We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, v.comfortable, superb breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 31

Save Saved
You added Number 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 31
31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 177 hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, v.comfortable, superb breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Once past the unpromising exterior of the entrance, everything was just marvellous. More a B&B than a hotel, but what a B&B. Lovely adaptation of a Georgian house. Luxurious rooms, gorgeous veranda with long communal dining table with the most fabulous breakfast. You certainly won't need any lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    111
    28
    21
    17
See reviews for
81
226
47
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This charming inn located about a 5 minute walk from St. Stephen's Green is fabulous!!! The owners take pride in this property and it shows. We flew in from the states and sent a note stating that our flight would be early (as in 5am) and would it be possible to check in early. Low and behold, our room was ready for our weary bodies and the entire staff could not have been more accommodating! Additionally, a traditional Irish Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was EXCELLENT. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a beautiful setting, clean and comfortable room, and a wonderful breakfast. Thanks to the owners and staff at Number 31.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and cookies. Our room was large,very beautiful and had excellent beds and bedding. My only complaint about the room was the lack of light. There was a comfy chair to sit in, but absolutely no light to read by. Very poor light in the bathroom as well. Good location. Nice courtyard and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fond memories, great rooms, friendly service, clean, cute garden, and great breakfast meaning overall great value and satisfaction. A real haven amongst the city! And all with a smile and that personal touch. A wonderful first or last stop in Ireland to gather yourself and explore the CBD. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is tucked away and easy to pass by, but it was a great location for exploring Dublin for the first time. We were welcomed immediately from our overnight flight with a great breakfast and a place to store our bags. Maps of the city were provided and places to see and eat were circled. We were in Ireland with our two grown daughters and our niece and we all had rooms in the Georgian townhouse through the garden. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, and the townhouse had its own door to the side street. The hospitality was outstanding and the breakfast was incredible. Number 31 takes about 5 minutes to get to st Stephens green which was our key starting point for exploring. Great location and gets you out of the center for a quieter nights sleep.
When I return to Dublin this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is run by the best people! They are extremely accommodating, service minded, great people. They made our stay so relaxing. The hotel itself is quite cute...love the place. Comfortable beds, too!! Breakfast is very good selection.
I would definitely stay here again. Nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this is a lovely hotel with a very charming host and staff. In addition, they serve a delicious breakfast. And now for what could use improvement... First, in order to get Wi-fi you need a voucher that requires a password and you have to register on a website and it all is a lot more complicated than it should be. Every other place provides one simple code. Second, we could not control the heat in our room and we first baked like potatoes then fried like chips until we decided to open the window to a noisy Dublin street that lead to sinus issues the next morning from being exposed to the elements. We also got little sleep due to the discomfort. I don't recommend this hotel if you have problems climbing stairs or if you want to be in close proximity to all the action of Dublin. It is definitely a good mile walk in the coldest of Ireland weather to get to pub central if you stay here. On the other hand, if you want away from the tourists, there is a nice pub full of locals just a few blocks away. They will direct you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Number 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.