We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for a good hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Eccles Court Hostel

Save Saved
You added Mount Eccles Court Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Eccles Court Hostel
42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 88 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for a good hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hostel has an excellent location, just 3 mins walk from O'Connell street, Surroundings are OK, walking home safely is always an option.
I shared the room with a friend, there were 4 beds in the dormitory (even though we booked a 3 beds one), a small bathroom and basically that's all. Heating was working really slightly (could've been much warmer in the room anyway...) but blankets were warm enough during the night. There are issues with the cleanliness: bed linen was fine but carpet and curtains were dusty, also the walls would require a refreshing painting.
Breakfast for 1 Euro is worthy: basic stuff but OK for the day start. Dining room is very cold though.
Hostel staff is friendly and helpful. Common areas are OK, daily newspaper and tourist guides are available at the living room, also 3-4 computers can be used.
Good average hostel (which could be much better with some more attention on cleanliness and heating) what I would recommend for a few nights stay for young people who like to be located in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
2
14
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hostel was in a good location, the room was extremely spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms weren't very clean and there was no hot water when I wanted to shower.

Though the room was good, I wouldn't recommend this to someone travelling alone and/or for a bit of a social place. Unlike other hostels, this one didn't have much promotion of get togethers, pub crawls etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and two of my friends arrived late at the hostel (which by the way, was dangerous to go to from the bus station). The staff was not really nice and when we arrived in the room there was a poop of something (i guess it was a rat) on my bed. Disgusting.
The room above us made so much noise it was impossible to sleep. I had to go to the reception to ask, and hopefully the receptionist went and said something to the guys and they stopped... but only for this night.
Otherwise, the hostel has a really good location, the breakfast is 1euro, and the shower is hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kefar Sava, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was probably the best hostel we had in Ireland. The private en suite turned out to be an amazing victorian loft, with a kitchen, washing machine, sitting area, TV, clean bathroom (including a great tub) and a good-sized bed. The only thing I didn't like about the apartment was that in order to get to the bed, you had to climb up some stairs, which was a bit scary in the dark.

The hostel's breakfast was a really good value for money - for one euro, we got cereal ,juice, boiled egg, toast with jams, cheese, and tea/coffee.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel is in a brilliant location and on a very nice street. The pool table and table tennis table are a good addition. There are too many rules regarding where you are allowed to eat and drink and if you are looking for a lively hostel, this is not the one for you. Mainly families and quiet couples. Also take you own bedding as duvet covers aren't washed! :/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the most perfect location, a short walk from Connolly Station from which you can get trains, buses or trams to anywhere in dublin at very reasonable prices.
Great atmosphere! The relaxed little common room always has people reading and browsing the internet, or having a cup of tea. Sharing dorms really adds to the experience.
You get the most simple breakfast but for 1euro it really does the job for a wee bite before heading out into the city.
Only problem I had was that the doors swing round and slam fast so when you're trying to sleep in the mornings and others are up and getting ready its impossible to sleep through the constant bangs which start quite early. But provided you want to get up and make the most of your stay it's actually a pretty useful alarm clock!

Room Tip: Don't worry about going into a dorm and sharing with strangers. It really adds to the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I am only talking about the private ensuite apartments here. They are awesome. For 60 for a couple a night I expect a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom. On top of that, we got a huge loft with own kitchen and a washing machine. And there was a sitting room with a fire place included - how cool is that? And a huge bath tub inthe bathroom. Decoration and everything was really pretty. It felt like being suddenly transported into an episode of "Downton Abbey" (and I'm not talking about the servant's rooms here!). Very very cool. When coming to Dublin one more time, we will definitely stay here again. Check out the pics, I uploaded some.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Eccles Court Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eccles Court Hostel

Address: 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 88 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mount Eccles Court Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Eccles Court Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.