We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Celtic Lodge Guesthouse to your Saves list
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 - 82 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
teesside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This was in great location 5 mins from o'connell street 10 mins walk from temple bar. We arrived at 9 am and were told our room was available if we wanted to check in , which we did , at no extra charge. Staff lovely apart from miserable blonde haired girl in dining room, never cracked a smile all the time we were there . Breakfast was good but not great, just to say warm and had to go out and buy apple juice as only orange available, which we do not like. Only downside was trying to open door as you had to turn key as you pushed door with your shoulder, not good as people coming in late in the next rooms, woke everybody up trying to open their doors. Paddy wagon was free airport transfers which saves you 12 euro each return and drops you off, and picks you up outside door. Wanted to book for paddys weekend but prices more than doubled which is a shame. Overall nice stay .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
From Anne Heaslip, Manager at The Celtic Lodge: Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    140
    77
    28
    17
See reviews for
28
143
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable stay! Room layout - ok! Service 5*! breakfast ok! Location - just perfect! A good value for money!
Celtic lodge guesthouse is just the perfect place for a lovely quiet stay in the city centre without having to travel too much from and to the main attractions!
If I ever go to Dublin again, I will definitely stay there again!!! Is worth it!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

the hotel was well placed for the city centre, the room was tiny but clean,we stayed 4 nights and in that time they did not make the bed or clean the room at all, they did change the towels but not the cups we used for the tea-making. The breakfast was well cooked and good portions, on the day of checkout we had to vacate the room by 11am and at 11 on the dot they turned the water off! so you couldn't even flush the toilet. Service was disappointing but we would stay there again because of convenience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your review; I've investigated what you said and I just wanted to respond. Firstly we are pleased you liked the location and the standard of cleanliness and we would be delighted to welcome you back. We do service the rooms every day and bedding is changed on check out or every three days; however, if rooms are not vacant on a stay over before 2 pm; they cannot be serviced. As regards the day you checked out; we have no control over the supply of water to each room; you give us powers we simply don't have! You did not tell us when you stayed; but the fact you had no water after 11am tells us it was in September as the local authority were digging up the roads and they do control the water supply; it wasn't only your room that had no water; the whole building and area had no water that lunch time. So we really are blameless there. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Celtic is perfect to visit Dublin staying in the center of town. Talbot street is a nice shopping road full of life. The rooms of Celtic are small but clean. Breakfast is ok. The reception is always open and the two ladies are so lovely. All the stuff is friendly. Good the free shuttle to and from the airport. You have to reserve it. Very nice the pub and the restaurant. Simply reccomended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location is great but the accommodation is truly awful. We paid 90 euros for friday and saturday and 47 euros for sunday night (227 euros total). The rooms are small and basic, the cleaner didn't even clean the very small floor of the shower room. For the heating to work you have to phone reception for it to be switched on. The breakfast (full irish) looked and tasted as if it had been kept warm for hours. We had a room at the front and the street noise was terrible early in the morning. Reception staff are very friendly but this is a very basic B and B not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are sorry if your stay with us did not live up to your expectations; we can only say that the points you made are not the usual experience of our guests. The Celtic Lodge usually scores very highly on our cleanliness and our breakfast is also much loved; however, we cannot appeal to all tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terni, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in Dublin with my friend and this hotel was a great choice. Talbot Street is very very central and the location is great either for shopping and for nightlife. In 5 mins you reach Temple Bar and O'Connell Street is 2 min walking distance. The room was very small but very clean and tidy, even if the view outside was horrible (a messy yard with dismissed stuff). They change towels daily. The full Irish breakfast is big and it's delicious. The staff is friendly. Wi-fi connection in the dining room.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse is a 2 Star Bord Failte approved Guesthouse, located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and Bus Aras, the main bus station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. We offer all our guests FREE AIRPORT TRANSFERS from Dublin Airport to our Door and returning from our door to Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theatres, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own award winning restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a ‘pint’ in our award winning traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live traditional Irish music sessions makes both a ‘must’ after a day out. Free Airport bus to and from the airport, saving you up to €50. City Centre – 5 mins walk from train and bus stations5 min tram ride to O2 Arena from the Bus Station – the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub – The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.