We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Schoolhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Full of character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with real character. The restaurant and bar have a fantastic high pitched ceiling and amazing architecture. The bedrooms were excellent and beautifully designed. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. I cannot say enough good about our experience at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    200
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
70
323
21
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent service. Quaint rooms with comfy beds.
Breakfast was very good.
Would recommend the Schoolhouse hotel and hope to stay there again on future trips to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire in UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Schoolhouse Hotel offers boutique-style luxury, with a "home away from home feel". It is located in Ballsbridge, which is just outside the city centre in Dublin 4, but is easily accessible to the heart of Dublin by the Luas (tram service) and car.

The hotel is small but provides a personal service to guests, with little touches like an evening ice bucket service to rooms. The rooms are decorated to a nice standard with enormous beds and are spacious.

The hotel has a lovely bar area adjoining the main hotel, which also serves hot drinks and brunch-style food, plus delicious home-cooked main meals and desserts. The standard of the food is exceptional, with hand-prepared dishes of a very good size. You are not disappointed with the food, particularly as the portions are more than ample with a variety of dishes to offer, including seafood, duck and delicious pies.

I have stayed at this Hotel now about four times, and each time have to say the staff are polite and very keen to please. A truly exquisite venue in probably the nicest part of Dublin!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs, the rooms are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The location is great, walking distance from the city center, but in a nice and quite road with trees. The hotel (used to be a victorian school) is amazing. Everything seems to be stucked in the victorian age. Rooms are large and very clean. There is a good breakfast service but the real thing I enjoyed much was the bar of the hotel. Superb. Very large beds and nice (but small) bathroom. If I will ever return to Dublin I'll choose this place again 100%!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello Hoolz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback online. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Schoolhouse. We would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future so please do not hesitate to contact us when you are travelling next.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Sent from my iPad

Begin forwarded message:


I raised a complaint with your night manager, then your receptionist and was promiseWether hotel would call or contact me Monday. We stayed in rooms 326 and 328.

I was treating my godmother of 80 to a night away, in the hotel where she taught many years ago.

It was the most awful night I have ever had in a hotel, and whilst the beds were beautifully comfortable and we got off to sleep nicely at 10 pm, we were awoken  later guests shouting, laughing, knocking things over in their room.  The noise was not general laughter but raucous noise which echoed through the rooms and the bumping noise of furniture in the room next to me 329 prevented getting back to sleep. Then around 1.15am someone ran up and down the corridor shouting where's Clare.  They then knocked on doors still shouting, so I got up and opened the door, to find a young lady in a fawn dress and stockinged feet running back down the corridor.  I asked her to be quiet and go back to her room, to which she shouted back "Fxxx xxx"  I called reception and asked your night manager to come up and deal with them, which he did and I told him what had been happening.

The point I would make is that he had done nothing about the noise and so evidently was not patrolling the hotel to check on guests as the noise would have been evident.  After he went back downstairs the noise continued at a slightly lower level in the room, but it did not stop for some further 40 minutes.  Whilst at least it was not in the corridor, it was next door to me and the bumping of furniture continued.

Next morning at 8.30 I reported this to your receptionist and asked to speak to the manager as I wanted to make a complaint. She said there was no one on duty, which is terrible for a hotel not to have any management available at a busy weekend.  She said she would report it and that the night manager had told her.  

1. The situation should not have happened if the night manager was doing his job and checking the hotel areas properly
2. The night manager was ineffective in getting the room to quieten down sufficiently although he managed to get them to stop running up and down and shouting.
3. We were woken up, had very interrupted sleep and could not get back to sleep easily being not only awake but upset by the girl and the lack of handling of the situation at your end.
4. As a result we were exhausted the next day, and I even managed to lock myself out of my room I was so tired.
5. The receptionist had no one senior or any management on call on to take my complaint, and I left having paid the bill for a lack of sleep in what is supposed to be a reputable boutique hotel.
6. I was told I would be contacted and it is now Tuesday, 2 days after the event and I have received no email or call to resolve my complaint and redress the situation.

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you need your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear GSET36,

Firstly I would like to thank you for your feedback, I take all feedback on board as we constantly provide regular training to the team to assist in improving the service which we provide. As we have been in contact numerous times this week I won't respond in great detail online.

Again I am genuinely sorry for any inconvenience caused during your stay. As mentioned already we did unfortunately have a very confused guest with us who became disorientated during the night. Once the night porter confirmed the room number of this guest, she was assisted back to her room. I can assure you that this is an isolated incident as The Schoolhouse is always very peaceful and charming.

Following on from my correspondance with yourself I am aware that you are now satisified with the resolution. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse where I am sure we can restore your faith in us.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here only 1 night, but enjoyed the whole day around here. Would have easily stayed longer. You have to love the easy parking at these smaller hotels. Staff ensured us an early check-in, and rooms were nice, cozy and warm. The history and architecture of the hotel, restaurant and bar added to the experience.

Great Irish breakfast and menu and very helpful service. Location is in close proximity to art, shopping, and the busy city centre. A moderate walk or short cab ride.

Great neighbourhood to take a walk or run around. Right next the the Grand Canal, which was very calm and peaceful.

Would recommend!

(Travellers included me, my wife and my parents)

Room Tip: Only saw the 2 similar rooms we had booked, no other comparison. They are each named after famous Ir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello dan007mnr,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments online, your feedback is much appreciated.

I was delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband & I stayed here our first night of our honeymoon in Ireland, after an overnight direct flight from Chicago. We arrived at around 9:30AM & our room was understandably not ready yet. Jenny (who was there to greet us) watched our bags for us while we set out to explore Dublin. We made it back before noon & our room was ready :). We had been upgraded to the Woodley & Dowdall Suite, which was completely charming & located right by a stairwell that led into the bar! My husband was very excited about this.

Overall, we absolutely loved staying here. My husband woke up early in the morning to walk around Ballsbridge & get a coffee & came back raving about the neighborhood. We had a great time hanging out in the bar, talking to Brian (the manager), Tomas (one of his servers, who was from Brazil), & Tim (one of the local regulars). Jenny was absolutely lovely & even left us a personalized note in our room, welcoming us, which I thought was a nice touch. Although it is a bit of a walk to main Dublin attractions, we knew that ahead of time & felt it was worth it for the charm & neighborhood feel of The Schoolhouse.

We would definitely stay here if/when we return to Dublin.

Tom & Katie Morley

Room Tip: We were in the Woodley & Dowdall Suite (room #332) & we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Hello Tom & Katie,

Thank you so much for the lovely review, your kind comments are greatly appreciated. It was our absolute pleasure to look after you both during your honeymoon.

The Woodley & Dowdall Suite is actually an original part of the building - it was the living quarters of the Head Mistresses when it was St Stephens School.

We are located in a great part of Dublin - in leafy Ballsbridge, by the canal and only minutes from Merrion Square. I am delighted to see you had the pleasure of meeting some of the team in the bar and I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Schoolhouse when you return to Dublin!

Warmest regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#41 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.