We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cosy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Schoolhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice cosy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A charming pretty hotel. Rooms were not big but they were clean and cosy. Breakfast was very good and connection to the city centre also good because the shuttle bus from the airport stops right in front of the hotel. Wi-Fi is not very strong and if you have to work this is an issue because you cannot stay in the room but you will have to go to the lobby all the time which is not so nice.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    329
    197
    60
    18
    9
See reviews for
71
328
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heviz, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had been a weekend in this hotel. It's a small hotel, very quaint. The building exterior is quaint, made ​​of red bricks. I liked this classic and cozy style .
The room was a little small, there was a canopy bed. The bathroom was a bit tight and I did not like the wallpaper.
The internal needs some work, but I recommend for a vacation in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel inherits all the charm of a 19th century school. The rooms have enough space and the bedding is quite comfortable, There is no mini-bar in the rooms, but the hotel offers free bottles of water and free biscuits.The decoration is very simple but very cosy. you'll definitely find the bathroom equipment tricky to operate (maybe an irish standard ?)
The hotel location is 10-15 minutes off the down town (Trinity college), next to a canal. The airport shuttle Aircoach stops right at the entrance of the hotel.
Be careful if you intend to work and need your wifi intensively. The connection is hard to establish and it seemed some areas were not covered, so my wife who was there for a conference had to go regularly to the lobby to work.
The hot breakfast is very good ( eggs+sausage+pudding and the pancakes).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Very nice area with local bars and restaurants and could walk to the city centre. Hotel full of character and rooms clean and comfortable. We had the ground floor rooms with a door that opened into the courtyard, as there was 3 couples staying in 3 adjoining rooms it worked out very well. The hotel also has a friendly bar area, with real fires which was lovely. Very welcoming bar unlike some hotel bars which can be cold and clinical. The only disappointment was the breakfast service, it was very poor. After being shown to our table we waited 15 mins and still no one had offered us tea/coffee, as there wasn't any staff present we had to go through to reception to ask for service, not good. We then had a huge Wait for the breakfast. We mentioned this again to reception and were told "sorry we are short staffed and we didn't expect it to be so busy". We had been booked in for 6 months so it wasn't as though they didn't know we were coming?. Also she said we have a wedding part in for breakfast at 10am tomorrow so if you don't want another wait, avoid this time. Not good, asked to speak to the manager, but was told not available and she would contact us, never did. Surprise surprise. It's a shame as the hotel and Dublin are great. It's not an inexpensive hotel so I would have expected better customer service especially from the front of house girl. rest of staff did seem nice, so maybe a one one. Probably wouldn't stay again although going back to Dublin in dec for Christmas shopping.

Room Tip: If staying with friends, ground floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a lovely old world type of hotel! By old world I mean it had a real homely feel to it. The staff were friendly and very personable and the welcome was warm and genuine, not like some of the bigger high turnover hotels to be found in cities these days. We stayed for 3 nights on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Nov 2012. The room was very comfortable and of a good size with a huge double bed to die for. It was clean and all the furniture was of a good high standard. The bathroom was a fair size not huge however big enough; the shower was strong and didn’t suffer from the annoying temperature fluctuations you sometimes get, that said adjusting the temperature was a tricky affair! We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant on the first night and found the food and service to be very good and at a reasonable price. The same could be said for their bar food which was equally as enjoyable. The bar was generally busy however not crowded and is full of charm. We enjoyed some live music on the Thursday which was of a high quality yet not so loud that you couldn’t chat which added to the whole experience. This is a charming hotel well situated to visit the city with warm friendly staff oozing with can do attitude and we will definitely be back for more!

Room Tip: We stayed in the canopy room highly recommend them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with real character. The restaurant and bar have a fantastic high pitched ceiling and amazing architecture. The bedrooms were excellent and beautifully designed. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. I cannot say enough good about our experience at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent service. Quaint rooms with comfy beds.
Breakfast was very good.
Would recommend the Schoolhouse hotel and hope to stay there again on future trips to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#45 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.