We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private ensuite apartments are awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEC Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added MEC Hostel to your Saves list
MEC Hostel
42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Mount Eccles Court Hostel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private ensuite apartments are awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am only talking about the private ensuite apartments here. They are awesome. For 60 for a couple a night I expect a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom. On top of that, we got a huge loft with own kitchen and a washing machine. And there was a sitting room with a fire place included - how cool is that? And a huge bath tub inthe bathroom. Decoration and everything was really pretty. It felt like being suddenly transported into an episode of "Downton Abbey" (and I'm not talking about the servant's rooms here!). Very very cool. When coming to Dublin one more time, we will definitely stay here again. Check out the pics, I uploaded some.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    26
    10
    5
See reviews for
2
21
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was a decent place, though I rented this flat/ensuite (?) in 2006. But I remember it was OK - clean and tidy, small kitchen, comfortable beds. Pretty spacious room with an mezzanine (entresol) at a rather reasonable price. I enjoyed the stay. And!!!!!!! it's just next to James Joyce's Centre, which made me soooo happy:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

You get exactly what you'd expect for €15 a night! The rooms weren't massive, the facilities weren't the most modern, but we had no problems what so ever. Staff were helpful and friendly, communal facilities e.g kitchen and living areas good and for us very importantly a good free wifi connection throughout!
Under 5mins walk from o'connell street the location is amazing for the price, couldn't have asked for a better budget stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place is really good value for the price. The beds are comfortable by hostel standards and my friends and I got a lot of information on places to go and good nearby places to eat. All the staff we encountered were good humored and nice. Bathrooms are about average for a large hostel but nothing too awful at all. We checked in very late at night and checked out very early and had no problems.

We walked everywhere we needed to go from this hostel. It's not necessarily right in the middle of all the action but it's only a 15 minute walk from most things to see.

There are 2 decent size common room areas. Some computers with free internet, a pool table, television and small book exchange. Your stay includes breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, grapefruit). The only negative is that there are no lockers, the atmosphere is a bit quite and it's a big hard to meet other travelers there (but then you could just go down to Temple Bar and meet people there).

There is no illuminated sign in front of the hostel but there is a decent size white sign on the ground by the door. it should still be easy enough to find. I always felt safe walking around the area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great location. The entire building is very old. I had a bad experience of walking into the toilet in the morning to find vomit on the floor, vomit which stayed there, unfortunately, a few hours into the day. I was mostly disappointed that there is no laundry service. I think they overcharge even though the location is right in the center of Dublin. They raise the price on weekends, substantially.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We arrived at the hostel late, and the staff helped us quickly get ourselves sorted and told us about several tour opportunities including a pub crawl and a free walking tour. The rooms were clean and spacious, and the free breakfast was a plus, even if it was just toast and juice. When one of our friends got lost, the staff were supportive and promised to keep an eye out, and the last night, when we had not booked rooms, we were allowed to use the kitchen facilities for dinner and nap in the lounge until our cab arrived around three. All in all, we had a great experience with this hostel and would definitely go again if we went back to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Hostel is generally OK if you don't expect luxury. Dorms are very big, the beds are comfortable. Great location! Sadly, there was no lockers. There is only one bathroom per floor, with two showers - expect queues in the evening! The breakfast is small but tasty. It was pretty noisy in the hostel on the saturday night, but hey - it's not hostel's fault...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Egali Hostel
#12 of 92 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Abbey Court
#30 of 92 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Abrahams Hostel
#40 of 92 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Four Courts Hostel
#18 of 92 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
South City Centre
Kinlay House
Kinlay House
#27 of 92 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Avalon House
#32 of 92 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEC Hostel

Address: 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Mount Eccles Court Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 92 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mec Hostel we provide a range quality accommodation for our guests in Dublin's city centre, from private suites with private bathroom and kitchen to shared dorm room accommodation at very attractive prices. Housed in beautiful georgian buildings on one of Dublins finest historical streets. With our very friendly and helpful staff, spacious lounges and rooms with keycard access and free lockers, garden terrace, Mec Hostel is the Ideal base for your visit in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your MEC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEC Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.