We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo House

Save Saved
You added Waterloo House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A charming Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A charming, little hotel, in a calm part of the city, but not to far away from the center. Just a nice stroll away from the pubs and shopping streets.

The interior is "oh so English" or Irish. But very typical, clean and in good shape.

The owners were very helpful when we needed an adapter for our european cables.
And the veranda (all glass) is so nice to take a good breakfast in the morning. That is really unique and very enjoyable.
And it is easy to park a car, if you rent one. Wifi Quality was great.

I would return there anytime...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    86
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
49
117
33
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked Waterloo House because of its location to the RDS (for the Horse Show) and also because we wanted to walk the other direction into town as well - so in that respect it was good, about a 15 minute walk to the RDS where the Horse Show was on, and about a 20 minute walk to the top of Grafton Street - ok if its not raining but even if it is there are plenty of taxis and buses around. There are about 8 parking bays outside - we realised early on that if we lost our space the odds of getting of it back later in the evening were zero..so we did not use the car after we had arrived.

Our room was disappoing because of a) its size b) no bottled water c) no paper tissues d) the TV did not work and e) most important of all the bed was concave - not a great experience. All of this was made better by a lovely breakfast served by waiting staff who could not do enough for any of us - happy, smiling and cheerful.

Had we paid full price 218 euros for bed and breakfast for two I would have been even more disappointed - totally overpriced, fortunately we had a "deal" - even that was expensive enough.

Would we stay again? hmmmm..probably not - but only because of the room size and bed, the rest we could put up with. The photos on the website are not indicative of what is offered..or at least what was offered to us..maybe those on a deal are treated differently to those paying the full price.

I think bottled water should be offered to guests free of charge in what is claimed to be a 4* establishment!

Room Tip: Not room 32, its very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Evelyn Corcoran operates a charming Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a very nice location. The attention that she and her staff devotes to her guests is warm and welcoming. My wife and I, and our two children stayed in one of the rooms with two double beds. The room was perfectly fine for our short stay in Dublin. The location is excellent. It is in a very nice neighborhood that shares many countries Embassy facilities. We were fortunate that on our first full day we had nice weather. After a wonderful breakfast of (pancakes), no I think it was french toast! Evelyn will get it. We then ventured and walked to Kilmainham Gaol our first site in Dublin to visit. It was a good walk of probably 45 minutes to and hour with stops along the way, but provided us with getting a good sense of bearing about the city. Dinner in Dublin for us was at Searsons on Baggot Street. It was very close to the B&B and had a good selection of entrees and great service. Evelyn was very accommodating in allowing 12:00pm checkout and allowed us to leave the car in the lot a little longer while we went and had lunch. All in all, Waterloo House met our expectations and we hope to stay there the next time we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Waterloo House in Dublin. We got a nice (but small) room on the main floor. Our room had an adequate bathroom (also small) but really everything you needed. The great thing about this inn was it's great location (no more than 15-20 minute walk to everything) and within a 3-5 minute walk were lots of great restaurants to choose from. The staff at this inn were just lovely, always friendly and provided great suggestions on where to stay. It is a charming Georgian style inn and we absolutely loved the friendly little dogs in the yard where we sat out after dinner to have our wine. The breakfasts were nice too and included in the price (as was parking). All in all we had a great stay at a very reasonable price - we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay but found the room 44 very small for the price we paid I have read other reviews saying bedroom was lovely and big? if we ever return I will ask for a bigger room ..staff were very helpful breakfast lovely shower pressure was very good .we had to leave straight after breakfast but there was no one at the desk to thank for our stay .so I will say it now thank you all

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Dublin. Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. The staff was lovely also. The location is perfect for a relaxed stay and at the same time it's an easy stroll into town in a beautiful area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at the Waterloo very early, direct from the airport. It was too early to check but we were wide awake and ready to explore. The attendant was very helpful. She let us leave our car in the lot so we could venture out into Dublin. She provided a map and detailed directions to the sights and off we went; when we returned a few hours later our room was ready. The Waterloo is on a nice, quiet street but is close to all the action (about a 10-15 min walk to town center). The room was clean and comfortable, it was small but adequate for our one night stay. The breakfast good and filling. We ate in the sun room, which was a sunny spot in which to start the day. Our stay was pleasant and I would recommend this B&B to people who want to be close to the sights but don't want the noise and crowds right outside your window/door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Dublin
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.