We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Dublin's best Bed and Breakfast accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo House to your Saves list
Waterloo House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
San Diego, Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of Dublin's best Bed and Breakfast accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is our 4th time staying at the Waterloo House in Dublin and we highly recommend it. In our many travels around Ireland, this is our favorite place to stay. The location, the elegant 1830's Georgian house and the excellent staff are a few of the reasons to stay here. It is located in one of Dublin's best neighborhoods, a 15 minute walk from St. Stephen's Green and Central City. The location is close to restaurants, shopping and pubs but far enough away to be quiet. The gracious owner, Evelyn Corcoran, goes out of her way to personalize your stay. She is a warm and welcoming host and one of the reasons we so enjoy staying here. She is always available to help in any way she can. When we arrived at 6:30 in the morning after a long overnight flight from California, Irene, a staff member brought us tea and coffee. As soon as Evelyn arrived at 8 am, she offered us breakfast and checked us into our room right away - there was no waiting until a formal afternoon check in time. The delicious made to order breakfasts include waffles, French toast ,fresh fruit, traditional Irish breakfasts of eggs, sausage, bacon and toast, or catch of the day. One nice touch is the multiple copies of the Dublin newspaper that arrive early each morning. We stayed there twice on this trip for a total of five nights. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and had very comfortable beds. We especially enjoyed our room overlooking the garden behind the house. On previous stays, we traveled with friends who were also pleased with the Waterloo House. The cost is very reasonable and would be worth staying there at an even greater price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    93
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
126
36
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family stayed three nights at the beginning of our Ireland. The location was perfect for us - not in the center of the city (about a 10 minute walk), but in a very nice and quiet neighborhood that had nice restaurants and pubs a few blocks away. It's a charming hotel/B&B - and the staff was great. Breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The price was decent for the area as it is in the nicer part of Dublin and one block away from the main strip with tons of great restaurants, bars, shopping. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and accomodating

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I (male, mid 30s) recently stayed, solo, at the Waterloo House. I was visiting Dublin, for a quick 2 day trip from NYC--for sightseeing/vacation. I had messed up my booking (accidentally booked Waterloo Lodge, across the Street...not the same)--but was able to get into the Waterloo House, owner/manager, Evelyn was very understanding and accommodating. I'd seen Waterloo House listed in a Karen Brown guide book, so I wanted to give it a try. The room was very clean and comfortable. I arrived after breakfast was done--but Evelyn made me some fresh coffee--which was very kind of her. The breakfasts...were fantastic. The French Toast was stellar! Sausages...all great. It was walking distance to St. Stephen's Green and city centre. I used a taxi for one trip--and the taxi arrived to pick me up within minutes. Was easy to hop on a bus nearby too. Everyone was wonderful - great room, great food, friendly staff, convenient location, and very reasonably priced! Short walk to O'Donoghue's, where I had a fun first night listening to live music and having some nice conversations with people. I would absolutely stay here again in a heartbeat, next time I'm in Dublin.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 37---was very quiet, and had nice natural light, window in bathroom. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an excellent 3 night stay at the Waterloo House. We reserved the family room for my husband, myself and our two adult children. The room fit the four of us comfortably. The beds were comfortable, the room was free from street noise and the breakfasts were excellent. The neighborhood is charming and our hostess recommended a very good Mediterranean restaurant, Keshk, just a block or two away.

I feel like I do have to weigh in on the distance from city center conversation that appeared in the reviews that I read while I was researching where to stay in Dublin. It is a 15 - 20 minute walk to Saint Stephen's Green - which is the outside of the city center - from Waterloo. While we were there the weather was perfect and in the mornings the walk didn't seem that bad. In the evenings, coming home from a long day of site seeing the walk seemed a lot longer. Again, we had great weather. If it had been pouring rain, the walk back in the evenings could have been miserable. Our hostess recommended the hop on, hop off bus tours that you can catch at Saint Stephen's Green. I usually never do these but it was well worth it. I would recommend the hop on bus tours and hoofing it over trying to drive and park in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Me and my girlfriend returned to Waterloo house for our second stay in October 2012 - Evelyn the owner made our return just as special as the first. A card, wine and chocolates greeted us in the room upon arrival which was a really nice touch - she also gave us the same room that we had stayed in the previous year which was great. The rooms are spacious and clean. The WIFI is excellent for browsing the internet & sharing the days experiences on Facebook etc. The bed is really comfy and the bathroom is more than adequate.
The breakfast can either be brought to you in bed (which is proactively offered by all the staff) or can be eaten in the restaurant, it is delicious. The ladies who serve cannot do enough for you refilling coffee/tea and offering toast.
The location is great, 15 minutes walk into Temple Bar and the buildings in the area are beautiful. Well worth walking 5 minutes down the road to the train station and taking a day trip to Howth, a lovely little fishing village.
All in all an excellent service in a city that we love, when we booked to return this October we didn't even bother looking at other accommodation, Waterloo House is the perfect place to stay. Don't hesitate to come here.
Best prices are direct from the Hotel website!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are exceptional - ones at the back look out over a nice garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location only a couple of kms from dublin's city centre yet set in a peaceful and quiet street in a lovely old building overlooking a garden out the back. Rooms were small yet cosy and very comfortable. Wifi worked in the rooms fine and free parking was very convenient. Breakfast was a mixture of a small buffet as well as a la carte meals and was excellent. Staff were very friendly and provided some excellent restaurant recommndations. Would highly recommend staying here we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#20 Family Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterloo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.