We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in great Dublin neighborhood Ballsbridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo House to your Saves list
Waterloo House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in great Dublin neighborhood Ballsbridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Evelyn Corcoran operates a charming Georgian Bed and Breakfast in a very nice location. The attention that she and her staff devotes to her guests is warm and welcoming. My wife and I, and our two children stayed in one of the rooms with two double beds. The room was perfectly fine for our short stay in Dublin. The location is excellent. It is in a very nice neighborhood that shares many countries Embassy facilities. We were fortunate that on our first full day we had nice weather. After a wonderful breakfast of (pancakes), no I think it was french toast! Evelyn will get it. We then ventured and walked to Kilmainham Gaol our first site in Dublin to visit. It was a good walk of probably 45 minutes to and hour with stops along the way, but provided us with getting a good sense of bearing about the city. Dinner in Dublin for us was at Searsons on Baggot Street. It was very close to the B&B and had a good selection of entrees and great service. Evelyn was very accommodating in allowing 12:00pm checkout and allowed us to leave the car in the lot a little longer while we went and had lunch. All in all, Waterloo House met our expectations and we hope to stay there the next time we are in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    100
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
53
134
39
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Waterloo House in Dublin. We got a nice (but small) room on the main floor. Our room had an adequate bathroom (also small) but really everything you needed. The great thing about this inn was it's great location (no more than 15-20 minute walk to everything) and within a 3-5 minute walk were lots of great restaurants to choose from. The staff at this inn were just lovely, always friendly and provided great suggestions on where to stay. It is a charming Georgian style inn and we absolutely loved the friendly little dogs in the yard where we sat out after dinner to have our wine. The breakfasts were nice too and included in the price (as was parking). All in all we had a great stay at a very reasonable price - we would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night stay but found the room 44 very small for the price we paid I have read other reviews saying bedroom was lovely and big? if we ever return I will ask for a bigger room ..staff were very helpful breakfast lovely shower pressure was very good .we had to leave straight after breakfast but there was no one at the desk to thank for our stay .so I will say it now thank you all

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent place to stay in Dublin. Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfasts. The staff was lovely also. The location is perfect for a relaxed stay and at the same time it's an easy stroll into town in a beautiful area of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We arrived at the Waterloo very early, direct from the airport. It was too early to check but we were wide awake and ready to explore. The attendant was very helpful. She let us leave our car in the lot so we could venture out into Dublin. She provided a map and detailed directions to the sights and off we went; when we returned a few hours later our room was ready. The Waterloo is on a nice, quiet street but is close to all the action (about a 10-15 min walk to town center). The room was clean and comfortable, it was small but adequate for our one night stay. The breakfast good and filling. We ate in the sun room, which was a sunny spot in which to start the day. Our stay was pleasant and I would recommend this B&B to people who want to be close to the sights but don't want the noise and crowds right outside your window/door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a posh residential neighborhood. Several embassies, including US , are nearby. Many coffee bars and inexpensive restaurants too. It is not, mind you, near the main tourist activities.

It is made up of two conjoined town houses. Breakfast, which was terrific, is served on the lowest floor, in back, and half the breakfast area sits in a nice conservatory, behind which is a little garden where 2 dogs amiably lie. Several rooms occupy the other floors and there is a common parlor with a wired PC and wifi access on the level where one enters. The rooms have high ceilings, sumptuous furniture, and flat-panel TVs. There is no air-conditioning, which only matters a few days a year.

Staff was most accommodating. We arrived Sunday at 8 am, several hours before check-in due to flight times. But the staff let us use the parlor and even gave us a free breakfast while we waited for the room to be vacated and then cleaned.

As B&Bs go, this was pretty high-end. Arguably it could be equally well described as a boutique hotel.

There is an excellent bistro nearby, right across from the US embassy, called Roly"s Bistro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here July 11-13, 2013 and I have no complaints. The reception was great, helpful with booking a cab and describing bus transportation. We walked to Temple Bar area and St. Stephen's Green, but it's a bit long. We took a bus home one evening and it was very easy. Neighborhood was safe and quiet and there were pubs and a Tesco very nearby. The breakfast was excellent, and the dining room was charming.

Room Tip: We faced the back yard and were on the main level (same level as reception). I think it was room 21...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Family Hotel in Dublin
#26 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.