit Dublin that we book this hotel again....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    324
    194
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
70
325
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our first visit to Ireland could not have had a better start than it did by staying in the schoolhouse hotel. The staf was very helpful in giving advice on our first day in Ireland and Dublin offcourse. The room had a clean and welcome feeling. Breakfast was great. Location looked beautifull and cosy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a very cute quaint hotel. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the nearest Hop On-Hop Off stop. The staff were very helpful and courteous. They were great with giving suggestions and directions. Our room was quiet but with little outside light it was a bit dim, but not too bad. The breakfast was great.The hotel, however, does need a little updating. We noticed that some of the wallpaper in the hall was peeling. No big deal. But in the bathroom, the ceiling paint was peeling. At first I thought it might have been done for the antique effect but the accompanying spots confirmed my suspicions otherwise. If you want to pay in Euros instead of your currency, be sure to double check. I was told it was in Euros but when the charge came it was not. With this being said, Schoolhouse did refund the extra money quickly and without a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review. It is always nice to receive positive feedback and especially in relation to our staff. I am sorry for any confusion with the your payment on departure but am glad to read it was dealt with efficiently

Please accept my apologies for the issue of the peeling paint in your bathroom which indeed has been mentioned in other reviews on this forum in recent weeks. I can assure you we are by no means ignoring the problem and have a full refurbishment of all our bathrooms scheduled.

I would hope that this does not deter you from visiting us at the Schoolhouse Hotel in the future where I can assure you will not experience the same issues.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent four nights at the Schoolhouse Hotel and couldn't be happier with our choice. Our room was spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. It was a wonderful place to relax after a day of walking the city. The staff was wonderfully friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.

Although we didn't have breakfast in the restaurant, we ate a number of meals in the bar. Every meal we had there was as good or better than any of the "better" restaurants in town that we ate at.

Located in Ballsbridge on the Grand Canal, expect about a 25 minute easy walk to the heart of the Grafton Street shopping area.

The next time we travel to Dublin, the Schoolhouse Hotel will be at the top of our list for accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I was delighted to read your comments in relation to our rooms, staff and food. We are very lucky to have a great team here at the Schoolhouse Hotel. I will be sure to pass all your comments on.

Kindest Regards,

Therese Seale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offaly
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed there on 27th & 28th of July .we had stayed there before a few yrs ago but did not write a review. However this time we felt we had avery positive experience.The staff at reception were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.We stayed in the Oscar Wilde themed room, it was very clean, and well presented .The bed is huge! and very comfortable.I found the location great ,just a nice walking distance from the busy area of Baggot st We did not have breakfast there, so we can not comment on food ,but I did not hear cleaning staff or any other staff carring out their duties which I found very unique.On most occasions, in hotels staff can be very noisy ,and seem to forget that residents may be seeking a relaxing stay .Over all we found our short stay ticked all the boxes for us ,and we will be back ,and would have no problem recommending this gem of a hotel.Ps we were contacted by staff shortly after departure that we left a couple of items behind . Irene one of the staff dealt with it for us swiftly and efficiently,and was very helpful.

Room Tip: Each room has a theme so suggest you ask staff for any particular request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Me and my husband went to Dublin for the first time this summer, and it was very nice. Hotel was very good, room was vas great, very big and with a nice view on the tree. Breakfast was poor and reception desk also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Loved the old building, full of character and quaint features/decor with modern facilities and wifi throughout. Bed was huge (7ft+) and very comfortable. Fantastic location on the canal and within walking distance of city center and many other amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.