We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Castle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 & 3 Night Special Offer
Ranked #87 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
964 helpful votes 964 helpful votes
“Great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, the staff were friendly and really helpful. They let us check in 5 hours early and the breakfast was nice.
The room and bathrooom were spotlessly clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
Noise did travel from one room to another, but in such an old building and for a reasonable price you have to expect some flaws.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are hoping to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    317
    189
    77
    33
See reviews for
125
261
78
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend really enjoyed it.Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable the staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough.Live music was great and craic with other guests great would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to give us this excellent feedback. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Castle Hotel so much. We hope that your are going to stay with us in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

A simple hotel with friendly staff who offered us some warm hospitality.

Yes, the rooms and decor are a bit dated, but the hotel was clean, tidy and the staff very friendly.

Whilst we were there was live music in the bar each night, the standard of which was remarkably good.

Situated just off the end of Grafton Street, the location is great for those looking for a city centre base.

Not the most comfortable of beds, never-the-less a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Service at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this nice comment about our hotel. I am sure you have mixed up Grafton Street with O’Connell Street and yes we are very close to the city center. According to your comment about the ‘bit dated’ rooms, we are at the moment in the middle of a decoration process in the whole hotel, so we hope to have this ‘problem’ sorted in the very near future and you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good location within easy walking distance of the main Dublin areas. Arrived early and the staff checked us in straight away. The room was pleasant as well as clean and tidy. Breakfast was reasonable with a good selection, waiting staff very attentive and helpful. Both myself and my wife are vegans, thus the cooked breafast consisted of a full fry up minus the meat. The result being a plate of beans and some mushrooms. Situation normal there for a hotel then!
The second night we hardly got any sleep due to your usual drunken idiots using the rear courtyard to smoke at 3am. Maybe you could do so a little more quietly and with consideration for other guests? Perhaps the hotel could look into this?
The real disapointment I think came when we went to check out. Handed our key over and received a "Thank you" that was it. Call me fussy but I like something along the lines of "Hi, Hope you enjoyed your stay with us, was everything ok?"
A mediocre hotel that could be better I think.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We are trying our very best to keep the noise as low as possible from the smoking area during the night, unfortunately it can be very hard sometimes as people do not realize how loud they talk at 3am in the morning. For your future stay please request a room facing the lane way as this would be one of the quietists’ areas in the hotel, or a room on the 4th floor. I do apologize for the fact that no one asked you if you have enjoyed your stay on check out, unfortunately this can happen when we are having many check outs, but I will keep an eye on it in future. However we hope you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a great couple of days in Dublin. Chose this hotel because it was very reasonably priced yet in a great location. We had a lovely greeting on arrival and even though it was well before check in our room was ready. This is not a modern 5 star hotel with all mod cons - for us it was far more interesting. It has a winding staircase with creaky floorboards and some great original features and ornaments.

Our room was adequately sized as we were hardly in it and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a relaxed affair with no-one rushing you out when you had finished.

The staff were absolutely lovely from arrival to departure. We would stay here again without a doubt.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

I am very pleased to read this wonderful review about our hotel, thank you very much for taking your time to write it. If you are interested about some historical facts about our hotel please have a look at our homepage. We hope to accommodate you again after you had such a lovely stay at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Having just returned from an overnight stay (Friday 20th Dec 2013) I am to say the least most disappointed with the Castle Hotel, we were booked by my son who is aware of my wife and I both liking traditional Irish music, only to find out (by asking) that Friday night would have no live music, despite what was said on the website, also the TV remote control not working I was told due to the wind, I am an ex TV engineer and thought that explanation rather strange, the bar appeared to be running down their stocks, no brandy, and very little Irish whiskey Friday evening. When we arrived our room was cold, radiators were turned off (in December?) when turned on the valve dribbled water, the room smelt damp, so needed to open the window with no heating (remember this is in December)

The website appears not to have a review facility otherwise these comments would be posted.

This complaint was e-mailed to the Hotel, was read by them but no reply has been received.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piltown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Jan 2914 and found it great.
The staff were so friendly and it was within walking distance of everything.
Breakfast was nice.
Bedrooms were basic but very clean.
The bar stayed open late for guests and as it is located downstairs its perfect for a late night drink while not disturbing other guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel in Dublin's city centre, just 2 minutes walk from O'Connell St and minutes away from all major tourist attractions, shopping districts, nightlife and theatres. Recently renovated the hotel has retained most of it's original Georgian characteristics. Striking antique mirrors, splendid period staircases, crystal chandeliers whilst still providing all modern day comforts. The hotel car park (charges apply) make The Castle Hotel the ideal location from which to explore Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.