We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo House to your Saves list
Waterloo House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Kinnegad, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip, very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, perfect location, would definitely recommend. The owner recommended a fabulous restaurant around the corner "Bloom Brasserie" and I must say it did not disappoint. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    94
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
127
36
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Waterloo House was very nice, elegant and quiet, all this for 99 euros, breakfast and parking included.... Beautiful building, charming dining room overlooking the garden, nice entrance room with fireplace, peaceful neighborhood with lots of restaurants and pubs 20 mn by foot from the city center, free wifi… The only dark point was the mattresses which were not firm enough and had probably seen better days (we were in the back bedroom on the first floor). We would definitely go back if we were sure to get better bedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is a townhouse boutique hotel. It is run by friendly, somewhat quirky, people who truly want you to have a nice stay. Waterloo House is in a lovely neighborhood away from the craziness of Grafton St or Temple Bar. However, all tourist areas are within walking distance. This involves an easy, safe walk of about 15-20 minutes. A friend and I stayed here twice this summer and enjoyed it both times. It is so nice to be away from the noise and crowds but still in a lovely area with pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast room includes a glass enclosed room looking out over the garden. It is lovely on a cloudy day. Our hostess told us it sometimes gets steamy on a sunny warm day, but we did not experience this. Breakfast includes a cold buffet and a hot, cooked to order meal, as well. It is truly delicious.

The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of lighting in the room. The room and bathroom were clean and well-equipped. Oddly enough, each time we arrived the windows were open and there were flies in the room. We went out for the afternoon and evening. By the time we returned they were all gone and never came back.

The guest who has difficulty with stairs should beware of the front entrance which has a lot of steep steps. The staff will happily open the grade level door for you if someone can get up the steps to get their attention.

Although we did not have a car, the availability of the small parking lot would be a plus for many people.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, but is physically fit enough to walk to the attractions or is willing to pay for taxis.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require going down a short flight of stairs. If that is a problem, ask at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very nice hotel, with an excellent staff. Very personal, felt like home away from home. Well located in a quiet street at walking distance from most restaurants, parks, museums etc.
This review should be 200 characters minimum, that's why I'm writing this sentence

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My adult children and I had a lovely stay here early July. They had a room with a double and a twin bed and I had a room with a double bed. The ensuites were small but immaculately clean. Breakfast was one of the nicest we've had in similarly rated properties. We enjoyed the 10-15 minute walk to the hop-on-hop-off again bus route. We tended to get a taxi home from wherever our day ended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staying at Waterloo House was indeed very enjoyable... Beautiful building, elegantly furnished interiors, charming little garden, cozy dining room, amazing guest room with a huge fireplace, wonderful peaceful neighborhood not far from the city center, free wifi, free parking, helpful staff and friendly guests... However, breakfast, though delicious, was rather poor in quantity and variety, the lighting of the parking area and the front of the building was not enough and there was not a sheltered place to smoke a cigarette (this is a problem if you are a smoker in Dublin where it is raining all the time). Finally, although my overall opinion was very good, I have to say that I found it a bit too expensive for a typical B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A charming, little hotel, in a calm part of the city, but not to far away from the center. Just a nice stroll away from the pubs and shopping streets.

The interior is "oh so English" or Irish. But very typical, clean and in good shape.

The owners were very helpful when we needed an adapter for our european cables.
And the veranda (all glass) is so nice to take a good breakfast in the morning. That is really unique and very enjoyable.
And it is easy to park a car, if you rent one. Wifi Quality was great.

I would return there anytime...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Family Hotel in Dublin
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.