We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice for Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 31

Save Saved
You added Number 31 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 31
31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“First choice for Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The rooms at 31 are beautiful and the breakfasts were absolutely the best we had on our entire trip. You also can't beat it's location - it's a very easy walk to everything you'd want to see while still being nestled in a quiet neighborhood. One thing to note - we stayed on the 4th floor and there was no elevator, which meant a lot of stairs. If that's an issue for you, I'd recommend asking for something closer to ground floor. Overall outstanding, though. Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor if you can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    111
    28
    21
    17
See reviews for
81
226
47
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here around the same time last year and had an excellent stay so upon returning to Dublin did not think to look elsewhere and booked this property. We were not disappointed, again we enjoyed our stay very much. Spacious room, comfortable beds and excellent breakfast, service and facilities but above all the charming hosts are what will make us come back here every time we visit Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

A flying visit to Dublin offered the opportunity to stay at this boutique guest house where we received a warm welcome. The room was warm, comfortable and reasonably spacious and great care has clearly gone into the decor and fittings throughout. The location is convenient, walkable of most areas you would be likely to visit on a short trip and importantly close to an Aircoach stop making easy access to and from the airport.
They boast about their award winning breakfasts ..... and every word is true!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived at the little back door late at night and were very well looked after from the start with someone parking our car for us - just what we needed arriving late and tired in a strange city. We were shown to our room in the Georgian house which was well appointed with a nice bathroom. We were on the top floor and the rooms lower down looked a lot grander. Quite a lot of stairs but someone carried our bag for us which was welcome. I would have liked tea making facilities in the room, though it is available in the lounge if you want it. Breakfast in the conservatory was very nice indeed. Host, Nowell, was charming as were all the staff. When we left, the car was parked right outside the door. All in all you couldn't fault it - I did think it was a little pricey but that seems to be Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Cocktails, Food, Staff, Atmosphere, Decor. Everything about this place screams 5 star! I go nearly every thursday after work. Friends, Family, spouses, partners, anyone and everyone will love this place!

Room Tip: Tapas first, Cocktails after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

this is a lovely place with very friendly and discreet staff who give their best. our room was very comfortable & clean, the hotel is very well located. the breakfast, yes, was great. a very enjoyable stay, and a yes if you are visiting dublin

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a delightful stay at Number 31. Our room was comfortable with very nice beds and a super shower. The location was great and the breakfast outstanding. What was especially nice was the staff. They were helpful and gracious. Every request and need taken care of. The location made us feel like locals with plenty of public transportation and easy access to everything we wanted to see. The peace and quiet of this boutique hotel was ideal for us.

Room Tip: If you are unsteady on your feet you might look elsewhere. These charming buildings and grounds have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dublin
#18 Business Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Number 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 31, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.