We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing private en suite apartments!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Eccles Court Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mount Eccles Court Hostel to your Saves list
Mount Eccles Court Hostel
42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Kefar Sava, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing private en suite apartments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was probably the best hostel we had in Ireland. The private en suite turned out to be an amazing victorian loft, with a kitchen, washing machine, sitting area, TV, clean bathroom (including a great tub) and a good-sized bed. The only thing I didn't like about the apartment was that in order to get to the bed, you had to climb up some stairs, which was a bit scary in the dark.

The hostel's breakfast was a really good value for money - for one euro, we got cereal ,juice, boiled egg, toast with jams, cheese, and tea/coffee.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
2
18
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel is in a brilliant location and on a very nice street. The pool table and table tennis table are a good addition. There are too many rules regarding where you are allowed to eat and drink and if you are looking for a lively hostel, this is not the one for you. Mainly families and quiet couples. Also take you own bedding as duvet covers aren't washed! :/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the most perfect location, a short walk from Connolly Station from which you can get trains, buses or trams to anywhere in dublin at very reasonable prices.
Great atmosphere! The relaxed little common room always has people reading and browsing the internet, or having a cup of tea. Sharing dorms really adds to the experience.
You get the most simple breakfast but for 1euro it really does the job for a wee bite before heading out into the city.
Only problem I had was that the doors swing round and slam fast so when you're trying to sleep in the mornings and others are up and getting ready its impossible to sleep through the constant bangs which start quite early. But provided you want to get up and make the most of your stay it's actually a pretty useful alarm clock!

Room Tip: Don't worry about going into a dorm and sharing with strangers. It really adds to the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I am only talking about the private ensuite apartments here. They are awesome. For 60 for a couple a night I expect a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom. On top of that, we got a huge loft with own kitchen and a washing machine. And there was a sitting room with a fire place included - how cool is that? And a huge bath tub inthe bathroom. Decoration and everything was really pretty. It felt like being suddenly transported into an episode of "Downton Abbey" (and I'm not talking about the servant's rooms here!). Very very cool. When coming to Dublin one more time, we will definitely stay here again. Check out the pics, I uploaded some.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was a decent place, though I rented this flat/ensuite (?) in 2006. But I remember it was OK - clean and tidy, small kitchen, comfortable beds. Pretty spacious room with an mezzanine (entresol) at a rather reasonable price. I enjoyed the stay. And!!!!!!! it's just next to James Joyce's Centre, which made me soooo happy:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

You get exactly what you'd expect for €15 a night! The rooms weren't massive, the facilities weren't the most modern, but we had no problems what so ever. Staff were helpful and friendly, communal facilities e.g kitchen and living areas good and for us very importantly a good free wifi connection throughout!
Under 5mins walk from o'connell street the location is amazing for the price, couldn't have asked for a better budget stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place is really good value for the price. The beds are comfortable by hostel standards and my friends and I got a lot of information on places to go and good nearby places to eat. All the staff we encountered were good humored and nice. Bathrooms are about average for a large hostel but nothing too awful at all. We checked in very late at night and checked out very early and had no problems.

We walked everywhere we needed to go from this hostel. It's not necessarily right in the middle of all the action but it's only a 15 minute walk from most things to see.

There are 2 decent size common room areas. Some computers with free internet, a pool table, television and small book exchange. Your stay includes breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, grapefruit). The only negative is that there are no lockers, the atmosphere is a bit quite and it's a big hard to meet other travelers there (but then you could just go down to Temple Bar and meet people there).

There is no illuminated sign in front of the hostel but there is a decent size white sign on the ground by the door. it should still be easy enough to find. I always felt safe walking around the area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Eccles Court Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Eccles Court Hostel

Address: 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mount Eccles Court Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Eccles Court Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.